We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely half term break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Flora M
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It had a sauna. . .”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

It's lovely, clean, and easy to get to.
The views are amazing.
I enjoyed our stay however I would have liked it to be less cluttered however this is just personal prefrence. There's just too much stuff. It could also do with a lick of paint in the lounge and a chimney sweep, there is smoke damage on the right hand side of the chimney and the agar is not very hot. I must say there is a small oven provided on the side.

The bath towels could be bigger to.

The house is warm which was the biggest bonus and the shower in the main bedroom is beautiful, I so wanted to take it home with me. There is a sauna randomly. I hope they could get a hot tub outside that would be a bonus.

The spa and coop are in walking distance. Please bring board games for adults and there is a basement with a pool table for kids or adults. The boys loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: upstairs shower and sauna
Liked least: towels. i am a size10 and couldnt wrap towel around me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Lovely half term break”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

great cellar room with dart board and pool table the bar is very good down there. Lovely comfy beds great fire in lounge great view of mountains from dining room and kitchen great location with the spar and co op near by really enjoyed my stay 8 people in total went and every one of us said we will go there again and we will

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cellar with pool table and dart board
Liked least: toilet in cellar was dirty and damp
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“Brilliant Xmas getaway”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I was very much looking forward to my Xmas break at Granville House with my extended family and sons' girlfriends (7 of us in total), and it was everything I was anticipating. We all had an amazing time and were bowled over by the property and the location, both being beautiful. The property is immaculate and the top bedroom with sauna is amazing. There is no door separating the sitting room from the upstairs bedrooms therefore sound can travel, but this wasn't a problem. My only observation is that there was insufficient kitchen equipment to cater for 7 people at Xmas. Fortunately, my brother and wife were arriving the day after me and they brought extra pans and sharp knives with them. However, I came to love cooking on the aga (once I got used to it). Also, there were no bins so we had to leave a mound of rubbish down the side steps as advised. But, Alston is a truly lovely, quintessential olde worlde market town with lots of nooks and crannies. Perfect for walking, browsing and relaxing and perfectly placed for Lakes, Durham, Northumberlan. A hidden treasure. When I needed to communicate with the owner (Alan) and the leaser (Daniel) they were both very helpful. I would definitely recommend this property (it is also jaw-droppingly reasonable in cost!) and would consider staying there again.

Thank you to Alan and Daniel for making our stay a fantastic one!
Christine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was my first visit to Alston & staying at Granville House made the whole experience fantastic.

I stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a 40th birthday & it was just perfect! It's full of character which sets it apart from other cottages & lodges I've stayed in before. There's lots of fun to be had here too with the brilliant basement complete with neon lights & a pool table.

The place is immaculately clean which is what everyone wants isn't it?

Local amenities are on the doorstep to keep you well stocked up for nights in or to keep you entertained if you feel like venturing out for a beverage or bite to eat.

I highly recommend this little gem & already booked up again for a winter break in December.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathan...
1 review
“Excellent, lovely stay can wait to go back.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed at Granville house with my girlfriend over a weekend and absolutely loved it. The house itself is fantastic. Stone walls, great decor and a lovely fire. Great location for walks and loads of pubs within 1 minute walking distance. Co op and spar shop also within 1 minute walking distance which was really handy for shopping and essentials.

Absolutely loved the pool table and spent hours on it. The bar next to the pool table is also a great touch to the cellar. Beds were comfortable and all rooms were very clean. Wifi access was also very good to have.

We know Alston well and know how much snow they get there in the winter, so we are definitely planning on going back over Nov-Jan with a group of friends.

Definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire in lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 223
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing