We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pub”

The Elephant And Castle
Ranked #40 of 74 Restaurants in Amersham
Price range: USD 13 - USD 37
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Refurbished 17th-century pub with log fires and a walled garden, a comfort food menu and live music.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love this pub! One of the best in amersham, really lovely atmosphere. The staff are even better! Love the manager Lee and amazing bar man Harry, really friendly and welcoming every time I’ve been here. Favourite pub in amersham!!

Thank emilybaker315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M, General Manager at The Elephant And Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Glad you are enjoying the pub and staff such as harry are looking after you . I will make sure he reads your kind words . Im confident the rest of the team would offer you a similar welcome so we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

After being let down last minute by another pub for our family Easter meal, we visited the Elephant and Castle in hope of a saviour. We weren’t let down, Lee the manager, bent over backwards to accommodate us, was friendly and more than happy to welcome us into his pub. We ended up having a lovely meal in a great atmosphere. I took a look around the pub, the garden looked wonderful and we will certainly be back as soon as the sun comes out. Can’t recommend enough!

Thank Travellingworld101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M, General Manager at The Elephant And Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Abbs

Thanks for your review , i remember you coming into the pub in a bit of a fluster so glad i could move things about a bit and fit you all in despite no booking on easter sunday . Its always nice to hear when myself and the team have met and exceeded customer expectations so i will ensure they are all aware of your review . We are glad we saved your day !

The garden certainly will be a nice space in the summer with good weather ! We also have plans for the royal wedding and the world cup so look forward to seeing you again in the future . However i would advise you call us in advance so we can ensure you have a table reservation in busy times

Thanks again

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a shame, this used to be a lovely pub to drink in but since the new manager Lee has arrived I don’t feel welcome at all. There’s signs dotted around the pub telling to not do this, nor do that. Lee is very rude and not welcoming at all. The other bar staff are absolutely lovely but unfortunately the management is appalling. Will not be returning to my ‘local’.

Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M, General Manager at The Elephant And Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Amber ,

Im afraid that when you have been asked to leave another pub in Amersham then we wont serve you as a part of the local pub watch scheme.

My apologies

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Hi things have greatly improved since lee has taken over . And have always found him helpful , He still has his great staff like harry and nenana who are always friendly and welcoming Food and drinks are good and value for money . And that also tells you buy how popular it has become . Worth a visit please don't eat all the lovely roast they do on sundays as i will not any

2  Thank daveBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M, General Manager at The Elephant And Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dave

Thanks taking the time to post such a nice review . We are all glad that you are enjoying the pub these days and we hope to maintain this over time

Thanks for your comments regarding our roast beef on Sunday ( ill let the chef know of your review ) , it is quite popular so I would advice you to call us ahead of your next visit if coming in late on a Sunday and ill make sure you have one waiting for you !

Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

From the moment I stepped into the Elephant and castle everything was relaxed and traditional. The welcome was a pleasant smile and a cheerful "hello, can I help?" the service was pleasant. I ordered a very English roast beef with vegetables and of course Yorkshire Pudding. Roast Beef can be so good but so easily ruined. This was perfect. Enjoyed with a good pint. How very English! Amersham is also very English with the Elephant & Castle right in the heart. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elephant And Castle also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Elephant And Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing