We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 405
USD 152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 189
USD 184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
USD 223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort(Akumal)(Great Value!)
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 311
USD 258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
USD 296
USD 208
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 402
USD 335
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,792)
Filter reviews
5,792 results
Traveller rating
3,461
1,446
507
214
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,461
1,446
507
214
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsthe white sandsadult poolthe salt water poola la carte restaurantsfishel doradosports barmayan suitemain pooltravel clubpunta emiliajunior suitewhite partysegway tourmare nostrumriviera lobby
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 5,792 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016

by Hazels grand-daughter, age 11

This large, eco friendly, all inclusive resort is the best one I have ever been to. I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Here is an inside view of the Palladium.

ROOMS -junior suite
. Includes a bath/shower
. Decor
. Toiletries
. (sometimes) a jacuzzi
. air con
4/5

FOOD

. All inclusive
. breakfast - buffets
. lunch - buffets
. Dinner - buffets or restaurant
. Eat as much as you want
. Ice creams, drink and certain buffets open 24/7
. Breakfast with rags every once a week for the children


POOLS

. Around 5 pools
. adult pools
. kids pools
. Gold club pool
. salt water pool

ENTERTAINMENT

. evening entertainment
. kids clubs - its great! We looked after baby turtles and did many activities including going on eco tours and decorating cookies.
. black and white club (teenager)
. Spa
. evening shows
. activities ( i.e archery)
. sports centre

SEA and BEACH

. wide expanse of beach
. hammoks
. snack bars
. bars
. snorkeling, boating and other various activities
. reef
. clear, blue sea in parts which you can swim in

overall rating 5/5

RECOMMENDED

. keep the mosquito door (in your room) closed at all times

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HJB891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Room Division Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Hazel B,

First at all let me express my surprise ... i think you are one of the youngest reviewer if I´m not wrong... Thank you so much for your review on your recent holiday experience at our Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa hotel, we are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your stay among us. There is no better reward for us to read our guests’ full satisfaction on their stay at our Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa hotel.

We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable experience to you and your family, please so not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,

Lourdes Estrada
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial & Kantenah Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I recently went to Mexico for the first time for my best friend's wedding. I had high expectations for the week and Grand Palladium really delivered. The resort is clean with a lot of options for pools and activities and a pretty nice location on the ocean.
If you're the kind of personality who likes getting taken care of, this is a great option. The staff were very friendly across the board, but a special shout out to Diego, Santiago and Imelda at the Kantenah lobby bar. These 3 were hilarious to hang out with and were creative in amusing our group with special drinks and a real positive vibe (Ask Diego for the Cucaracha if you're in the mood to see something unique at the bar!)
All in all, I recommend anyone looking for a sweet getaway to give this place a shot. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rleduc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Room Division Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear rleduc2012;

There is no better reward for us to read our guests’ full satisfaction on their stay at our Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa hotel and share with your friends on their special event.

It is wonderful to read that you loved every aspect of your stay, from the beauty of the beach and beautiful wildlife around us to the food quality and variety we offer and the comfort and cleaness of our renovated rooms. We thank you for your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness are indeed one of our hotel's main strengths and we will definitely not fail congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying at our hotel.

We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable experience.

Kindest Regards,

Lourdes Estrada Santana
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this amazing hotel. Check-in was quick and easy and the desk staff were welcoming and professional. The rooms are clean and spacious and for once we had more than enough coat hangers. There is a mini bar which is re-stocked daily with water, beer and fizzy drinks and there is a coffee machine in the cupboard under the TV. The room blocks are set out as if you are in a bit of a jungle with lovely covered walkways and rustic bridges throughout the grounds. There is wildlife in abundance with iguanas all over the place, as well as lots of little furry creatures native to Mexico. We ate at Fish and Rice on the beach on our last night and a raccoon joined us. Food generally was excellent with really good selection in the buffets at breakfast and lunch... We only ate in the buffet once in the evening and It was very good. The rest of the time we ate in the a la cart restaurants which were all great... The Italian didn't have a particularly speedy service so if you're in a rush, avoid that one. The pools are great, we loved the adult pool at the colonial which felt very exclusive and we were treated with little frozen cocktails from time to time. The beach is lovely with a cooling breeze and the water is crystal clear. We did a Segway tour around the complex which was really good fun and Hugo was very entertaining. We didn't see any of the hotel entertainment so can't comment on that. The complex is so massive that we know we only experienced a fraction of it. It didn't feel busy and we could get sunbeds easily without having to get up at silly o'clock to secure a place. We all can't wait to go back to this hotel and would recommend for families and couples alike as there really is something for everyone.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sarahjoeandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Room Division Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Sarahjoeandjoe;

We really appreciate your wonderful review on your recent holiday experience at our Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa hotel.

We would like to express our gratitude for your words towards our staff, their genuine kindness and commitment to ensure that our guests are fully enjoying their stay with us, it is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Thank you for your punctual reference to our services and areas.

It is wonderful to read that you loved every aspect of your stay, from the great location of our complex to the beauty of our beach.

We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable experience.

Kindest Regards,

Lourdes Estrada
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial & Kantenah Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This is a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to anyone. We really don't have a bad word to say about it and we will definitely be returning. It is a huge resort and it is run efficiently by friendly staff, who are a credit to the organisation. The grounds were immaculate, and our room was large, clean and comfortable. If you want a child free holiday you can find quiet relaxing adults only pools, and at night there are some child free bars. We didn't really have any bad meals while we were here, (although some were better than others).....hence the weight gain! There are 10 a la carte restaurants, and only 2 have to be pre booked, the Japanese and Seafood (you can just walk into the Japanese if you don't want the show table). They allocate one a la carte restaurant to be 'adults only' on a rota basis throughout the week. There are three buffet restauants that were also good. Our only niggle was that we had to bother the staff for 'very hot water' in order to get more than a luke warm cup of coffee at breakfast. If you are travelling with children there appeared to be a good activities programme both day and night, and the childrens pool had lots of slides and things to keep them entertained. The main pool has a swim up bar and that's where the entertainment staff hang out, so can be quite loud and rowdy. We chose to spend our time at the relaxing and quiet secret pool (adults only) which has the most amazing barman called Carlos who kept us all refreshed, entertained and a little bit tipsy. We're not usually the type to name drop staff in these reviews but he really does deserve a special mention. We had a perfect and relaxing time at this hotel and made some good (if not a little crazy) friends. On an evening the Collonial lobby was definitely the more lively with live music and dancing. If you're looking for something more sedate then the Hemmingway bar at the Kantanah lobby serves good coffee and branded spirits in a cool and quite atmosphere with a pianist. There are a lot of wildlife roaming around the grounds, but they leave you alone if you don't encourage them. We were a little sad about the caged crocodiles at the hotel which looked miserable and we thought should have been in bigger housing with more water. However, we were assured that they were looked after by biologists. We would recommend taking a Segway tour around the grounds in the first few days to get your bearings. It's easier than it looks and great fun. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Room Division Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Gina D,

We want to thank you for your preference in selecting our Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa hotel for your holidays as well as for taking the time to tell us about your stay as this will help us to know how to improve our services and offer splendid holiday experiences to all our guests.

We are very glad to surpass your expectations in terms of cleanliness and facilities of our Resort. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, I assure you that crocodiles are well served by biologists and we usually have audits by animals protection institutions to prove that.
We know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable holiday experience.

Best regards

Lourdes Estrada Santana
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place. It's huge! Our room was a double de luxe and it was very large with balcony overlooking the jungle where we could watch the wildlife. The bed was massive and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Couldn't fault the cleanliness or excellent maintenance of place. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. However. Food was a problem for me as a vegetarian who can't eat raw fruit or veg. Despite the many restaurants with the exception of the Italian they have no concept of vegetarian. Even the vegetable soup tasted of ham. The vegetable noodles had prawns in. Every al a carte restaurant had three vegetarian options. Joke. I ordered spinach and mushroom starter. I received a plate of the finest chopped fruit and veg without a mushroom or spinach leaf in sight. For main I ordered vegetable au gratin. I received six slices of thin courgette stacked with four thin slices of tomato. And avoid the food in the beach bar as the birds fly in and help themselves from the buffet. From the beach we booked to snorkel with turtles. What an experience. It was amazing. As a nervous swimmer I was well looked after by the crew and saw half a dozen turtles in their own environment and a sting ray as well as numerous fish.
I would definitely go back

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Room Division Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Karen D;

It is wonderful to read that you loved every aspect of your stay thank you for choosing us and the time to send us your review as through our customers is where we get constructive, impartial and especially useful critical that prospective customers know about our services and the necessary information to help them choose our hotel because nobody better than we can guide our clients towards excellence in services.

Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Riviera Maya and for your heartwarming review; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and provide you with another enjoyable experience.

Kindest Regards,

Lourdes Estrada Santana
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Room Division Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial / Kantenah Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews