We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,393)
Filter reviews
3,393 results
Traveller rating
1,902
877
373
153
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,902
877
373
153
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs the salt water pool fish colonial pool el dorado punta emilia a la carte restaurants travel club adult pool one bedroom suite beach bar colonial buffet kids club riviera section segway tour colonial kantenah pirate show
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 3,393 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I went to Mexico with my Husband and 2 kids (4 and almost 7). We checked in earlier than anticipated as we left on an earlier flight. We used a private shuttle booked through the hotel called Destination Services. While they were impossible to get a hold of, somehow, they picked us up within 20 minutes of our earlier flight. We got to the hotel in just over an hour. During check-in, the kids were given juice and cookies, and we were given juice as well. We checked in pretty quickly (we got there 2 days before high season), and then left our luggage to go eat, and get on the beach.

The first day we ate at the beach bar on the White Sand side, and then had dinner at La Lola. It was one of our favorite meals there. The tapas were so yummy. Our room was gorgeous (1 bedroom suite, Building 56- room 5631). We loved the beach, though swam over on the Kantenah side, and even saw fish in the ocean with us. We also loved the pools. We mostly spent our time at the Colonial, and in the future, would stay there as that is the more lively side.

Each day we had breakfast at the buffet at White Sands. Amazing. Best buffet food I have ever had. We also loved lunch there, though usually ate at the beach bar or buffet at the colonial.

We also ate dinner at the steakhouse El Dorado (meh), the Brazilian Steakhouse (yummy), the Hibachi and the regular table at the Hibachi (both yum, but preferred the regular table food), and Punta Emilia or Poseidon (they use both names- and it was not good).

Overall, this resort is 5 stars. The nightly entertainment was awesome, the kids shows were fun, the extras like hotdogs, and ices, and cotton candy were fun. We also found popcorn at the sports bar, which my kids loved to eat during the shows.

Was there seaweed on the beach? YES, but it is a natural occurrence of nature. We just stepped over it and went in the ocean. We didn’t use water shoes, and just navigated some of the coral-y parts slowly.

We didn’t use the kids club nearly as much as I thought we would, but when we did, the kids loved it. My daughter was even in a production of High School Musical.

We would definitely return, and really recommend this hotel to any family! I also recommend Xcaret and the dinner show, as the food was amazing and the show fascinating.

Date of stay: March 2018
2  Thank snoopy5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear snoopy5512,

Thank you for choosing Grand Palladium White Sand as host for your family vacation and for taking the time to share with us your incredible review; we truly appreciate your confidence in choosing us to live this amazing family vacation in the Caribbean.

It is fantastic knowing that you enjoyed the comfort and great location of your room, the beauty of our pool and our beach despite the seaweed which we clean every day, along with the fabulous entertainment that you could find in the shows at Colonial.

We are thrilled that you plan on coming again, and that you will be choosing to stay in our Grand Palladium Colonial, that is a great location close to all the fun children areas so your kids can enjoy them;

Once more, we appreciate you recommending our Hotel to other families, we truly look forward seeing and serving you again.

We send you our best regards to Virginia!

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Not only was the resort itself incredible but the staff we had were amazing. Our morning ritual was to enjoy a coffee at the outdoor bar overlooking the beach. There, Kristmark looked after us with a friendly smile, attention to detail by adding a small plate of pastry or cookies with our coffees and a courteous demeanour when responding to our many questions.
Erik and Oscar our butlers, showed a genuine concern for my wife when she was sick for a day by telling us that they would get whatever we needed for her to feel better. Thank you so much you guys for the prompt service,
Nicole was our room attendant! The room was perfect every time.
You can have the nicest hotel on the most beautiful beach in the world but if the people working there don't put their heart into it, it's just doesn't feel the same or have that personal touch that makes you want to come back. These three make us want to come back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank CatharineR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Catharine,

Thank you for writing this beautiful comment from your heart, we were honored to welcome you in our Hotel TRS Yucatán and we appreciate your kind words to describe our incredible facilities.

As you well said, the genuine service offered by our staff is what really sets us apart from the competition and your words give us the motivation necessary to continue earning a special place in the hearts of all our guests.

We appreciate that you took the time to referring to Kristmark, Erik, and Oscar, proud members of our TRS family, we will give them an individual recognition, so that they know the positive impact they made on your holidays, as we know that this will mean a lot to them.

We feel thrilled knowing that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Grand Palladium White Sands is a resort for people who like a lot of choice. You can use everything at the Grand Palladium Kantenah and Colonial resorts which make for a lot if choice. When you get there it will seem overwhelmingly huge, but when you figure it out getting around is easy. They also have people in gold carts that are constantly moving around and will pick you up if you don't feel like walking.
The rooms are nice, we had the junior suite. We checked out upgrading, but found it unnecessary as the room was large and nicely appointed.
The best part of the experience though were the people working there. They were amazing, always helpful, always checking on your needs and everyone you walk past is smiling and greeting you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BillM302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Bill,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your vacation, it was an honor welcoming you in our Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.

All this great team feels grateful and motivated to read your words, it is comforting to know that everything you experienced during your stay with us could be within reach of what you would have expected, especially the genuine hospitality that you received from our wonderful staff.

When you decide to visit us again we will be here, in this beautiful paradise, happy to welcome you with lots of smiles and to offer you the best attentions!!

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We went to the Grand Palladium Colonial years ago and stayed in a regular room. While there, I noticed the very cool looking rooms in the White Sands section. So this year, when looking for a place in Riviera Maya, I researched some more. We ended up booking a Mayan Suite through TripAdvisors booking partner GetaRoom. i was a little nervous because the rate seemed too good to be true. I had nothing to worry about. When we arrived, our booking was in order. They offered us an upgrade to the Royal Suites area but I had my heart set on the Mayan Suite on the water. I'm so glad we kept our original room. The Suite was beautiful. We had our own little balcony with a a couple of lounge options, as well as a hammock which my husband enjoyed immensely. It was a very relaxing place to spend our mornings before we headed to the pool.

We spent nearly all of our time at the small pool at White Sands. It was very uncrowded and we had incredible poolside service from Antonio all week. I never had to get up to get a drink because he made the rounds about every 15 minutes. We did tip but the people who weren't tipping got the same good service that we did.

The evening ala carte restaurants were all pretty good. The only one we didn't enjoy was the Ribs and More. The food just wasn't that great. We also ate at the beach fish and rice restaurant, Thai, Japanese, Spanish and Steak restaurants. We ate pretty early (before 7pm) so never had trouble getting a table right away. After 7pm the restaurants really filled up and large groups waited a long time. The no reservations system can be a blessing and a curse I think. There was at least one restaurant closed each night, and this isn't advertised. Once we figured that out, we would ask the concierge for the next couple days' closures so we could plan where we wanted to go. The buffet restaurants were pretty typical for all-inclusive. We ate at the White Sands buffet each day for breakfast and lunch.

The grounds on this property are absolutely beautiful. The service is friendly and the beaches well tended. They do have lots of seaweed which is cleaned each morning. I have been to Riviera Maya several times and I would definitely go back to White Sands. It really was a perfect vacation.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Joy67117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Joy67117,

It was a real honor welcoming you back for the second time and in this occasion in the beautiful Mayan Suites in our Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.

You did a wonderful choice staying in this gorgeous room and we are glad that you and your husband enjoyed relaxing days by the terrace, joyful moments at La Isla pool with Antonio and delicious dining experiences in the different restaurants that you visited.

We have taken note of your impression about our Ribs & More restaurant and the advertisement for the restaurants that are closed, we will be addressing your kind remarks as soon as possible to ensure there are no further complaints of this nature.

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion and for your excellent recommendation, this means the world to us, we feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Kind regards from all the Palladium family,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

March 18-25, 2018

We found this resort through an RCI exchange. Because of this, we were put into their Travel Club which came with a concierge service. We also got a free excursion to Tulum. More on excursions below.

Weather was good. Cool in mornings (65-70 F). It did not get above 83 F. Breeze all the time

The Grand Palladium Resort & Spa is about 1 hour from Cancun Intl Airport. When we arrived at airport, it was very chaotic. There are multiple vendors trying to get you to your hotel. ADVICE: pre-book your transportation with the resort. Cost is about $65 one way. Everyone takes US$$ but they give you the price in pesos.

The resort is beautiful and quite large. There are four areas: Katenah, Colonial, White Sands, and TRS. The difference is the price. With the exception of TRS which is adults only and exclusive, you can use the amenities at all areas interchangeably. We stayed at White Sands. Colonial was the most crowded. Each has their own pools, restaurants, and beach area.

The transportation within the resort was excellent. They use carts and they were everywhere. Never had to wait more than 2 minutes. We like to walk but they would take you anywhere you wanted to go.

Room was excellent. We had a suite which had a living room with a balcony, a private bedroom with a balcony, a bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi tub and a walk in shower. It was on the second floor of a building with no elevator. So, if you can’t do stairs, I suggest you ask for a first floor. Down side was that there really is no views of the beach from anywhere on the property.

We ended up going to one of the ‘Travel Club’ talks just to get the $300 spa voucher, which really just ended up being for 1 massage as you could not use on anything else. It was your typical time share speech.

The spa was ‘ok’, not great. There were parts of it that were still not finished but the massage was good. Also, the spa people do go around and provide specials so if you are interested, suggest you ask. My husband got the ultimate massage ($264) for $110.

Pools were nice and spacious. The one at White Sands was never crowded. Beach was ok. There was lots of seaweed. Not sure if it was the time of year and weather.

Daily entertainment at the pool and nightly shows at the Colonial’s outdoor stage.

There were many a la carte restaurants and buffets. They were never crowded. BEST dinner was at Punta Emilia on the beach, excellent fish and seafood. They do have lunch here but it is a totally different menu and atmosphere for dinner. We were a little disappointed that the Spanish restaurant did not have paella. It was tapas, only. For $80 you can also attend the CHIC cabaret and dinner show at TRS. It was very nice. First there is a pre-dinner outside show with music and appetizers. Then you are escorted inside where seating is cabaret style. Dinner is French cuisine with about 6 different courses spread out throughout the show. Dancers and singers were really good.

Drinks were usual for all inclusive. They don’t put too much liquor. You can make friends with some of the bar tenders who can take care of you J

We only did two excursions but there are lots of options. Tulum is the closest ruin about ½ hour from resort. We were taken by private bus and our own guide. After, they took us to a Cenote, which is like a watering hole. They talked this up a lot but I did not find it great. It was just like a little swim hole. But… it was free.

We also went to Rio Secreto, also ½ hour away. It is a huge underwater cave nature reserve. This was awesome! I am usually claustrophobic but the area was big, clean, and the guide was excellent. The water varies in some parts it is to your shoulder and in others it is at your ankles. Never over your head.

Overall, it was an excellent vacation. I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Maria,

Thank you for this enriching review, we are happy that you enjoy your stay with us at Grand Palladium White Sand!

We trust our readers will appreciate your kind recommendations as much as we appreciate your wonderful remarks, we will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team.

We feel grateful for the good feedback regarding the comfort and beauty of your room, the dining experiences in our restaurants and when enjoying the many services and activities we have for your entertainment. Our Management will be using this valuable information to focus where we can improve.

It is really fantastic knowing that you made the most of your time, even doing some excursions outside the resort and attending our spectacular dinner show at Chic Cabaret!

Yet again, thank you for recommending us to other travelers, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews