We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven of peace, comfortable and well equipped.”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the front of the property.
Lovely, light , open plan living/kitchen with French doors which open onto  patio with stunning view The living room/kitchen is a large open plan space with velux windows and exposed beams.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View of the front of the property.
Lovely, light , open plan living/kitchen with French doors which open onto  patio with stunning view
The living room/kitchen is a large open plan space with velux windows and exposed beams.
Open plan kitchen so the cook is still part of the holiday party.
Five burner ranger cooker and fully equipped kitchen where we have tried to cater to your every need
Light and airy with velux windows.
Wood buring stove will be laid ready fior you to light on arrival should you wish for the cosy glow
We provide all the wood you need for your stay.TV, DVD player, CD player,  games console on request.
Another view of this gorgeous open plan ground floor.
Open plan living
Ground floor bedroom with beds made up as super comfy twin beds.It can also be made up as superking.
This lovely huge superking bed can also be made up as a twin on request..
Ground floor/family bathroom with shower over the bath.It also has a heated floor for extra luxury.
This is the double bedroom showing a view into the en suite shower room
Double bed with solid oak bedframe and exposed beams. Partly exposed 16th century fireplace.
Another view of double bedroom showing exposed beam and into bathroom.
Rainfall shower head in ensuite shower room. Double size shower cubicle too.More exposed beams.
Twin bedroom upstairs with exposed beams.
The twin bedroom upstairs showing the exposed beams.
View from top of the stairs into the double bedroom and into the shower room next to the twin room.
Dining area in open plan room
Another view of the kitchen showing fridge freezer and a plate of freshly cooked biscuits.
This table can be extended.
Boot room, drying room, dog room, storage room or whatever you want to use it for room.
One of many views close to Isaac's Byre.
Ashgill Force. 1.5 miles from the cottage. Walk behind this waterfall. Great for photos.
A view from the lane leading to Isaac's Byre. Stone walls abound around here.
View from back garden. Open up the French doors and experience the clean air and great view.
Isaac's Byre
Isaac's Byre from the front. Parking for three cars. A great place to sit in the morning to catch t
This is a lovely spot outside the front to catch the morning sun and sit with a coffee.
View from twin bedroom which has deep window seat.
View of the front of Isaac's Byre. A lovely spot to sit out in the mornings.
Some of our neighbours! Pet sheep and pet pig.
Pet sheep next door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mcmullanj...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A haven of peace, comfortable and well equipped.”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely Holliday cottage. Warm, spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Located in peaceful little hamlet in the wild remote scenery of the Northen Pennines. Close to the pretty market town of Alston. Perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Can't speak highly enough of this cottage. From the moment we stepped in we felt at home. It was clean, well decorated and really welcoming.
Very well equipped with everything you might need - and more - in terms of the kitchen and entertainment for family and children. Complimentary wifi and Sky TV and lots of games etc.
Gorgeous views from the back garden. We would definitely recommend and would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had everything we needed and felt so comfortable relaxing there.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. We do our best to make our cottage a 'home from home' for our guests. I hope you will stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy m
carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the nicest holiday cottages we've experienced”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at isaacs byre weekend of 18th March ( last weekend) and I can honestly say this is a gem of a place- well hidden in a relatively remote location but it was perfect for us. Judith and Mike could not have been more welcoming and the neighbours were lovely too- we even met all their animals! The cottage had everything at our disposal- from an impressive variety of teas and coffees, info on walks to our favourite family game monopoly! Nothing was too much trouble and we really didn't want for anything- they even had milk in the fridge already for our tea when we arrived. The surrounding area has some lovely walks and we really enjoyed the one we did. We had a meal in the local pub during our stay and the food was beautiful. Would definitely recommend. We managed to leave some bits and pieces behind including my sons gillet and Judith posted them out straight away. If you want a relaxing stay at a beautiful, very well equipped and characteristic cottage with lovely surroundings and a fabulous welcome then look no further- thank u to Judith and Mike- we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do try to make every stay here special. We hope that we will see you all back here again soon. Glad to hear your son has his gillet again too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahrim
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Child friendly cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great cottage in a good location to explore surrounding area/towns. Really child friendly with a cot/ high chair and stair gate. Our little one loved the garden and surrounding area and enjoyed looking at all the animals. The walks were a bit adventurous for us but maybe when she is a little older. We really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemummy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage. Remote location. Cosy as anything!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a gem of a property! Found at the last minute but so pleased we booked it. Spotless cottage, copious logs for the burner (which was so needed the week we chose with hail, snow and wind). It is remote but all the better for that...car definitely required. Kids loved the "white house" and they are aged from 4-11yrs. Well equipped. ..no need to bring toilet roll or dishwasher stuff as that was provided. Lots of info about the local area provided. Beds comfy and spacious. We loved it thank you and are looking to stay again....but perhaps with a better chance of warmer weather!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing