We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply: Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Toki04
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply: Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our stay at Eller How House was absolutely delightful! The house and grounds are so gorgeous that they brightened even the dreary weather of mid-January. We were greeted by a delicious homemade cake on arrival and a visit from the owners, who were so kind and helpful. They seem to have anticipated every question you could possibly have about the house and the surrounding area, and they've included the answers in a VERY helpful info book left in the house for your perusal. The house is a short distance from some amazing walks and Lake District views, including Lake Windermere. We enjoyed exploring nearby towns, pubs and the breathtaking landscape, and we especially loved coming back to Eller How House for an open fire at the end of the day. Honestly one of the best places we've ever stayed. If we had to sum up our visit in three words, they would be "perfect, perfect, perfect"! Will definitely be going back at some point in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
we really appreciate you finding time to write a review and are so glad that you enjoyed your Lake District stay. We do hope that you will have time to come up again before your studies finish and you have to return to the USA.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and grounds to explore
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of Eller How House. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do even though it was the middle of winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were very quick, concise and approachable with all communication.
Liked least: There was no part of the whole process which i felt was a hinderance to me. Very positive experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thank-you for this fulsome and very flattering review. We do hope to see you again in 2014.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debilil
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This is undoubtedly one of the most fabulous hideaway places to stay in the Lakes. Total luxury with great attention to detail and even a delicious home made cake to welcome us on arrival. Very comfortable beds with lovely warm bedding. Perhaps the amazing lounge with gorgeous views and log burning fireplace sealed the deal. All the mod cons you could dream of including a good wifi connection. We were very well looked after by the owners next door who made every effort to ensure we had a marvellous time without being intrusive. Thank you! All 6 of us that stayed felt thoroughly pampered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank-you for taking time to write and post a review. We are glad that you all had a good time and that despite the stormy weather you could get out walking every day. I have already recommended your walk to High Sawrey to future guests! Glad the power cut didn't diminish your enjoyment.
Hope to see you all again.John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Falaise, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We thoroughly recommend Eller Howe House !”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A long weekend at Eller Howe with our family was a true delight. The house is stunning, impeccably clean and cosily furnished. The beds are comfy and the bed linen soft and luxurious. The large kitchen offered all the necessary equipment and space for us to cook an early Christmas dinner for seven without any trouble.
The weather as you'd expect at the end of November was chilly but the house is centrally heated and warm whilst the open wood fire in the drawing room was a great focal point.
We thoroughly recommend Eller Howe House !
Nick & Lesley, Basse Normandie, France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care that had been taken by John & Helen to make the place so welcoming
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank-you for making time to write a review about your stay at Eller How. We are glad that you all enjoyed your family time together, it is a great place for get togethers. We would love to come out to stay in your gite in Normandy and hope to see you again in 2014.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing