We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You need look no further...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Banklands Cottage

Banklands in spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Banklands in spring
Boot Room Kitchen inc Range cooker, Fridge Freezer, Microwave, Dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Banklands in spring
Boot Room
Kitchen inc Range cooker, Fridge Freezer, Microwave, Dishwasher.
View from Banklands
Local Red Squirrels visit regularly
Kitchen fireplace and Log Burner
Kitchen and Dining room
Living Room
Living Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
View from Master Bedroom
Another view from Master Bedroom
Bedroom Two Can be 2 x Single beds or one Super King
View from Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Bedroom Three
House Bathroom
Hall and Stairs
Wash House and Utility room, somewhere for your dirty boots!
Winter at Banklands
Footpath from the Car park
Banklands
Summer view of Eskdale valley from Banklands
Autumn view of Eskdale valley from Banklands
View from Banklands
View from Banklands
Driveway leading to car park for three cars
Local residents
View from Crinkle Crags onto Landale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris I
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“You need look no further...”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

You need look no further if you want to spend a week in a quiet corner of the Lakes. This was a holiday cottage to savour. Not for Banklands anything that looked remotely second hand. The owners plan to live here when they retire and have done it up to a very high spec with a delightful kitchen and a wow bathroom. There are Laura Ashley touches everywhere and mouthwatering views of the Eskdale valley from every window. There was even a warm outside shower for Poppy, our springer spaniel. We liked being able to stroll to the village shop for our morning newspaper and enjoyed some fabulous low and high level walks while we were here.

Favourite low level walks were Banklands to Blea Tarn then down to Beckfoot Station returning by Dalegarth Hall and Forge bridge on the other side of the river; the circular walk from Dalegarth station to Doctor Bridge and back; and another circular walk from Wha House farm up the valley past Taw House Farm to the Scale Beck Bridge and Falls before returning via Brotherikeld Farm and the Jubilee Bridge. These and other excellent low level walks can be found in Mary Welsh’s Easy Rambles around Eskdale, a copy of which you will find in the living room. Highlight of our week on a foggy day in early November was a walk from Wasdale Head up Gable Beck to the saddle between Great Gable and Kirk Fell. At around 600 metres we broke through the fog and from then on enjoyed clear skies, fabulous sunshine and the treat of seeing the summits of Scafell, Helvellyn, Skiddaw and Blencathra poking up through a blanket of cloud. We spent a day on top of the world!

This was our second visit to Eskdale. We stayed at Brantrake Cottage last year (about a mile from here) which we enjoyed, though Banklands wins with its south facing views, superb facilities and proximity to the local store. Others have commented that a second toilet would be handy, especially if 4 or 6 people are staying at a time. We agree. Banklands provides a cafetiere, so if you like espresso you will need to bring your own. There is a bluetooth connection to their Bose speaker which works nicely and their DVD player takes Bluray discs as well as ordinary DVDs. All in all this is a superb holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, the bathroom and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and i am glad you enjoyed your stay. The downstairs bathroom was always in the plan and should be finished for late November 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in March 2014

Very lucky with the weather on our week to eskdale . Was a perfect stay so peaceful and surrounded by natural beauty . Banklands was five star could do with a toilet downstairs but I think that is being done . Kitchen was very easy to use loved the open fires . The dog had the best holiday too really enjoyed walking harterfell with my son too .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightonB...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had two weeks at Banklands and really didn't want to leave. The owners have recently renovated the house and it is truly stunning. The quality of finish is high for a holiday cottage with a fantastically equipped kitchen and lovely bathroom. The beds are really comfortable. There are views in every direction. The gardens extend to acres and include woodland and field. It's just so peaceful. The physical location has views from the garden up Eskdale towards Hardknott Pass and are breathtaking. And you have the Ravenglass railway on the doorstep which is good if you have kids and good even if you don't. We used it as a fun public transport system to access some of the local walks, though there are great walks on the doorstep too. I would have to say it is one of the best holiday homes we've rented. And I could happily have moved in permanently. You would not find anything nicer in the Lakes. They also have Wi-Fi and are dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolward...
leamington spa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, amazing views”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the week with two dogs, alongside 2 friends who joined us after a few days.
The cottage has been renovated to a high standard, and is very dog friendly, e.g. boot room and external warm hose!
At the same time for a holiday cottage its quite luxurious with a well stocked modern kitchen and lovely bathroom. The only down side at the moment is that there is only one bathroom/toilet. However we understand there are plans to refit a second room in the Autumn of 2015.
The house has awesome fantastic views and is a lovely place to stay. Local walking is as good as ever (I've been to the area at least 7 times), and for the first time ever I managed Scafell Pike (as part of my 60th birthday celebrations), so it was lovely to have a nice deep bath to soak in. Local pubs as ever were good.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thanks for the great review, if you have a picture of you on the summit of Scafell send it to us for our 'summits board'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21twillis
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Banklands ..Eskdales Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

What a find, a true hidden gem with spectacular views all around. The house is a credit to the owners, a real home from home feel, with many little special touches, that made our stay extra special. The house has recently been fully refurbished to a very high standard, with many period features to complement the property. What an amazing view direct from the bath tub and the kitchen layout has absolutely every thing you could ask for. The gardens offer uninterrupted spectacular views of the surrounding hills and countryside, all of which constantly change through out the day. At the bottom of the garden is a little train station and hourly the local miniature steam train could be heard and seen. The local area has many beautiful walks through some stunning countryside, with many friendly pubs offering fantastic food and many real ales. The river Esk offers excellent fishing and on the banks is Eskdale Golf Club which is definitely worth a visit. What more can we add..we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will definitely be returning next year......Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts with spectacular views
Liked least: 10 out of 10
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing