We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing HOME, GREAT food and best beach in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan T
Cranbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing HOME, GREAT food and best beach in the area”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This house lives like a home! The service provided by Mirna and her husband in cooking and cleaning should not be missed! I wanted to bring Mirna home with me. I have never had a vacation where I looked forward to the meals as much as this other than when I went to Italian Cooking School! The value of having the meals at home is incredible. We walked the beach every day and felt that our location was the best actual beach/sand in the bay area. We had Mirna cook a late breakfast and an earlier dinner and snacked at lunch. You can pre-order groceries to be delivered to the house. There is a man- Cesar, who you can arrange to pick you up at the airport and drop you, which I highly recommend. It's not a bad walk on the beach to town if you need to pick up extras at the grocery. The house is well thought out for privacy and sound. Pick up your alcohol needs on the way from the airport and you're set! I will go back to this house in a heartbeat. Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mirna's food!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzrandazz...
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Wonderful Villa”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Took a trip with several friends who wanted to get away from the snow in the Midwest. Akumal Breakers was a wonderful get away. The villa is right on the beach, well equipped and very comfortable. The weather was a little cool, but since the days were sunny, we didn't mind. It was a good time.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I remember all of my family walking in Akumal Breadkers and it was like Christmas morning. We were all like little kids walking around saying WOW! "Hay come over here and check this out!" etc. We chose Akumal Breakers, over a condo thinking it would be better with small kids (4 yr. old & 2 yr. old). It was perfect so much more kid friendly. Do not think I will ever want to go back to Mexico unless I'm staying at Akumal Breakers and there is so much to do and see, that we didn't have time to get too! Love the little town of Akumal, also. Thanks, Micheal & Lunda for sharing your place with us.
Blessings to both of you,
Bruce, Anne, Jennifer, Nic, Kristin, Kelly, Clare & Abby

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Beach
Liked least: Time to get there from Cancun
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flanaganm...
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation Perfection!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Akumal Breakers is a fantastic home in a truly amazing, laid-back beach location. Already looking forward to another visit as I watch snow fall in Buffalo, NY. Our family of eight relaxed completely for the entire week of our stay over Christmas 2015. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and ocean, sunning on the peaceful beach, sitting on comfy beachfront adirondack chairs tucked under the mangroves, snorkeling just off our beach and spotting stingrays and brightly colored fish, trying out the kayaks and SUPs, dining outside by the pool or walking on the beach to Akumal for several great dinners. Everything about the home was even better than described. Bedrooms immaculate, spacious, and comfortable. Bathrooms luxurious and modern. Kitchen and bar area well equipped, with potable water and ice supplied for drinking and cooking. Plenty of gathering space inside and out for dining, playing games, watching the waves, chatting, reading, and napping. Outdoor shower was also a big hit!
What really set this home apart was the attentive and excellent service provided by the owners and by Mirna and Luis, the incredible on-site caretakers. From our first inquiry, the owners were so pleasant, providing all the information we needed, handling reservation process professionally, and speaking knowledgeably and lovingly about the home and the Akumal area. Mirna and Luis work very hard and keep the house and grounds immaculately clean; they anticipated our needs and everything we could have needed or wanted was provided without us having to ask! Amazing! Mirna and Luis are true professionals, very kind, and, as an incredible bonus, wonderful cooks and massage therapists!! We loved the two dinners Mirna and Luis cooked and served- don't miss out on Mirna's Pork Pibil- delicious! The owners provide a menu guide to choose meals and outline the very reasonable charges for shopping and preparation. There's also a form to specify what services your family would like for the week, at times that are convenient for you, so if you want to sleep in or want dinner at a certain time, it's easy to let Mirna and Luis know. Mirna and Luis speak some English and our sons speak Spanish, and Mirna was very patient with my limited language skills! (The owners also provide a list of Spanish phrases and an English/Spanish dictionary ) Don't miss beachside couples massages! Vacation perfection!! Thank you for sharing your home with our family!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: immaculate home, fantastic service, just steps to amazing, quiet beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnL721
Okemos, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Too Good To Be True”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time our family has rented a home on the beach with a swimming pool. It could not have been better. There was space for everyone - ages ranging from 6 to 65! We have Mirna and Luis prepare 6 meals for us and it was worth every penny. We chose 2 nights in a row for meals as Mirna shops for the meals and there is a charge for the shopping. So we had two meals prepared by them and then we prepared two of our own meals. Having them cook for us really made this a vacation for all of us. Both Mirna and Luis did an exceptional job of keeping the home and outside tidied up for us and we barely knew they were there. We had a full moon while we were there and the rooftop terrace was exceptional for that. The wifi worked great and Lunda has really thought of everything and she was always there for me when I had a question. I imagine we will rent it again for another family Thanksgiving. THANKS SO MUCH!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: From Start to Finish it was an excellent family vacation for all of us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing