We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cakes and drinks”
Review of Priory House

Priory House
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Dunstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Thirteenth century grade 2* listed building incorporating TIC, tea rooms & gift shop situated in the beautiful Priory Gardens. Our award winning tea rooms are the only ones in Bedfordshire to be a member of the prestigious Tea Guild. After being a member for only twelve months we have achieved an Award of Excellence. The fully licensed Priory House Tea Rooms offer a range of hot meals, paninis, ciabattas, sandwiches, baguettes, wraps, cakes, cream teas, pastries and the Bedfordshire Clanger!! Speciality coffee and a range of herbal and flavoured teas are also available.
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We went to visit Santa and we did some crafts which was fun after we went to the tea room we had some fruit cake which was lovely we had 2 tea's and 2 milks was yum thank's a lot!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Jack

Thank you for taking the time to review Priory House Tea Rooms following your resent visit, which coincided with our annual Christmas Cracker event. It's lovely to hear from you and how much you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for choosing Priory House Tea Rooms and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2015

We have visited the tea rooms on the Priory House in Dunstable many times, I have always enjoyed the warm welcome from the friendly staff and looked forward to the good food severed in a wonderful surrounding.

This multi purpose facility has a visitor centre, information office and gift shop, the well informed staff can all give you brief history of time in Dunstable.

Well worth a visit if your in Dunstable and at the rear of the tea rooms is the ancient Priory Church and the very pleasant Priory House Gardens, ideal for a picnic.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeclanDuggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Declan

Thank you for your recent review of Priory House Tea Rooms. It's fantastic to hear how much our returning customers like us. We hope that you'll keep returning, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We were aware that the Tea Rooms did snacks but had no idea as to the extent of facilities until I was gifted some vouchers and we enjoyed high tea with Prosecco. The service was excellent and the friendliness was so lovely. Have been there since for tea and coffee breaks not to mention delicious light lunches. Cannot resist the smoked salmon and scrambled egg! Oh - and a not-to-be missed gift shop with carefully chosen Dunstable-related memorabilia.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear Eileen

Thank you for taking the time to review Priory House Tea Rooms and to rate us so highly. We are very pleased to hear from our customers, and are thrilled to learn that you are a very satisfied seasoned customer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

What a wonder afternoon tea myself and my Grandma had this afternoon. The staff we're very attentive and couldn't do more for us. The choice of teas was brilliant, in fact I think we tried most of them! There was so much food we ended up bring some home! We even had a lovely Christmas theme to our Afternoon tea with both the food and table decorations. Amazing value for money. The perfect pre-Christmas present for my Gran.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Dear Charlotte

Thank you for taking the time to review Priory House Tea Rooms following your visit this weekend with your Grandma for our special Christmas Afternoon Tea. The team are thrilled to receive such a positive review on all aspects of your visit. We very much hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I ordered caramelised onion and brie quiche with salad, my wife ordered sausages with rustic chips. In both cases the descriptions were misleading. The salad was paltry, more of a garnish than a side salad, with one sliver of tomato, two or three red onion pieces, and three small little gem lettuce leaves plus some extra green which wasn't fresh or edible. My wife's rustic chips were very disappointing - they were greasy, soggy and there was nothing rustic about them. The sausages, labelled as locally sourced, were probably from a local supermarket and not the best quality. Your afternoon teas may be award winning, but these lunches were very poor and were not value for money. Stick to teas and cakes and stop giving fancy names to very basic food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 738annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrioryHouseManager, Manager at Priory House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

I am sorry to hear how disappointed you and your wife were following your recent visit to Priory House Tea Rooms. I apologise if you think the description of the quiche with salad and coleslaw is a bit misleading; this is the first complaint we have received about our menu description.

I can confirm that our sausages are locally sourced (something which is important to us), they come from Harpers Foods, near Slip End (about 5/10 minutes away). Again this is the first complaint received about the quality of our sausages, but will pass this on to our supplier. I have noted however, that sausages and chips is not on our menu; and that what you have failed to say in your review, is that despite this being the case the team in the kitchen were happy to meet your request to cook something not on our menu. It could be argued that this act in itself, is good customer service.

Once again, we are sorry that our efforts did not match your expectation, and your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Priory House also viewed

 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Priory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing