We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Trip to cheshire!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Kitchen / dining area
Large Walk in Shower plus bath
Twin Room
Lambing April
Single Room
Views from the lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tarporley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
redsnappe...
Marbella, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Trip to cheshire!”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We loved the layout and luxury comforts. Our little daschund “Jemima!” Particularly loved the log burner. We found the Hollies farm shop near by and bought the luxury frozen ready meals and enjoyed fine dining and being snuggly at the same time.. lively complimentary ales & eggs from Kay. Will return again . Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you , so glad you had a good stay with us. Next time I hope that I'm up and about.
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireH42...
1 review
“Top class horsey holiday”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed here with our horses accommodated in the stables directly opposite and it was so convenient to have everything on your doorstep. Everything was catered for both in the lodge and the stable yard, even piped fresh water inside each stable. Good quality hay and straw readily available along with all mucking out equipment. Riding was brilliant and we were lucky with the weather for the time of year. Nearby Primrose wood was a lovely picturesque ride as was the Delamere forest although without transport it took almost an hour to hack there, but well worth it! Kelsall Hill equestrian centre is a short hack away and they provided access via Primrose woods to avoid the busy main road entrance. If you have horses that place is a must to visit!
The lodge at Barley Rise was 5*, again with everything you may need anticipated; washing up equipment, towels, tea towels, dishwasher tablets, fire lighters for the wonderful log burning stove......just everything! It was superbly clean with towels and bedding being top quality. Fabulous views over the paddock at the back there was no desire on our part to go out much during our stay as the lodge was so comfortable and luxurious (plus we were shattered!)
The lodge is next to a brewery and it was a lovely touch having a couple of bottles in the fridge when we arrived along with some fresh eggs from Kay's chickens. We couldn't have asked for anything better- very highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you Claire for such a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your few day here with your horses. I suspect you didn't take the shortest route into Delamere forest, maybe next time.
thanks
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyone1
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Barley Rise”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked the Lodge for a long weekend to chill out and get away from it all. Absolutely amazing the lodge is immaculate very spacious and the sourrounding are beautiful yet not too far away from places to visit if you want to. Had an amazing weekend, Kay was lovely and would definitely recommend it and will also be revisiting x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you Wendy for your lovely review. I hope to see you again soon. So pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emundee2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Barley Rise”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely lodge. Well furnished. Great kitchen. Wood burning stove was great, easy to use and very efficient. Wheelchair access into lodge was good though the path was a bit uneven. The biggest bugbear was internal thresholds - not easy for a wheelchair! Access to shower was a challenge. Overall a lovely stay in a lovely part of the country

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review. I did mention the door thresholds into the bedrooms and bathroom which seem to be a design feature of the log cabin, they came as a surprise to me when it was built. I hope it didn't spoil your stay too much. Do you have any suggestions how we could make the shower access better ?
Thanks you for providing feedback. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denniswv1...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a great time here with the grandchildren. Lovely accommodation, very comfortable with everything you need. Location is excellent, near Chester and the surrounding countryside. Kay is very welcoming and we look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks Dennis, look forward to seeing you here again.
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing