We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Justa and Albert were wonderful. After arriving, stressed out due to my ATM card being cut off, Justa and Albert took care of me and helped me contact my bank to get my card turned back on (long story short). This is not as easy as it sounds, due to the remote location and lack of proper ATM/banks in the area and difficult internet/phone connections. The food was amazing. The service was great. The location was perfect. Everyday I kayaked out to the reef and snorkeled, having the whole barrier reef to myself. This place is off the grid and they are self-reliant as far as energy (solar) and water (rain water) goes. Purified water is provided in the rooms. Staying here easily added a year to my life. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: It is impossible to get a bad room here.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Travel In is 6KM far away of the village, there is no television, energy comes completely from wind and sun, the water to be used provides the rain, the abandoned beach is naturally full of sea grass and there are animals like dogs, cats and chicken. if thats okay with you then continue reading this. if not, choose another place.
the breakfast is one of the best we had in M., the room was comfortable, clean and a lot of specials like coffee, hammock, a lot of National Geographics to read, books, hot water at any time and snorkeling equipment for free. you can use the kajak and the bike for free as well. coconut trees are all around you. a taxi drive to the city is 60mx or if the owner goes anyway, you can get a ride for free. the owner knows half of town and whatever you need, they can arrange it.

All in all very relaxing! you should do it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KaiKaisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visiting Mahahual for a couple of days, we stayed at our favorite place again, but this time in the new Hide Away, next to the Guest House where we have had pleasant stays before.
We love this new little house in the mangroves...clean, airy but still protected from the strong wind that is blowing on the beach and colorfully decorated. There is a fan which we didn't even have to use despite the heat. It is nestled at the edge of the mangroves in their tropical lush garden, which is a piece of paradise, just beautiful and well taken care of.
The Hide Away comes with access to your private bathroom with shower which is just a 10 meter stroll through the lovely garden.
The bed is really comfortable, and even that there is a guesthouse and a restaurant on the same property, you have plenty of privacy. The food at their restaurant in the evening was as always delicious. Warm atmosphere, nice people and off the beaten track. Excellent! We'll be back and hopefully next time we'll catch a glimpse of the famous night heron.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Okay to be fair I never stayed here but I did spend a couple of hours hanging around here having dinner. So while I was hanging around the owner showed me the guest house. I would for sure stay here for a few days. The room is very cool with plenty of space, the price is 650mx. The drive is about 20 minutes with the present road conditions but the owner stated that he is hopeful that the road will soon be graded, then the drive will be about 5 minutes. There is a small natural beach across the road. It needs some TLC to be a comfortable spot to spend the day.

As a side note they are open in the evenings for dinner, we had stuffed peppers and swarmi, delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews