We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent tour w Hugo

Just returned from our chacchobean ruin tour! It was a very informative and good paced tour for our... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Jersey_Jet_Setter
,
Annandale, New Jersey
via mobile
Mayan ruins tour guides Eric

I highly recommend this company. Eric our tour guide was beyond the greatest, very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Trip202736
,
Fowlerville, Michigan
Read all 2,399 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mahahual
from USD 96.99
More Info
from USD 96.99
More Info
from USD 61.99
More Info
Reviews (2,399)
Filter reviews
2,399 results
Traveller rating
2,219
133
26
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,219
133
26
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mayan experience tour extreme tour chacchoben ruins mayan culture tortillas pineapple great tour bacalar lagoon resort mayan family seven color lagoon cruise ship costa maya tortilla making cold water hibiscus tea booked this tour mayan home
Filter
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 2,399 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Casey was a wonderful guide. She grew up in a town nearby and gave us a great tour and history of the area. You can tell she is passionate about this place. There wasn't quite enough time to shop. The pineapple the bus stopped for tasted unlike any pineapple I have ever had. It was more orange in color and not bitter at all. I could have eaten a bag all by myself! This tour was wonderful and we saved a lot of money by not booking this through our cruise line. We had time to take a taxi to the beach after this tour returned. It was a great day!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Great trip to the Mayan ruins. Our tour group was small and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Would highly recommend this company!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank shammrock02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is the best shore excursion I've ever been on! It was booked through my travel agent - not the cruise lines. It's a short walk to the tour buses, but totally safe. The tour guides and driver were fabulous and you really get a feel for what the Mayan culture was, and still is, like. The ruins are relatively newly excavated and not as touristy as Tulum or Chichen Itza, but beautiful and fascinating. The best part was the lunch with a Mayan woman and her two daughters in their home. They grow their own food, right down to the spices and herbs and even the black beans and banana trees. We got to smell allspice, cinnamon and other spice leaves plucked right off the tree. The food was fantastic - traditional chicken cooked in banana leaves, homemade hibiscus tea, steamed mixed vegetables right from the garden, traditional Mayan salsa made with pumpkin seeds and put on a tortilla that we learned to make ourselves, and much more. They also have a few pieces of traditional Mayan textiles that they made which are exceptionally lovely. What a day!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

On a day when two huge cruise ships pulled into Costa Maya, Native Choice provided a premium and amazingly intimate tour of the Chocchoben ruins. The tour started with a great little presentation given on their new and very comfortable vans about the local area, Mayan culture and history, and modern life in the Mahahual area. Our small group 8 people and two guides then toured the temples and plazas, and were given a delicious private lunch at a local family-operated restaurant (the "big pineapple" - fantastic fresh pineapple juice!). We then got to visit a private beach on the nearby lagoon, spent a couple of hours eating and drinking appetizers and pina coladas, swimming and canoeing. A great day, perfect in every way.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank maturinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We chose The Native Choice from Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We did a Chacchoben Ruins Tour after docking at Costa Maya. Unfortunately the company cannot pick up at the port but don't let that dissuade you. My husband was wondering where I was leading him as it all seemed a little sketchy but we were never in harms way ... just follow the directions they provide to their building. With our guide Enrique and our driver Abel we were in great hands. Enrique spoke great English and was extremely knowledgeable. Not to mention the ruins were fascinating. There was a lot of walking and some climbing but it was very manageable. Abel kept us supplied with water which was very appreciated as it was very hot & humid. A great way to explore Mahahual and Chaccoben!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews