We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closes too earlry”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Cheadle
Price range: USD 5 - USD 19
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Summarily kicked out

Use to be a cracking pub now have to find somewhere to have a sociable drink at lrast now we know not to go

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

you've lost me on this one, can you expand please?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Wheatsheaf is a very solid pub with a decent interior and a wide range of cheap drinks. There is a car park at the back which you have to pay for Monday to Saturday but is free on Sunday. Also in summer the beer patio offers great views over the stunning church to the rear of the pub.

    • Value
Thank JXXXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

thanks for the great review, very happy you enjoy the pub

regards Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Today I went to have breakfast there and for once the all the food was warm the sausages were lovely but waiter always makes a mistake this place is average but they do have very fancy men's toilets.

Thank the brick maest... k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi

what was the mistake????

regards Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I've been to many Wetherspoons before, and this one stands out as the best. Polite bar staff, attentive floor staff and an overall pleasant atmosphere.

Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Only visited the pub once and the deals were value for money however the waitress that served the food was inconsiderate. Our food that was served to us came on hot plates and was passed over our baby in the pram with no thought. I quickly put my hand over the babies face incase anything dropped and my wife collected the plate off her. My wife asked the waitress not to pass any hot plates over the baby and then immediately after the waitress passed the cutlery over the pram. I was waiting for an apology from the waitress as mistakes are made and as far as I am aware she could be new and not learnt that you should not pass hot food over babies however nothing was said. The table we were sitting at also had enough space around it to pass the food. Possibly a good place to go if you want a traditional pub meal with a drink that is cheap. Not a place for families in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danny05112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

I've spoken to the member of floor staff, who confirmed your table number, and having looked at the cctv. the member of staff places the first meal in front of the man sitting at the table, and straight away the lady reaches over the pram to take the 2nd plate off her. The pram is acting as a barricade between the staff member and the table, I'm not sure they had any alternative.

regards Steve Boddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing