We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
251
171
59
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
171
59
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lol ha restaurant dive shop continental breakfast cannon house water cooler snack bar fish reserved for hotel guests sea turtles restaurants within walking distance small fridge turtle bay cafe small hotel hotel pool yal ku lagoon half moon bay lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Located about two hours South of Cancun, you can find a beautiful half moon bay. And on that Bay you can find the Hotel Akumal Caribe ! We rented a bungalow, they have other rental options. Our bungalow was clean and our fine maid helped us keep it that way ! We had the continental breakfast option. The food was great ! The restaurant is right on the Half-Moon Bay. The view is fantastic. The pool is very nice ! Many other good restaurants are within walking distance. Their Mercado offers a variety of hand made souvenirs ! Enjoy swimming or walking the beach or taking a scuba adventure. We rented a golf cart, and visited and swam at Yal-ku Lagoon Park. It was a perfect week. Enjoy ! Skippyfrizz

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and have recommended it countless times. Not sure if we’ll come back as the entire bay is buoyed off. The dive shop controls one lane and that is for paying customers. You are not allowed to go out more than a few feet from shore and can snorkel in the far southern area of the bay. I recognize the need to protect the wildlife and support this, but if you’re coming here to snorkel now just realize that you won’t see much.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank PeteAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are sorry your snorkeling experience is not the same anymore. The government declared the bay a Marine Protected area and they put in the buoys. It is not under the control of any dive shop. These buoyed areas are for those that hold permits to conduct guided snorkel tours. Only someone on a tour with a permitted guide are allowed in these circuits. The middle area is now a protected area where the turtles feed on the sea grass. No one is allowed in that area. The zones are shown in signage the government has put up.

All the shoreline and the first 50 meters out approximately are for free swimming and recreational use.

The good news is that you do not have to take a tour, and you do not have to go on a tour to see the turtles and marine life. The snorkeling to the south of the circuits is pristine and beautiful. Life jackets are not mandatory if snorkeling on your own, but are recommended. Responsible snorkeling practices include not diving down to touch sea life or coral, staying horizontal, respecting your distance to the turtles to allow them to come up for air unhindered and unstressed.

There are changes, and the government has a long way to go towards ensuring the tour operators comply with the rules they have, but snorkeling can still be enjoyed. You can ask the local dive shops for tips on where to go to get a good experience. Thank you

Sincerely
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Spent 2 nights in February and enjoyed our stay. Bungalow was clean but simple and it had everything we needed. Property was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Outdoor restaurant had good food and accomodated vegetarians quite well. The price was far better than the all inclusive resorts which are not our style anyway. And the peace and quiet was great.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CRHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Travelled with my husband February 6, 2018 for 7 days. We stayed in one of the bungalows and really loved it. It was kept very clean, it was quiet and so close to the beach. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful and we saw turtles and fish each time we went snorkelling. The food at the restaurant and snack bar was very tasty and there were several other good restaurants within walking distance. The pool area looked lovely but we did not use the pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pazuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Great staff, all very friendly and hard workers. The setting is beautiful - grounds are meticulously kept - rooms are spotless and the hitel is close to everything. We use USA transport for shuttle. Second year we've been to hotel caribe in akumal and we will definitely go back!

Room tip: Room 419 or 420 overlook the pool and have great views of the water through the palms.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews