We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
971
369
102
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
369
102
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view john ruskin afternoon tea main restaurant an aquarium fine dining traditional hotel per head lake district sandwiches nothing is too much trouble stunning location special occasion lovely hotel top class hotel facilities steam train
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, this was a gift, and what an amazing gift it was.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though nothing was too much trouble.
A porter assisted us with our luggage on arrival and promptly brought everything to our room.
We were located on the ground floor and our room over looked the lake which was literally just steps away.
Our room was very traditional. If you are looking for somewhere contemporary to stay this is probably not the place for you. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There were two lovely armchairs next to the patio doors where you could sit and admire the view. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, biscuits and water also.
The bathroom was quite small but very clean with lovely Aveda products.
We were room 103 which meant we were just down the corridor from the spa and pool. We were able to put the gowns on provided in the rooms and walk there with them on. The pool was a good size with a small jacuzzi. I noticed Molten Brown products in the changing rooms. I cannot comment on the spa as I was unable to get in as fully booked!! My only criticism of the spa was that i noticed the shelves where all the products were kept were thick with dust. This though was by no means a reflection on the hotel.
The dining experience at this hotel was exceptional and extremely professional. The dining room is very traditional with lovely furnishings. Staff are amazing, nothing too much trouble.
The food we had on both nights was excellent. Lovely menu, great choice.
Breakfast was also amazing with the best choice of breakfast I've ever seen. The orange juice is gorgeous.
We spent a lazy afternoon in the conservatory, again overlooking the lake, where we had coffee and cake, read and played games. Lovely ambience.
This hotel is in a great location, not too far from Windemere and Bowness.
Although there were quite a few children staying at the hotel, personally, as a parent myself it is not somewhere i would feel comfortable taking my child to.
This hotel would be lovely to stay at any time of the year, however, I can only imagine that staying here in the summer is absolutely stunning.
We did not want to leave this place and will most definitely go back at some point. I would highly recommend this hotel. If it is lovely food, peace & tranquility and being waited on hand and foot you're after then this is the place for you!!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have the most beautiful view, gorgeous sight to wake up to!!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank districtnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed a Friday night in January in a spacious, clean and well furnished room on the ground floor overlooking the lake. Welcoming and friendly staff attended to our every need. We were celebrating a birthday and had brought our own cake; staff were happy to present the cake with lit candles and sparkler in a timely manner. Spa facilities were clean and relaxing. The temperature in the restaurant for our evening dinner was really too warm but they reduced the temperature once we made them aware of how hot and uncomfortable it was. Service for afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast was rather slow and could have been better given the price. However we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing lake.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Really lovely hotel right on the edge of lake Windermere. Quality of accommodation was high. Breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant were highlights. Breakfast has plenty of choice of both hot and cold food. Evening meal was top class for both quality and choice. The leisure spa has a decent size of swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. You can spend ages here, lounging at the pool side as well as in the water. Changing rooms are clean and warm, and have Molton Brown toiletries for that added bit of luxury. Plenty of warm fires in the lounge and bar areas, great on winter evenings.

Room Tip: Mountain view room was spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Fantastic location and beautiful hotel bags delivered to your room a tour given of the hotel and its amenities.
Staff excellent helpful and friendly.
Small negatives-Upon asking for an upgraded room we were told would be £60 which we accepted but were charged £120 as the surcharge was per night and we had stayed 2 nights and this was not made clear.Upon going for our meal at the hotel there was water on the table and we were charged £3.50 for this in our final invoice.
I would suggest that the hotel needs to be as careful with their help and attention to detail while leaving the hotel as arriving as we struggled with suitcases and bags past staff with no offer of help to the door or car where as on arrival there were about 5 helpful staff to greet us and help carry luggage.
Although this stay was as expensive as flying to a European country for a city break weekend we still enjoyed ourselves very much but is definitely a "special occasion" break for say a birthday like we did or wedding anniversary ect.

Stayed: January 2016
3  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We went for the three course afternoon tea at Lakeside yesterday it was absolutely amazing ! The flavours of the tea are first presented to you followed by the soup then sandwiches and lastly the cakes! What a wonderful idea. You could not fault the service. I've been to competing lakeside hotels and this is definitely the best! Will definitely return :)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank kayleigh494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews