We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,452)
Filter reviews
2,452 results
Traveller rating
1,375
630
239
113
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,375
630
239
113
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lodore falls hot tub a lake view room outdoor pool on arrival fell view building work tower suite course menu box of chocolates flat roof afternoon tea lovely hotel lake district scones spa facilities first class
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 2,452 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Had another great stay . Even with the cold and snow the hotel made up for it.Be nice to see the new bits when they open it’s been interesting to see how much progress has been made on each visit.The staff were as normal very friendly.

Room tip: Had the Tower suite fantastic views but no good if you can’t manage steep stairs
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K7151YWpeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Walk from Keswick for our usual drink at this hotel. Decided to have afternoon tea. Found it very disappointing as there was a lot of choclate, when we were asked about the tea they explained it was for Easter. Would have been nice if we had been informed before ordering! Not keen on choclate! And to top it off part of the tea was a rice krispie cake. Not good value!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hornet997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

On Saturday 24th March 2018 we had our wedding reception at the Lodore Falls Hotel. It was a truly amazing day.
We were lucky enough to have use of the new function room and the conservatory. The room was a good size and a great canvas for us to express our wedding in the way we wanted to.
The room looked absolutely stunning, and was commented upon by all guests and staff.
The food which was served (5 courses) was absolutely beautiful. We have been to weddings in the lakes and the food has been poor. The food at the Lodore was beautiful. It was presented beautifully and tasted gorgeous.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and professional, the day could not have ran smoother.
We had Leroy Johnson perform during the day and his band The Flicks performed with him on the night. A dance floor was set up in the room by staff and again it was brilliant.
The rooms in the hotel were also stunning. They were immaculately presented, decorated well, simply stunning. We had a beautiful view of Derwent water from our tower room.
Emma Stoszkowski was our photographer and she was absolutely superb. The location of the Lodore Falls Hotel, means that you can get the most beautiful wedding location photographs. You have access to the waterfall, Ashness Bridge, Ashness Jerry and Surprise View. All are within 1/2 mile of the hotel and are just beautiful.
I cannot recommend the hotel more highly. It is a must for a wedding. It is beautiful.
Thank you to everyone who helped to make our special day perfect.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Without doubt, this hotel has a stunning setting and that alone almost makes it worth a stay in a room with lake views. The ongoing refurbishment and extension work did not trouble us during the stay and what has been completed already has definitely been worth it - there is no doubt the hotel will have great potential when it is all done.

Why 3 stars? Well the service was a bit patchy at best.

- the reception isn’t manned so being attended to is reliant on being spotted by the camera and someone jumping out of the back room to assist - the problem is they don’t always and so that can mean waiting around a bit. It also means there is no warm welcome on arrival, you have to navigate to reception and, well, wait.
- breakfast room service a bit hit and miss. On our last day 2 cereals as ordered but 1 bowl and 1 spoon. Luckily we are happy sharing such things. Also one huge jug of hot milk and a small amount of cold - a mix up of what we needed for coffee versus the cereals. Weetabix with hot milk does take me back though. Finally the coffee - it really wasn’t great. An easy upgrade would be a few cafetieres some fresh locally roasted brews.
- LOTS of noise in the corridor in the morning - 8.30 onwards - vacuuming, sheets / pillows being dumped outside the room etc. I know the cleaning has to happen but not a lot of consideration for the guest.

All this might sound a bit grumpy / picky, but it just didn’t have the wow factor to match the views.

On the plus side - the room had benefited from refurbishment and was modern / comfortable. One of the colleagues that helped us with bags was great - very friendly, and the lounge area is a great place to sit with a beer and admire the view.

Clearly lots of money being spent on making this hotel a serious challenger to other upmarket lakes offerings, and it really could be. Invest a little in ‘knock your socks off’ guest care and it will be.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel which is well run and has a truly exceptional staff who find nothing a problem and are always willing to help you .We have just spent four days there and it flew past.The room we had was a lake view207 and was just that .The road outside takes you to The Honister Pass and Buttermere we enjoyed both of these a really relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews