We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jazzberry cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jazzberry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and airy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Bright and airy kitchen
The spacious, luxurious lounge
The cosy wood burner and lakeland fireplace
The contemporary kitchen
Twin bedded room
Fresh and funky twin bedded room
Drench and invigorate in separate power shower
Boutique styling throughout
Messing about in the local lakes - perfect
Delightful end terrace cottage with easy access of A590
Set yourself free in the Lakeland Fells
We are surrounded by lush, fertile valleys - ripe for exploration
Windermere Lake from Gummers Howe - 3min drive
Our favourite circular walk - start from the cottage
Local Trout Farm 1mile from Jazzberry
Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway - walking distance from Jazzberry
Cruise Lake Windermere from Lakeside ( or link with the Steam Trains)
Swan at Newby Bridge, perfect location for a drink (foods great too) I mile from Jazzberry
Nearby Cartmel - medieval village - 4 miles
Nearby Fell Foot - swim, sail, play, eat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deefolks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jazzberry cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had an absolutely fab stay at the cottage from the moment we stepped in everything felt homely and welcoming,heating was already on which was nice to enter as it was freezing outside.we also received a welcome pack such a nice touch everything was clean thoughout couldn't fault it at all we will definitely be visiting again. Thankyou to Emma who after leaving our coats in the wardrobe has sorted out getting them posted back to us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey m
1 review
“A cosy cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay in jazzberry cottage, we arrived to find a welcome pack of dish washing aids, milk and butter in the fridge and a lovely bunch of flowers. The living/dining room was cosy and spacious and the kitchen had all the conveniences of home. The beds were comfortable, but curtains would have made the room a bit darker for those early morning sunrises. Also the front bedroom does get quite noisy as it is on a main busy road, ( we knew this before we went and it didn't put us off) but families with younger children may find it a problem.
We are left a comprehensive book of instructions and 'things to do' which was very handy, but by far our favourite thing was the bathroom, a beautiful claw foot bath and enormous shower ( and shaving point!). Thank you for sharing your lovely cottage it is obvious you take great pride in making it look nice, we would definitely recommend it to others and be back if we are in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGIUK
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a long weekend in Backbarrow at Jazzberry Cottage and whilst the weather was awful, we had a great stay. The cottage is really lovely and had everything we needed.
Great information on the local area, but I must admit we really didn't venture very far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: Busy main road, but nothing can be done about that
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
griffster...
griffster
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“2nd great stay ! ”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second stay at Jazzberry cottage - the first in 2014 when we got engaged and a return visit in May 2016 after getting married for a mini moon!
We love this cottage - the facilities, layout and comfort are all wonderful and it really does feel like a home from home.
The bed and sofas are super comfy, the kitchen hi tech, bathroom divine and the downstairs area relaxing. Plus a dvd player and log burner - perfect !
Yes it is on a busy road but you can walk within the area along the river and to a pub or quickly drive to many beauty spots or starting points for a walk or day out. The price is very competitive for a cottage of this standard.
My only comment would be I would love each stay to be stocked with kindling, a log bundle and matches and enough toilet roll for your stay so you don't have to get this from the local shop
But otherwise perfect and a very happy place for us- we will be sure to be back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo R
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The 'welcome pack' was, well, most welcome and meant we didn't need to go shopping til the next day. The cottage is beautifully presented on three levels so, if you've mobility issues, this isn't the place for you. 2 big bedrooms on the top floor, a lovely kitchen and superb bathroom on the ground floor and a comfortably furnished living room on the lower ground floor. Off-road parking for a couple of cars at the back of the cottage - and easy access (via the A590) to the western lakes. My wife, adult daughter and I loved it. WiFi was a real bonus, too. The beds weren't just to our taste - the mattresses were a bit softer than we're used to but, frankly, with walking, sightseeing and everything else we were so tired when we got back we could have slept on the floor! Heartily recommend this cottage to all and sundry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WiFi and welcome pack
Liked least: Beds not too comfy (for us)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing