We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage, great location, perfect weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Causeway Cottage

Causeway Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Causeway Cottage
On Street Parking Cartmel Green opposite Pig & Whistle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Causeway Cottage
On Street Parking
Cartmel Green opposite Pig & Whistle
2 mins walk to Cartmel Village Centre
Living Room
Dining Area
The Pig & Whistle
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John F
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Pros:
Comfortable bed. Excellent shower. Everything you need is provided. Very clean on arrival.Bakery and general store (with cash machine) just across the road. Good wi-fi.and TVs. Pub next door for good food. Close to main Cartmel Square with lots of eateries, and, of course, the Priory. A good base for exploring a delightful area.
Cons:
The cottage is on a busy road junction with a lot of traffic parking directly in front of the cottage. Although a parking permit is provided for the space in front of the cottage, going out in the car will lead to other cars parking in the space so that on return, you will need to park some distance from the cottage, You then need to look out for the vehicle to move and run to re-position your car while someone stops others parking there. After discovering this, we walked or cycled everywhere, leaving the car outside the cottage full time.
The cottage has only one door for entrance and exit, and no garden or yard. After a couple of days, we felt we needed to leave the door open to give a feeling of space, even though there was a lot of passing pedestrian and car traffic.
In summary, if you can live with the negative comments above, the cottage will serve you well as a comfortable base from which to explore the area. I recommend this cottage with these provisos.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Fair comment. The parking permit allows parking in any of the nearby parking bays. Either outside the cottage if space, or along side the shop a few metres away or along the Causeway a couple of hundred yards away max. I’m sorry this wasn’t convenient for you and hope it didn’t spoil your stay. Parking restrictions have only recently been introduced in Cartmel (since Sept 2017) and the villagers are not happy with them because of the problems you describe. Unfortunately we can’t do much about this.
The outside space is advertised as being non existent and it would be great to have a garden to sit in - the pub garden behind the cottage is the only immediate option and is a friendly local.
Thank you for your comments and sorry we are unable to offer what you would like.
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie T
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, great location, perfect weekend”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The accommodation is slap bang in the middle of town, everything you want on your doorstep, great pub next door, walks from straight out of the village, you can pretty much put your car aside and eat, I mean walk, your way through town for a few days. We stayed here while eating at l'enclume for a special birthday, The cottage was the best choice of someone to stay, so glad we booked it. Patricia was a wonderful host, she couldn't have been more helpful, and really helped us out of a bind on one evening..
Not sure why the other reviewer felt cramped, it's a great size for a couple, cosy but with everything you need, good size bedroom and bathroom and set out as you'd expect a little cottage in the lakes to be. The underfloor heating is a blessing, the shower hot and powerful. Would totally recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria m
1 review
“Quiet location, just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage was clean, we had everything we needed, lovely pub next door, dog friendly , enjoyed our weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Causeway Cottage and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellel...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank you Pat for such a superb & cosy cottage. The decor is so tastefully done & certainly has all the luxuries of home. We wanted to stay another night as it was so fabulous but unfortunately you were booked, but we will certainly be back again."

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Causeway Cottage and thank you for your thoughtful and considerate review. We hope to see you again one day soon.
All the best,
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
2 reviews
“Very small house, well equipped, overpriced.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is easy to find in a village location. It is well equipped with everything you need for a vacation. However, it is very, very small and dark inside. The lounge/kitchen/dining is all in one room which was all spotlessly clean.

Being next to a pub, the beer garden of which, is at the rear of the property means if you open the back window your conversations can be heard by the people sitting there and vice versa.

Upstairs there is a nice bedroom with modern bathroom off this.
I would suggest that the accommodation is only suitable for 2 people.

My husband and I left a day earlier than the 4 nights we had booked for as we just felt to cramped.
We felt that at £125 per night it was greatly over priced.

However, if you are looking for a base from which to travel around then it is ideal.

We visited just after Cartmel races and noticed there is a difference in menu & drink prices at the local pubs, being more expensive for the race times.
We also noticed that there were different prices for locals and tourists at the bar.

Cartmel is in a good location for driving to visit the many beautiful places to see.

Cartmel also has plenty of places for long walks through the fields and woodland.

Patricia was very helpful and communication could not be faulted.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you for your considerate review of Causeway Cottage. So sorry you felt that Causeway Cottage was overpriced during your stay and that you felt cramped. Accommodation is in short supply in Cartmel during race weeks and this is reflected in the pricing. I wasn't aware that prices differed for locals and visitors in the pubs in Cartmel, though I know there is a locals discount scheme of 10% running in some of the pubs.
The cottage is marketed to accommodate two people and yes it is small, but I think it's cute and traditionally built - it dates from the 1700's and the windows are not large - but the lighting inside is designed to ensure that the cottage is not gloomy. The cottage is next door to the Pig & Whistle pub and backs on to the pub garden, this is convenient if you wish to sit outside in the evening as the cottage does not have it's own outside space. The pub garden seating however is not directly outside the cottage window and does not I think invade the privacy of the cottage. Since the cottage is literally set in stone - there is little to be done to improve it's situation - it is as it is and it will hopefully welcome back repeat visits from satisfied guests as it has done over the years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing