We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Nice & Relaxing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RS_Burdie
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cottage and area. Presentation could have been better.”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this cottage at the beginning of July with my family and their young baby. The cottage is unique in that it is on 3 levels. It served our purposes well but we felt that more attention to detail would have scored this property much higher. The kitchen could have been better equipped and the property cleaned more thoroughly particularly the bathroom and kitchen. The cooker hood filters were very greasy and there were a lot of flies around and in the property which could be understood as it was adjacent to a farm.

The twin beds in the ground floor bedroom were extremely hard and the springs could be felt through the mattress.

Please be aware that the photos of the cottage on Trip Advisor are not all current. If the problems above were addressed I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to a friend.

We all missed having access to Wi-Fi and the use of a washing machine. Perhaps not essentials for some people but desirable for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deano123S...
salford
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice & Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Arrived Here Fri 17th June for 1 Week
Very Nice Cottage on 3 Levels,Very Clean & Spacious
Had a problem with the electric cooker on the 1st night so the owner who lives next door cooked our tea for us
Brand New Cooker in place by Sunday Morning
Very Quiet area about 2 miles to Cartmel in the car 5-10 mins
the only small problem we had was with Flies from the Monday,at some times there could be 10 -20 of the little buggers flying at you while you were eating or watching TV
An Extra Large Can of Fly Spray and a good aim with a tea towel nearly sorted the problem
We had great weather except for the Sunday and the Patio was great for sitting outside after walking round Cartmel
Overall Very Nice & Relaxing(No Mobile Phone Coverage or WiFi thou)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch13A
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely week”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Byre to celebrate my birthday, me, my partner, my parents and pooch. The weather was lovely and we were able to explore much of the lakes including Cartmel, Grange over Sands, Kendal, Hawkshead, Windermere and Coniston. The cottage is very spacious inside with beautiful high beam ceilings which is hard to capture in a photo. It was also immaculate yet cosy with beautiful fresh flowers upon arrival. The location is very tranquil and peaceful. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the pooch out for a morning run in the village down by St Peters Church watching the sun rise was beautiful the only noise was the sounds of birds chirping or an odd moo of a cow. Would highly recommend The Byre for a relaxing and cosy stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing this thoroughly wonderful review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at The Byre. It is great to hear that the property proved to be such a successful venue for your birthday celebrations, and even better that your pooch could join in with the frivolities too, he must have been in his element with all of those walks! We certainly hope you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddi W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my fiancée visited cartmel/grange over sands for a long weekend. It was a fantastic cottage, spacious and perfect to take along our dog. The photographs don't do the property justice. Would highly recommend staying here and we will certainly be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
We are so pleased that you (and your dog!) had a good holiday and it is great to hear that the property was even better in real life. We will definitely keep our eyes peeled for your next booking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karaelise...
East Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is a semi-detached cottage which is absolutely stunning. Sarah certainly has thought of everything even down to little details. The cottage was well stocked which we weren't expecting but was glad of! The garden was well enclosed and was all patio-ed so no need to worry about muddy foot prints or paw prints. I stayed with my husband and our dog Odin, the enclosed garden meant that we could leave the door open while we were in so Odin could go out when he wanted without worrying that he would escape!

There is no WIFI here and we couldn't get a phone signal, but, for me, this was perfect as it meant that my husband wasn't working the entire holiday so he was able to relax as much as me!

The walk into Cartmel is about an hour away. We found a nice walk on a quiet road by going right out of the property, down the lane toward the church at the bottom, going left onto the busier road and then turning right just past a phone box and following signs to Wood Broughton. The walk is spectacular, the views are amazing and the road are quiet and safe which is excellent if you have dogs or children. There are so many beautiful walks you can do up bridlepaths and across fields!

All in all we had a wonderful holiday in a beautiful rural cottage. Thank you Sarah, we will definitely come back again.

Kara, Paul & Odin Ahronson
Isle of Wight

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
What a fantastic review - thank you! We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and that Odin appreciated the garden! The walk into Wood Broughton sounds delightful and it is great that you enjoyed the beauty of the surrounding area - we hope to have you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing