We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lantern House

Dining area for up to eight overlooking the Market Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area for up to eight overlooking the Market Place
Lounge with reclining sofas and a big TV Red rose level double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Dining area for up to eight overlooking the Market Place
Lounge with reclining sofas and a big TV
Red rose level double bed
Alston Market Place with cream coloured Lantern House which has free unreserved parking nearby
Playroom or second lounge with books, games, toys, big TV and cuddly monkey
Tulip level double bed
Modern kitchen with hob, oven, two fridges, dishwasher and microwave
Lounge with reclining sofas, DVD, CD palyer and big TV
Playroom with toys, books, games and big TV
Study with free Wi-Fi
Tulip level bedroom with two full sized bunk beds
Red rose level small double bed
Red rose level bathroom with WC, wash hand basin and shower over bath
Tulip level bathroom with WC, wash hand basin, bath and separate shower
Utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3ems
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Lantern house this past weekend with my brother and his family, all together 4 adults and 4 children aged 8-14. We have done this regularly for February half term and have visited cottages all over Cumbria/ Lancashire & Yorkshire however this has been by far my favourite rental and location.
The house has been refurbished to a very high standard and is equipped with everything you could need and a lot we didn't know we needed too
Spread over 4 floors, it provides plenty space for children, teenagers and adults alike and provides plenty comfortable areas to relax in.

The village itself suited us perfectly as within 50-100 yards we could visit 3 local pubs, a shop, a cafe and 2 takeaways, however the village is by no means busy or rowdy.
We will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan F
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful property in a lovely little village, can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during the so-called 'Chrimbo Limbo' period between Christmas and New Year. There were 9 of us in total, myself, my partner, our three boys (11, 8 & 2), my parents, and my partners parents.

There was plenty of parking space for our 3 cars directly infront of the house, which was very handy as my missus had packed about a months worth of food and clothing! As soon as you step in the door of Lantern House, it delivers an immediate wow factor with the deceptive size of the 3 ground floor rooms and the lovely lights running through the centre of the house from top to bottom.

There is a very handy study, a massive boot-room/utility area with washing machine and tumbler, as well as a toilet. Across the hall is a beautifully sized, very cozy living room with a large television and reclining sofas.

The next floor up offers a massive kitchen/dining area with a large window looking out on to the market square, which looked lovely with all of the xmas lights lining the streets. Now, we have stayed at several vacation homes, and never in my life have I seen a kitchen so well equipped!!! There is absolutely everything you could possibly need and the units are very modern and very well presented.

Along the landing is the absolute jewel of the property - the Playroom. This kept our 3 kids amused for the entire duration of our stay. Again, there is everything you could possibly need, any amount of board games, toys, soft toys, cards, dominoes, and not to mention the huge 42" TV on the wall!

The 2nd floor has 2 beautifully decorated double rooms with huge wardrobes and very comfortable beds, as well as a very large bathroom, which again is decorated to the highest standard.

The 3rd floor is almost identical in layout, but one of the double rooms has a set of bunk-beds in there which was perfect for our boys. Again, there is another beautifully decorated bathroom on this floor with a separate shower.

I can not speak highly enough of this place, as we all had an absolutely brilliant time, from our 2 year old right up to the grandparents! We had a few little walks about the village despite the freezing weather, and visited some of the shops on the street and stopped into Blueberrys Cafe for breakfast one morning, which was lovely. There are also a few pubs which are worth calling into for a bite to eat.

Thank You, Chris and Angela for providing such a wonderful property! We will hopefully be back in the summer. Dan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrazyk...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lantern house is perfect for a family stay. We were a party of 2 families (4 adults, 1 child & 3 teens) and there was plenty of room for us without feeling we were on top of one another. The house is located centrally in Alston, with all the amenities you could need very close by. The house is decorated & maintained to a very high standard with enough toys, games, information, wifi and kitchen equipment to keep everyone happy.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
glendunca...
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant holiday house in a great location.”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We traveled as a mixed group (4 adults & 3 children) for a 3 night stay.
We really enjoyed our stay in Alston and Lantern House itself is fantastic. The house is well decorated, clean and maintained to a very high standard. It had everything we needed and was in an ideal spot.
I would definitely recommend this property to anyone, young, old, and with or without children.
A big thanks to the owners Chris and Angela, for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing