We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Fabulous period lounge Fabulous period lounge, steeped in history. Dogs welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Fabulous period lounge
Fabulous period lounge, steeped in history. Dogs welcome
Beautiful oak door
Squidgy sofas especially made for us, for you to unwind on
If you like to cook, you will enjoy this kitchen. Really well equipped and spacious.
Beautiful spacious  room with a view of the cottage garden and the valley.
Fabulous spacious twin bedded room and to keep the youngsters happy, a toy box of games and books.
A delightful bedroom for two
Why not sit awhile and drink in the peace and view?
Woodside welcomes dogs
Lounge window seat in our period room
Window seat on landing
lounge window with view towards the cottage garden
View from Woodside
Woodside's cottage garden
Welcome to Woodside
Fabulous peaceful walk from Woodside
A magical place to stay even in Winter
lakeside Village..tearoom, restaurant, bar, shop etc.
High Dam in Summer...you can walk from Woodside
15 minute drive to Bowness from Woodside
Walk to Windermere Lake Cruisers at Lakeside
Walk to Haverthwaite Steam Railway at Lakeside
Why not walk to Stott Park Heights from Woodside? stunning scenery no car necessary!!!!
View towards Woodside
our local beauty spot, High Dam. You can walk from Woodside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David A
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We recently returned from a weekend at Woodside Cottage for a family get together - despite the weather (snowing) the property was always warm with a cosy log burner - the kitchen in particular was very well equipped and the property was well ogranised with a comfortable feel about the place - a real home from home.
Brian and Allison (owners) were very helpful and accomodating throughout the rental process - plently of guidance , instructions and advice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - just wished it could have been longer - recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
Thank you for the review David and glad that you found Woodside to be "always warm and cosy. " with a "very well equipped" kitchen.
We do hope you will return to Woodside soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pet friendly cosy cottage perfect for exploring the Lake District.”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Spacious, well equipped and comfortable cottage, thoughtful touches including a welcome basket and a stairgate to keep lively dogs downstairs, perfectly located for exploring the Lake District and a wealth of information in the cottage on places to see and details of walks suitable for all levels of fitness. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
hi Elizabeth
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Woodside and found it well equipped and comfortable . I am delighted you feel you would definately stay again and we would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistyb130...
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Well equipped cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We arrived in the middle of the recent "beast from the east", despite the cottage being up a country road we were pleased to find it well clear of snow and the directions were spot on. It took a while for us to get warm but we had an enjoyable long weekend. It was well equipped and immaculately clean, the only thing we hadn't realised in advance is that it is a terraced cottage (although there was no noise from next door thanks to the old thick walls) and we personally prefer to be detached but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. Very conveniently located to access all the pleasures of the southern lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
hi Tina
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you enjoyed the card and bottle I left for your daughter's birthday.
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmc270361
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long weekend in the lakes”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location, exactly as described....excellent communications from the owners...... highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Many thanks for booking Woodside for your break and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The location is fabulous and High Dam is a real hidden gem! Hope you will return to Woodside in the future.
Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second perfect break”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit and once again we were all very pleased to enjoy the atmosphere this great cottage has to offer. We had typical Lake District weather for February that was cold and frosty with some snow. We all enjoyed the warmth and comfort of the log burner that kept us all as warm as toast as we planned our days out in the fells. There are so many places to visit from the cottage and it is so nice to come back to a real authentic piece of Cumbria that feels like home. We hope to return again to make some more great memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Many thanks for your kind review. The cottage is a special place and even we, constantly find new footpaths to explore from the door step. One can never tire of the location, being between protected ancient woodland of Great Knott Wood, Lake Windermere and the stunningly beautiful High Dam.So much to see and do! We hope you will return soon to make more great memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing