We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Watergreens Farm

Owl Retreat and views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Owl Retreat and views
Owl Retreat Sit and Relax whilst listening to the birds & enjoying the views!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Owl Retreat and views
Owl Retreat
Sit and Relax whilst listening to the birds & enjoying the views!!
Watergreens Farm
Spacious Double Bedroom
Comfortable Lounge
Bathroom with spa bath & shower
Holiday Accommodation
Fully Equipped Kitchen
An Easy River Walk to Alston
View from accommodation
View from Owl Retreat
Walk along the river to the loca and spot the oyster catchers, curlews, lapwings & rare black grouse
Our nearest neighbours!!
View from the accommodation
River walk to Alston
Amazing sunsets
Winter scenery
Dramatic night time skies. If you are lucky you may see & hear the short eared owl
Beautiful river walk in to Alston
Sunset as seen from Owl Retreat
View from Owl Retreat
Dramatic night sky - taken by a guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise D
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My partner booked this cottage as a last minute break just before Christmas. Gareth was really helpful and friendly and even called us en route to the cottage to let us know where to park and how to get in.
On arrival, we were absolutely balled over by the location. Surrounded by miles of fields with stunning views, we couldn't wait to get out to explore.
The cottage itself is beautiful. Absolutely perfect for two people with everything you could need down to the last detail of tablets for the dishwasher.
The living room space is gorgeous and cosy and the bathroom with the Jacuzzi bath is wonderful - especially after a day of walking.
The bedroom has plenty of space for storage and has a lovely view out to the fields.
Gareth couldn't have been more helpful while we stayed and we would happily recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Amanda and I are always so pleased to hear our guests have had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for being great guests, we would like to wish you all the very best for the coming year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I stayed here with my partner in September, we didn't want to leave. We are thinking about staying here again in the near future, and we made lovely memories here. Warm, welcoming hosts, we will never forget our stay here. The cottage was stylish and homely, and catered our every need. Alston is a lovely town, and if you enjoy Indian food, try out the Victoria Inn. Absolutely delicious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The walk from the town, but was not an issue. I am just lazy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
What a wonderful review, thank you both so much for the positive feedback. It is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to hopefully hosting you both again in the new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a lovely stay at this little cottage and definately didnt want to leave :(.. The views were beautiful and the cottage was amazing, comfortable and homely.. We were met with a warm welcome by gareth who talked us through everything we needed to know (very helpful). We loved our stay here and will definately be back again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you both for your kind review and for being perfect guests. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards
Amanda and Gareth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing