We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the has everything cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the front of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the front of the property.
Lovely, light , open plan living/kitchen with French doors which open onto  patio with stunning view The living room/kitchen is a large open plan space with velux windows and exposed beams.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View of the front of the property.
Lovely, light , open plan living/kitchen with French doors which open onto  patio with stunning view
The living room/kitchen is a large open plan space with velux windows and exposed beams.
Open plan kitchen so the cook is still part of the holiday party.
Five burner ranger cooker and fully equipped kitchen where we have tried to cater to your every need
Light and airy with velux windows.
Wood buring stove will be laid ready fior you to light on arrival should you wish for the cosy glow
We provide all the wood you need for your stay.TV, DVD player, CD player,  games console on request.
Another view of this gorgeous open plan ground floor.
Open plan living
Ground floor bedroom with beds made up as super comfy twin beds.It can also be made up as superking.
This lovely huge superking bed can also be made up as a twin on request..
Ground floor/family bathroom with shower over the bath.It also has a heated floor for extra luxury.
This is the double bedroom showing a view into the en suite shower room
Double bed with solid oak bedframe and exposed beams. Partly exposed 16th century fireplace.
Another view of double bedroom showing exposed beam and into bathroom.
Rainfall shower head in ensuite shower room. Double size shower cubicle too.More exposed beams.
Twin bedroom upstairs with exposed beams.
The twin bedroom upstairs showing the exposed beams.
View from top of the stairs into the double bedroom and into the shower room next to the twin room.
Dining area in open plan room
Another view of the kitchen showing fridge freezer and a plate of freshly cooked biscuits.
This table can be extended.
Boot room, drying room, dog room, storage room or whatever you want to use it for room.
One of many views close to Isaac's Byre.
Ashgill Force. 1.5 miles from the cottage. Walk behind this waterfall. Great for photos.
A view from the lane leading to Isaac's Byre. Stone walls abound around here.
View from back garden. Open up the French doors and experience the clean air and great view.
Isaac's Byre
Isaac's Byre from the front. Parking for three cars. A great place to sit in the morning to catch t
This is a lovely spot outside the front to catch the morning sun and sit with a coffee.
View from twin bedroom which has deep window seat.
View of the front of Isaac's Byre. A lovely spot to sit out in the mornings.
Some of our neighbours! Pet sheep and pet pig.
Pet sheep next door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaynor S
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the has everything cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a fantastic place,it has everything ,the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed.lovely views from patio,feels like your almost staying on a farm with all the surrounding animals,pigs chickens ,cows and sheep.great wii fi and sky tv connection which pleased our teenagers and our 9yr old loved the chickens.lovely area to visit ,so much to do and see,can recommend the steam railway in alston and solway air museum,Carlisle is not far to go for the day either.can not wait to go again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan G
1 review
“great break, could be as relaxing or as energetic as you wished.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

fantastic home, full of interesting character and history. the views are spectacular and I spent many a morning with my coffee in hand watching the world go bye. and husband return from his early morning trek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery and property.
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwpkb
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely comfortable, clean and very well equipped cottage with excellent views down the valley. The owners are friendly, helpful but unobtrusive and have thought of almost everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible with fresh eggs and biscuits on arrival a nice touch. The cottage is dog friendly and the dog treats, dog tag and towels were much appreciated. The location is ideal for walks along the Pennine Way, C2C route, South Tyne Trail and to local beauty spots such as Ashgill Falls, with maps and guides provided. The cottage was warm thanks to the ground sourced central heating, so we didn't need to use the wood burner at all during our stay. Highly Recommended!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool...
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is the most warm and cosy retreat in which to idyll the time away, particularly in the midst of winter, when the wind is blowing a storm and the snow is swirling all around.
When I told friends where we were spending our week's break they thought we were mad, but believe me when I say, Judith- ann and her husband have thought of every thing to make your visit a comfortable one, There's a huge log burner in the middle of the sitting area and an endless supply of logs, which are free of charge, I've never come across that before in a holiday let ! There are two large comfy settees to sink into with a good book.
We tootled around the stunning countryside each day and sourced some delicious food for supper from the local shops in Alston.
There's a good assortment of shops including an artisan bakery and butcher, also there are a few pubs which all serve locally produced ingredients which are made up into some really hearty meals...Good stuff for the intrepid walkers and cyclist that enjoy this lovely little town and surrounding countryside.
This is a haven for walkers too, not my forte as I'm partially immobile and the cottage was well equipped for my walking difficulties, There is a downstairs large double bedroom and a bathroom, so I didn't have to venture upstairs, looking forward to booking a summer break here soon, just loved it !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui13B...
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely secluded cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although rather remote this cottage has everything you need to negate even getting back in your car before returning home, which is what my brother did! Mum, hubby & myself did explore though. Super comfy beds, which is always a concern when renting anywhere! Lots of nice walks with tons of info in cottage or available from the owners next door, so helpful. Pub in Garrigill available down a path from cottage, very welcoming. They thought my brother & hubby were the "only gay couple in the village". Made me chuckle. Go & enjoy it. Views from rear patio doors amazing, what a way to breakfast...
I am largely wheelchair dependant but managed entry door & 3shallow steps to main living area ok. Downstairs bathroom & bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds!
Liked least: Distance to a large shopping centre, but I am such a townie!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing