We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We did the Sunquest Roulette 5 and found out a few days prior to our trip that we got Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. We stayed at this resort from March 16th to 23rd. I really enjoyed my stay here and liked being able to use the facilities at the two other sister resorts, Coba and Akumal. The grounds are thoroughly maintained by hard working staff, the food was quite good - I can be picky with food and didn't have problems finding something to eat at the Buffets. The pools are clean, and activity staff try their best to get you involved. Drinks were decent, if you would like it stronger just ask.. :) I liked being so close to the Hacienda market, it was about a one block walking distance away from Tulum.. and something nice to do in the evenings after dinner. I enjoyed the amount of walking in this (big) resort.. however, carts are only a few minutes wait if you're in a rush to get to dinner or have little ones travelling with you. Staff are truly hardworking and try their best to please you, sometimes it can get hectic with lots of people to serve so a little patience does go a long way - do tip here and there as well, it makes me sad seeing how many people whom don't bother with tipping.

The timeshare folks hang out at a table by the "Public Relations" area (this is true at all 3 resorts) and will try to chat you up. Just a polite 'no thanks' and keep walking will do, they aren't too aggressive. We travelled as a couple in our late 20's and noticed that these resorts are definitely great for families and older couples looking to just relax. This wouldn't be a resort for teens or college students looking for a party atmosphere 24/7.. for that, I suggest looking elsewhere.

I liked the pools in Coba and Akumal best, and I would recommend going to the beach on the Akumal side, less rocks in the water. We didn't take part in the 'towel game' and never had a problem finding a spot by the pools or beach. Also, we took the collectivo/public vans to and from Playa del Carmen for a day, it was only $3.00 USD per person and we felt very safe, taking a taxi would've cost a flat rate of $33.00 USD each way.

I took away one star due to how far the property is from the airport (1.5 hours) and from Playa del Carmen. This was our first time in Mexico, next time we travel to Mexico I think I would prefer a resort closer to Playa del Carmen as the beach there is lovely. Would consider going back to Gran Bahia Principe when and if we start a family. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,924
    3,374
    1,277
    469
    290
See reviews for
3,715
5,455
129
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is going to be a short review. First things first, make sure you wake up before 7am to get a spot at the pool and beach. For the amount of people on the resort (Tulum, Coba, Akumal - combined) there is not enough seating. The "towel game" seems to be a trend in Mexico, so set those alarms! I didn't spend much time on the beach, but I can tell you that Akumal's beach is more geared to the younger (party) crowd and typically seems more crowded. Tulum's beach is nice, however there is not much swimming in the ocean as there are large sandbags in the water. You can find a nice spot in the ocean if you look. The rooms were decent, a part from the ancient Zenith TV (a good variety of movie channels to watch as you lay in bed healing your sunburn). I stuck to the pool area in Tulum and had a great time, enjoying the music and activities from the party pool. I didn't book any a la carte's, rather stuck to the Snack Bar and Buffet at Tulum. The Tulum buffet can get repetitive and didn't seem on par with other resorts in Mexico that I have visited. If you are into junk food (and gaining weight on vacation), they have the nuggets,fries,burgers, and all other unhealthy crap that you can enjoy. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at Gran Bahia Tulum - weather was great, staff was nice... really no complaints, a part from the fact that some people need to learn how to tip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kostlivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Booked with Thomas Cook last minute, didn't bode well when arriving at Manchester airport we were informed that our 11 hour flight was going to be delayed, and would let us know how long sometime after we were meant to take off! Eventually got away 2 hours late. Arrived at the hotel after very very long day and flight, literally unpacked, showered and headed to the buffet restaurant, not expecting to have much choice at 9.00pm, but this was when we knew the holiday was going to be good. The buffet even at that late time of time was fully stocked, with the most amazing choice of food possible.
The hotel offers so much it is difficult to know where to begin! The hotel rooms are in villa style blocks each villa holding 18 rooms and these are looked after by male and female staff, Daniel looked after our room and was brilliant, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The grounds around the hotel are immaculate and well tendered by the groundstaff with lots of lovely flowers, trees and shrubs, which make the whole complex look beautiful.
The beach has lots and lots of sun loungers available and for those who prefer the poolside there are loungers around the pools too.
The hotel has lots of various options for lunch and evening meals. The poolside bar area has food for lunch which you can eat as/when you like in the patio area all very relaxed al fresco. For those who want to be indoors and cover up the swimming costumes the Brazil restaurant doubles up during the day as a buffet breakfast and lunch venue.
For evening meals we booked the Brazillian, Japenese, Fish and San Pueblo (?) gourmet restaurants and had really nice meals in them all but we actually preferred the buffet restaurant because you could just turn up early or late, just as the mood took you, and the choice of food was amazing.
Overall the staff at the hotel were extremely polite and always helpful. The weather mid February was brilliant in the early 80f and we got a lovely tan!
We didn't bother with any Thomas Cook trips because we were happy to just do nothing and soak up the rays. We did get out and about ourselves taking the local minibus which you catch at the end of the hotel access road, and went into Puerto del Carmen. We have visited this place before and it hasn't changed much in the 8 years since we last visited! Walmart have a supermarket a few blocks from the sea front if you need to stock up on sun tan lotion etc which is much cheaper than the hotel.
Our only nag and thing to moan about was the golf. The brochure stated free green fees but buggy must be hired!!! So we paid extra on the plane to take two sets of golf clubs but when we booked our first round of golf the buggy cost $90 each to hire (where else do you pay per person to hire a golf buggy)? Anyway, we felt cheated and disappointed that the hotel/golf complex were charging golf fees through the back door. Moan over!!!
Brilliant holiday and would definately go back again but minus the golf clubs and you can't say more than that!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MrandMrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It was our first trip to Mexico, and we were a bit apprehensive as it's always a bit nerve-wracking to go somewhere you've never seen other than in pictures, etc, but this resort was wonderful! Beautifully maintained grounds, excellent staff, food good too. We upgraded and stayed in the Hacienda area, which is nice as you check in/out with a separate lobby, have your own pool area, own pool bar, and a beautiful strip of beach. The beach isn't really a swimming beach (lots of coral, rocks, etc.) but fine for wading and great for sunbathing.

Be sure to avoid the timeshare people who are strategically placed by the "Public Relations" area (where you have to go to reserve your al a carte). Don't even look at them or they'll never leave you alone. Otherwise, that's the only area they are, so just avoid that spot and you'll be fine.

Entertainment in the Tulum lobby was great most nights -- excellent singer and drummer play a variety of songs. One night it was a different singer, didn't like him at all. Lots of activities by the main pool, but we never sat there -- I can sit by a pool at home so we sat at the beach.

Excellent staff, very helpful. We're definitely going back.

Room Tip: Get a Hacienda room -- only $20 a night more, you get the safe for free (usually $6 a night), and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GoldenBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I went to Mexico on a whim for March Break. The Bahia Principe Tulum property is large. You walk and or take a golf cart bus to get around the property but they pass every few minutes. All rooms seem to have some view ours looked out onto the ocean and the Dolphinarium. Very cool to watch these mammals. The property was impeccably taken care of inside and out. Everything shone and my room was spotless. The workers were very pleasant and would never pass without a smile and an "Hola" greeting. The buffets were too good, and although you get 3 à la carte dinners, they weren't my favorite meals. You may want to ask around before booking them but make it a priority as the reservations fill quickly for the better choices. Dancing at the discothèque was fun but I should warn you that some of the pool bartenders "over-serve" :) The beach isn't stellar but we could swim and snorkel, the sand was soft and the sun hot. The big waves were fun to body surf in. This is my third trip to Mexico and I was not at all dispointed in our choice this time around.

Room Tip: The resort is a ways from the airport be prepared. Pack light as we brought fun stuff home and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
9.0 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
18.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): $198 - $555
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing