We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday venue”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claudia C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday venue”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a week whilst attending a friend's wedding. The owners were very accommodating and friendly and the house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. It provided us with everything we needed for our stay with two other families, all with small children and a dog. It's a great location for visiting all the best sights around the Lake and really gave us everything we needed for our holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for posting a review so long after your stay....you must have some very good memories to prompt you to think of Eller How. Do come back and stay again...you are always welcome. John and Helen Churchill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H
1 review
“Fantastic!! ”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked Eller How House as a surprise for my parents as a Christmas present and it was the best surprise ever. Stunning house in a magical private setting with welcoming hosts. Decorated beautifully and fantastically equipped. Lots of lovely local villages around and easy to reach deeper into the National Park. A must stay house, we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, we are glad that you all enjoyed your holiday. We would love to see you again. Do come for an Autumn stay next time as the trees and walks are stunning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollygasc...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What an Amazing place”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a beautiful house, tucked away at the south of the Lake District. The owners live next door but you would never know they were there. They were very accommodating and helpful. The house it self was stunning with vast grounds to explore.
We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLBCougar
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first time in England. We loved staying at the Eller How House while we visited the Lake District. The owners were very hospitable and friendly. The home was very beautiful and we loved going on little hikes around the property. The location is very convenient. We stayed 4 days and wished we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyBee13
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Eller How from 19-23 Sept. The house was gorgeous, very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped for a large group. There were 5 adults, 1 toddler and 2 dogs in our party. The rooms were large and all ensuite which is hard to find! We stayed in the master bedroom upstairs which had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the garden.
Helen, the owner, was available to answer any queries, even helping me out with some gardening queries for my own garden. She is a delightful, attentive host, without intruding on our family time.
Only two tiny things which would've been helpful to know in advance - first was no mobile phone reception at all for O2 for quite some distance around the property, not something which can be rectified but better to know in advance. The second thing was that there is no shower in the master ensuite so we had to use the 2 shower rooms downstairs. If a shower head was available, just the rubber one that attaches to the taps for hair washing etc, that would've been very useful.
We hope to return soon and will definitely recommend Eller How to friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire in the livingroom
Liked least: Lack of showerhead in master ensuite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review and we are glad that you all enjoyed your stay.
We do usually check that you have a mobile signal when when first meet you and I am sorry that we were not aware of the lack of O2 signal as it used to be available. There is a jug for hair washing....a bit old fashioned I realise, but we had to remove the shower attachments after a disastrous 'accident' which resulted in an insurance claim! There are two powerful showers downstairs and as we usually have families or groups of friends staying this does suffice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing