We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute cottage with everything we needed.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheadle, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suki_M62
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute cottage with everything we needed.”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were looking for a dog friendly cottage close to Keele University so we could visit our student daughter. The corn store was perfect; surrounded by beautiful countryside; very clean; tastefully furnished with a well equipped kitchen. The bunk beds were arranged so that the bottom bunk was at right angles to the top, making it more like a single bed which suited our adult daughter. Photographs do not do the cottage justice and it seems furnishings have been upgraded. Our dog loved the enclosed exercise paddock - a great place for ball games before outings. Derek and Vivienne are thoughtful (without being at all intrusive) and have clearly gone to a lot of effort to accommodate guests. Our "neighbours" had young children who found Halloween gifts left on their door step :-)
We only stayed two nights but discovered there was plenty to do in the area. We enjoyed the Monkey Forest and Christmas shopping at Trentham shopping village (plus a hike in the Peak District prior to check in). Our meal at The Huntsman, about a mile down the road was very good.
We look forward to returning - so much nicer than staying in a thin walled hotel room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on graduation :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexbw200...
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a week here and once again it was fabulous
Vivian and Derek are so welcoming and made life so easy for us
They go out their way to help you
The cottage was perfectly clean and well stocked.
The area surrounding the cottage is amazing so so peaceful.
We spent many a day just relaxing in the garden whilst the kids ran around in the barn and played football in the field
The area is stunning
I highly recommend The Roaches and Dimming's Dale to visit
And ramblers retreat and The Red Lion for food.
This was our second visit and I cannot recommend this place highly enough
A absolute must if visiting the area.

Thank you for making our holiday so amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review and recommendation, we are so pleased you had another good relaxing week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxynugge...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay near Alton Towers”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights with a 1 and 3 year old. Absolutely perfect for us. The owners were very friendly and showed us around on arrival. The property is compact but really well equipped. It had everything we needed including travel cot, high chair, waterproof sheet on the bunk beds. Our kids loved the hens, and loved the play barn. Even the rain didn't spoil our stay. It's 20 mins drive to Alton Towers and about 7 minutes to Cheadle where there is a large supermarket. If we needed to visit this area again we would definitely consider staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the hens and the play barn
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokiandlu...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend with dogs! ”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage for a long weekend with our two dogs, and had an excellent time. Derek and Viviane were very welcoming and provided us milk and fresh eggs (from their resident rescued hens) upon arrival. The cottage is cozy and well appointed, and the grounds are nice. Our dogs loved running around their gated paddock and going on the country field walks in the area. Cheadle is close to pop to for supplies, and Trentham Gardens in Stoke, the reason for our visit, is only 15 minutes away. (A great day out, and dog friendly). I would definitely stay again if ever in the area. Thanks for the great hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thanks for a lovely review, we are pleased that you and your super dogs enjoyed the stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charis50
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely short break at The Corn store cottage Birchenfields, it was a well equiped and cosy cottage nice to get back to and relax in the evening after visiting the local area, enjoyed visiting Cannaock Chase, Bakewell, World of Wedgewood, Cheadle and lovely drives in the peaks seeing lambs in the fields. The local pubs and cafes very welcoming and great value meals would like to go back to see more of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyed being with my Family
Liked least: A few Rain Showers that's England
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your comments, pleased you liked the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing