We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday”
Review of Malik's

Malik's
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Malik warmly welcomes you to experience dining in his restaurant. His aim is to provide the finest food cooked to the highest standards, along with excellent wines, elegant surroundings and a wealth of atmosphere. Maliks Tandoori is Award-Winning, recognised multiple times by the British Curry Awards. These accolades are most evident in the clientele who frequent Maliks Tandoori. Both national and international celebrities from the entertainment and sporting worlds visit often to enjoy Maliks warm hospitality and their favourite dishes! The original Maliks Tandoori is in the village of Cookham on the beautiful River Thames in the heart of Berkshire. A second restaurant and a seprate takeaway is located in the upmarket and exclusive Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire. Both locations offer the same award-winning menu and warm reception that is the hallmark of the Maliks dining experience. The third restaurant branch of Maliks can be found in Marlow, Buckinghamshire.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The food was great with great flavours and and texture worth a try price was great will go back again.

Thank farhaan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Malik's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Farhaan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great birthday.

See you soon,
Maliks Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing food. Great Chefs. Lovely staff running around like there were cardiac arrests at each table. Non english speaking staff front of house. Waited an age for each course. As ever greedy bosses maximising profit over service. Great product ruined. Dont go if you want to relax and enjoy your self. Head of service saved day by taking money off bill. Lets hope he isnt sacked!!

2  Thank SD202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Malik's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Maliks has a great reputation for food and service.
If you are not happy with something, our Manager is happy to help you.

Regards
Maliks Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We were seated at our table at 8pm. The poppadoms arrived fairly promptly, but then it all went downhill. Staff were nowhere to be seen, so we had to go to the front desk 3 times, to chase up our drinks and then our food. When a waiter finally appeared we asked about our order - he just gave us a 'thumbs up' which we took to mean we would be served shortly. Totally frustrated at 9.40pm we told the Manager that if we were not served within the next 10 minutes we would be leaving! 5 mins later the food eventually arrived! When the bill arrived it included a £12 service charge. Well we got that taken off straight away and also half of the drinks bill. It was very busy, and loads of people were complaining. It's a shame because the food was good and the decor very tasteful. But the service and attitude we experienced was shocking. Hence we will not be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Malik's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Sandy,

I am sorry that you were not happy with your experience. Our team is here to look after you and I am glad you informed the Manager.
Unfortunately, due to busy periods, service and food can get delayed. Please accept our apology and we hope to provide you with a much better experience in the future.

Regards,
Maliks Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Table for 4, seated at 8pm.

1 hour 45 mins wait for food to arrive.

Had to go to counter to chase staff 3 times, even for drinks.

Bill arrives with service added!!!!

Spoilt family occasion won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 2109MJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Malik's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were not satisfied. Our team and Manager is there to look after you. I am not sure of the details of why you encountered a delay. We always urge customers to talk to the Manager for any problems, the Manager will always look to resolve any issues.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Maliks Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Visited for the first time on Sat evening.
There is no front of house area or staff to formally greet customers, therefore a lot of customers stood around by the bar, waiting to be greeted & taken to their table, rather chaotic really.
When we were finally acknowledged, it was quite abrupt not at all friendly or welcoming. The couple in front of us were ignored, I had to point out that they were waiting before we were!
No one offered to take our heavy coats & when the waiter did come to seat us, it was very rushed and again rather abrupt.
We ordered our drinks, our bottle of water was just plonked on the table, not even opened let alone poured. Our glasses of pinot grigio arrived with loads of ice, no idea why - we did not request ice!
My husband later ordered a beer, which again was heavily plonked on the table with no glass. We tried to grab the attention (to get a glass) of a guy (wearing all black) who had previously been re-setting tables - not sure what his job role was as he simply just put his hand up to us, extremely rude! We gave up on getting a glass.
Our food was very nice, but everything was rushed with no friendliness,smiles or senserity.
We had to ask twice for the bill, the girl who we asked first, just said "Yep" and carried on re-setting tables. It seems the staff wearing all black can no do anything else other than re set tables!
Our bill was hand written & not readable, not at all expected for the calibre this restaurant are trying to portray.
The decor furnishings are very tasteful, prices are fair & food is good but this restaurant is extremely let down by it's highly unprofessional, rude & unwelcoming staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Yorksgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalam A, Manager at Malik's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry that you were not satisfied. I will pass your feedback to our Manager to look into.
We are very busy on occasions, however we still expect the team to deliver great service.

I hope you have a much better experience next time,

Maliks Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malik's also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
 

Been to Malik's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing