We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful relaxing week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Chalets 'Oak'

Looking towards The Chalets from the beautiful south facing gardens.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards The Chalets from the beautiful south facing gardens.
Spacious living area with views of the garden. Comfy double room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Looking towards The Chalets from the beautiful south facing gardens.
Spacious living area with views of the garden.
Comfy double room.
Well equipped spacious kitchen diner.
Pristine bathroom.
Complimentary toiletries.
Drying rack.
Nearby Windermere.
Red squirrel feeding on Chalet deck.
Whitehaven Maritime festival
Muncaster Castle
Eskdale Show
Wastwater
The Chalets are rated 4 star by English Tourism.
A short drive away Seascale beach at sunset.
Looking along the river from the bottom of the garden on a snowy morning.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another wonderful relaxing week”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to the Chalets and as with the first two visits we had a wonderful time. The quality of the accommodation is wonderful. On arrival it was great to find a huge homemade cake just what we needed after a busy 1st day!!
The Chalets are an ideal base to go for walks in Eskdale. On our first day we got the train which stops opposite the Chalets to Ravenglass then walked over Muncaster Fell a lovely walk with great views. Another firm favourite of ours is the walk up to Blea tarn again this walk begins opposite the Chalets.
My partner lives the fact he doesn't need to drive. The Woolpack, Brook House Inn and Burnmoor Inn are all within easy walking distance. The Woolpack serves amazing pizzas well worth a trip.
The Chalets have a fully equiped kitchen so if you don't want to eat out. Tesco also deliver it supplies run low.
The garden is delightful with picnic benches and BBQ facilities. The Chalets have a TV with DVD, also WiFi but luckily no phone reception!!
We don't have children but can imagine any child would have a great time in the garden.
We would highly recommend the Chalets for families and couples at any time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyman12
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this chalet for a short weekend break for me and my girlfriend, safe to say, we were not displeased. We both had an amazing time and the chalet was clean, tidy, and was stocked with everything you could possibly need. The kitchen had everything in and there was even a selection of magazines, books, dvd's, maps etc. The area surrounding the cottage was beautiful. Right in the heart of the peak district and around a 10 min drive to Scafell Pike. The owner wasn't there at the time of stay but the person who was running the chalets was very nice and showed us around on arrival. This was an amazing weekend and we will definitely be returning. I would highly reccomend the chalets to anyone, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, contents of the chalet
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zacman22
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely short stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The chalet was ideal for our short time here. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable.
There were lovely views over to the nearby river and gardens. The kitchen was reasonably well equiped although we mostly ate out.
The bathroom was okay but the water pressure for the shower could ideally do with a bit of a boost but that was the only negative.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in stunning location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an amazing week at the chalets, sharing two of them with my husband's family. The chalets were immaculate (photos on the website do not do them justice) - clean, roomy, well furnished. Our host was attentive but non-obtrusive. The grounds were spacious and beautiful. And the location was brilliant - in deepest Lake District country, but for the intrepid user of public transport still accessible via La'al Ratty railway which drops you off practically on the doorstep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing