We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
290
69
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
69
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple cruise ship fish in town dive shop owners and staff dive master hammocks nature reef paradise mexico diving beach mangroves ocean yucatan
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

If you want to dive around Mahahual, this is definitely the place you have to go!
In this hotel, besides very nice beach cabans and a. very good restaurant, you will find Luis's dive shop, a very cosy caban right on the beach.
I strongly recommend Luis Amezcua as a dive master. He is THE MAN to meet if you are looking for adventure, amazing dive and live incredible experience in Mexico.
As a beginner, he will provide you strong basis in diving, with a lot of professionalism and safety. He is always so good at explaining things and gives a lot of attention to his divers, sharing all his passion for diving. If you are an advanced diver, Luis will take you to all the good spots he knows. And he knows everyone and everything about the place.
I can guarantee you are gonna spend some amazing time with him.
He knows all the good dive spots around Mahahual and can arrange you trips to Banco Chinchorro, Xcalak or Laguna Bacalar among others.
As a professional guide for natural protected areas, Luis is very involved in ecotourism and protection of the ocean.
His has a high-quality material and does not take more than four divers at the same time.
He is a very friendly man and has a lot of positive energy.
In summary, he is the guy to meet to light up your holidays in Mahahual!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iannis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Stayed for a week with 2 kids who were 9 and 11. I was impressed with everything at the Maya Luna. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well as being patient with our poor Spanish. The owners were there most days and very helpful. The price is very reasonable for what you get. Accommodation on the beach with breakfast included for the entire family. The food is quite good at a reasonable rate. The accomodations are kind of basic but if you are the kind of person that can live without AC and all the luxuries this is a great option.

The best part is it is very quiet and you can get away from it all.

If you are going to stay in Mahahual I would say the Maya Luna is a very good option. Don't stay in town as the cruise ships are the almost everyday and the infrastructure of Mahahaul can't handle all the people.

We also dove with the dive shop that is one the premise and it was one of the best dive experiences we have had. Luis was a great Dive master / instructor and would highly recommend him. He does not deal with cruise ship clientele so you get a great personal experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travel197621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Wish I would have read the review I am about to write before I stayed! Really had high hopes for this place as a way to escape the crowded Yucatan beaches, but there are real tradeoffs if you stay here.
Pros: Away from town but not difficult to travel back and forth by car, privacy of having your own bungalow and a beach lounge. Free use of kayaks (but not in good condition).
Cons: Beach not as expected--small sandy area and the sand was thin with a lot of grass growing through. Couldn't walk up or down the shore as there was too much vegetation. If you are looking for a long sandy beach this is not it. Water was not inviting for swimming or wading. The color is brownish and off-putting, though this is allegedly due to tannins from the mangroves in the area and not harmful, it's just not that pretty blue water you might be looking for. Also, there is a good bit of vegetation and "stuff" underfoot as you wade out, not the smooth sandy bottom of more desirable beaches. To swim you will have to wade a good way out, but there is a reef that you can't go past.
We ended up going farther south to more sandy beaches with gentle breakers. These were uncrowded but there is also a lot of seaweed and plastic debris washed up in areas that aren't maintained.
Bottom line, if you like to lounge and read, have a drink, take a nap, enjoy your privacy, you could be happy here. If you want a pretty beach and places to walk, you might be disappointed, as we were. Restaurant: It was just OK. We ate there one night out of 5 and didn't feel it was a great value or worth repeating. Rooms: Could use more lighting but they are solar with generators, so that might be why they keep it dim. Our door lock was pretty much worthless, and represented the overall condition of the place--kinda shabby. They do keep the rooms clean however. Oh, and the wifi is very spotty.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Loran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Owner at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We are sorry you're stay with us wasn't what you expected it to be. Pictures and videos on our website and of this part of the Costa Maya could have shown you in advance that the beaches in this area have indeed a lot of vegetation.
Maya Luna is in an environmental protected area. The ocean at the time of your stay had lots of distinct colors, colors of blue, green and at the shore in reddish. Behind our hotel there is growing a lot of mangrove and the roots of the mangroves color the water red. After heavy rains (we had a “late” rain season) the water rises and floats into the ocean. This mangrove water has a lot of nutrition hence there is a lot of fish and an enormous amount of different kind of birds fishing there. Quiet a spectacle if you love nature. (For wide beaches without vegetation people might be better off in Cancun although all the beaches at the hotel zone of Cancun are artificial…but you won’t be bothered by vegetation nor by red water because they have cut nearly all the mangrove in order to build hotels.)
At 400 meters in front of Maya Luna passes the second biggest reef alive in the world, the Meso American barrier reef. This, for some, is part of the attraction. We are sorry that the location of the reef was too close to the shore and that you could not swim out as much a you wanted to.
It is true that the menu of our restaurant is not especially vegan friendly. We adapted one dishe for your special wishes but if you take out some of the ingredients it doesn't add up to the real taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

food is simply marvelous !
you don't have to go to Mahahual for lunch and dinner!
go snorkeling and fishing and eat what you fish ( Barracuda) . they will cook them!
the hotel is calm and charming with individuals bungalows

Room tip: the road is really bad to go to the hotel
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phereng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The host was very helpful and the bartender was also a very nice guy. Their pineapple specialty is delicious as is their seafood curry! If you're going there at dinner time don't forget to bring bug spray!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank basr527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews