We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway near lake Windermere”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect getaway near lake Windermere”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

A few months ago we were looking for a cosy cottage near lake Windermere. After seeing pictures of Eller How House we could not get lost of the 'wow' feeling. The house is meant for six, but we finally decided to go just with the two of us. We had a fantastic time in Eller How House. We really enjoyed the walks in the forest just outside of Eller How. Thanks very much for all great care and hopefully we'll be able to go again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room with the fire place and de woods/nature arround the house
Liked least: The cold weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2013
Thank-you for your response, we are glad that you had a great stay despite the weather! It was the coldest week of the winter and at one point there was a blizzard but you still found plenty to do. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you and your families back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how clean and comfortable the house is
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Mar 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you all had a good holiday here and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beerski
Co Durham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Classic House”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Our group of six adults and one dog booked to stay here for a long weekend having been blown away by the pictures of the house on the holiday lettings website and realising it was an area of cumbria none of us had seen much of. What a find this property turned out to be in both the quality of the accomodation and the grounds it sits in. Despite cool weather the house was lovely and warm and we too enjoyed the log fire in the sitting room as previous holiday makers have mentioned. We found plenty to occupy us in the area and would love to come back at a different time of year to cycle as there seemed to be some good quiet country roads in the vicinity. We'd also love to see the grounds in the summer and explore them further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Grounds
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2013
Thank-you. We hope to see you again at Eller How.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Thank-you for the review and for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to catching up with you soon.
The woodland colours were spectacular this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, character and individuality
Liked least: Poor internet, possibly as wireless router is located next door through thick walls
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Thank-you for the review.
We did not respond sooner as we have been investigating the flaws in our internet service. The problems have been caused by a local exchange closing and all capacity being moved to an exchange further away, leaving us at the end of the line. This should be remedied shortly as we are getting microwave provision. These problems are due to our location not the position of the routers and their boosters and are because we are in a rural area. We will keep you informed of microwave progress.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing