We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd great stay !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jazzberry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and airy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Bright and airy kitchen
The spacious, luxurious lounge
The cosy wood burner and lakeland fireplace
The contemporary kitchen
Twin bedded room
Fresh and funky twin bedded room
Drench and invigorate in separate power shower
Boutique styling throughout
Messing about in the local lakes - perfect
Delightful end terrace cottage with easy access of A590
Set yourself free in the Lakeland Fells
We are surrounded by lush, fertile valleys - ripe for exploration
Windermere Lake from Gummers Howe - 3min drive
Our favourite circular walk - start from the cottage
Local Trout Farm 1mile from Jazzberry
Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway - walking distance from Jazzberry
Cruise Lake Windermere from Lakeside ( or link with the Steam Trains)
Swan at Newby Bridge, perfect location for a drink (foods great too) I mile from Jazzberry
Nearby Cartmel - medieval village - 4 miles
Nearby Fell Foot - swim, sail, play, eat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
griffster...
griffster
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“2nd great stay ! ”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second stay at Jazzberry cottage - the first in 2014 when we got engaged and a return visit in May 2016 after getting married for a mini moon!
We love this cottage - the facilities, layout and comfort are all wonderful and it really does feel like a home from home.
The bed and sofas are super comfy, the kitchen hi tech, bathroom divine and the downstairs area relaxing. Plus a dvd player and log burner - perfect !
Yes it is on a busy road but you can walk within the area along the river and to a pub or quickly drive to many beauty spots or starting points for a walk or day out. The price is very competitive for a cottage of this standard.
My only comment would be I would love each stay to be stocked with kindling, a log bundle and matches and enough toilet roll for your stay so you don't have to get this from the local shop
But otherwise perfect and a very happy place for us- we will be sure to be back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo R
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The 'welcome pack' was, well, most welcome and meant we didn't need to go shopping til the next day. The cottage is beautifully presented on three levels so, if you've mobility issues, this isn't the place for you. 2 big bedrooms on the top floor, a lovely kitchen and superb bathroom on the ground floor and a comfortably furnished living room on the lower ground floor. Off-road parking for a couple of cars at the back of the cottage - and easy access (via the A590) to the western lakes. My wife, adult daughter and I loved it. WiFi was a real bonus, too. The beds weren't just to our taste - the mattresses were a bit softer than we're used to but, frankly, with walking, sightseeing and everything else we were so tired when we got back we could have slept on the floor! Heartily recommend this cottage to all and sundry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WiFi and welcome pack
Liked least: Beds not too comfy (for us)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean B
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we walked into the cottage we were smitten. As promised all the essentials were already there from tea and coffee and milk to washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. Add to that two vases of fresh flowers and it was a great start. The décor throughout is really tasteful and everything you are likely to need is there including music CD's and also a decent collection of DVDs. The bathroom is amazing and the beds clean and comfortable. The bed in the master bedroom is huge. I'm 6'1" and lie on my front and could not touch the end of the bed. If there is a downside it is that the cottage is on a busy road. You can't really hear it with the windows closed and in the front room so it doesn't disturb family time. If you are a light sleeper then the road noise might be an issue. It didn't bother us at all. The cottage is over 3 floors with two bedrooms on the top floor, bathroom and kitchen on the middle floor and living room/dinner on the ground floor. The front room is a little dark as it is below the road level but the lighting is really well done. The cottage is well located for access to the lakes but there isn't much nearby. We went to ASDA in Barrow-in-Furness for our shopping as we found Booths in Ulverston a little pricey. Booking with Emma was simple and courteous and she was very easy to deal with. In all I would recommend this Cottage to anyone and I would go back in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: road noise
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chariot
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Jazzberry. From the original booking to the actual stay we have had great personal, prompt and professional service from Emma.

There was a brilliant package of fresh flowers, bread, milk and scones to welcome us as we first arrived, as well as a very comprehensive guide about everything you will need to know for a stay in the area, although we didn't get chance to explore much as our main reason for staying was to climb Scafell Pike (an hour's drive away).

The cottage is beautiful, very comfortable and well equipped, and has small added extras such as store cupboard ingredients, washing up liquid which sometimes are not present in self catering places. Great shower, comfy beds and big fluffy towels. Nice and toasty warm with the heating too, no danger of being cold here!

I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely,cosy feeling
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rain-like shower head in the bathroom
Liked least: Terrace on the backside unfortunately not really usable during rainy weather :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing