We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS!”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debilil
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This is undoubtedly one of the most fabulous hideaway places to stay in the Lakes. Total luxury with great attention to detail and even a delicious home made cake to welcome us on arrival. Very comfortable beds with lovely warm bedding. Perhaps the amazing lounge with gorgeous views and log burning fireplace sealed the deal. All the mod cons you could dream of including a good wifi connection. We were very well looked after by the owners next door who made every effort to ensure we had a marvellous time without being intrusive. Thank you! All 6 of us that stayed felt thoroughly pampered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank-you for taking time to write and post a review. We are glad that you all had a good time and that despite the stormy weather you could get out walking every day. I have already recommended your walk to High Sawrey to future guests! Glad the power cut didn't diminish your enjoyment.
Hope to see you all again.John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Falaise, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We thoroughly recommend Eller Howe House !”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A long weekend at Eller Howe with our family was a true delight. The house is stunning, impeccably clean and cosily furnished. The beds are comfy and the bed linen soft and luxurious. The large kitchen offered all the necessary equipment and space for us to cook an early Christmas dinner for seven without any trouble.
The weather as you'd expect at the end of November was chilly but the house is centrally heated and warm whilst the open wood fire in the drawing room was a great focal point.
We thoroughly recommend Eller Howe House !
Nick & Lesley, Basse Normandie, France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care that had been taken by John & Helen to make the place so welcoming
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank-you for making time to write a review about your stay at Eller How. We are glad that you all enjoyed your family time together, it is a great place for get togethers. We would love to come out to stay in your gite in Normandy and hope to see you again in 2014.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theGabrie...
New Forest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quite simply the most magical place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Eller How as a treat for my 50th birthday - we wanted somewhere special to escape to and this beautiful house more than fitted the bill. It was beautifully decorated, cosy - thanks to the big log fire, had everything you could possibly need and more. The owners John and Helen were wonderful and made sure we had everything that we needed and added the personal touches like fresh flowers and homemade cake on arrival. It was quite simply the most magical place we have ever stayed, tucked away in its own little world a little slice of a bygone era. We are already planning a return visit. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank-you for writing a review of your stay at Eller How. We are so glad that we could make your birthday one to remember. Helen and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generous living accommodation with all the facilities we could have wished for.
Liked least: Having to leave so soon.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank-you for writing a review of Eller How House. We do hope that you will come again and see the woods and grounds at a different time of year.
We are glad that your teenagers enjoyed themselves too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
415fc
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed here with my family and mother and father in law who were visiting from the US. We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely location with super grounds where the kids enjoyed exploring. The accomodation is first class and we had the cosy fire going in the evenings. Everything you would need is provided for. Highly recommended, there is nothing I can fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
It seems a long time since February but you must have been reminiscing about your holiday in the Lakes. Thank-you for taking time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing