We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunningly beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tonka T
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Such a stunningly beautiful place. So lucky to have the chance to sleep in a bit of history. Thank you for opening up a part of the house for visitors to stay in such a perfect part of England. Can't wait to come back with all of the family next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Eller How House. We have just reserved the dates for your stay again in 2018 and we look forward to catching up with you then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax7219...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful idealic holiday location”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of four and one cockapoo had a wonderful holiday at Eller How House. Tucked away from the hustle and bustle, we enjoyed long walks, a quiet read, chats over a 1000 piece puzzle, horse rides at both Witherslack's and Cumbrian Heavy Horses, and leisurely meals followed by cards or a family game. It was the perfect antidote to our usual busy lives... The house is amazing, clean and well equipped. Helen and John are wonderful hosts and we received a lovely reception of cake and tea on arrival that set the pace for a perfect family holiday. Any concerns or queries were quickly answered and we could not fault our experience. Don't hesitate to book your stay - you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your family holiday at Eller How House. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that you were able to explore and take advantage of some of the activities on offer in the Lake District. We hope that you will be able to come again in the future. John and a Helen Churchill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday venue”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a week whilst attending a friend's wedding. The owners were very accommodating and friendly and the house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. It provided us with everything we needed for our stay with two other families, all with small children and a dog. It's a great location for visiting all the best sights around the Lake and really gave us everything we needed for our holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for posting a review so long after your stay....you must have some very good memories to prompt you to think of Eller How. Do come back and stay again...you are always welcome. John and Helen Churchill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H
1 review
“Fantastic!! ”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked Eller How House as a surprise for my parents as a Christmas present and it was the best surprise ever. Stunning house in a magical private setting with welcoming hosts. Decorated beautifully and fantastically equipped. Lots of lovely local villages around and easy to reach deeper into the National Park. A must stay house, we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, we are glad that you all enjoyed your holiday. We would love to see you again. Do come for an Autumn stay next time as the trees and walks are stunning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollygasc...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What an Amazing place”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a beautiful house, tucked away at the south of the Lake District. The owners live next door but you would never know they were there. They were very accommodating and helpful. The house it self was stunning with vast grounds to explore.
We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing