We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Favorite country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Belgica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Wauw !
That was my first reaction when I saw the hotel. It's huge!
Gran Bahia Principe is a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to everyone.
The great thing about this hotel are the people. They're always friendly and want to help you. I'm definitely coming back to Bahia Principe. Can't miss it!
Love it there! :)
x

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sloebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,302
    2,119
    656
    286
    178
See reviews for
2,494
3,622
65
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,766)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

First time to the Mayan Rivera. We choose to go the the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal because we wanted something all inclusive and that had a large complex. It did take quite some time (airport transfer) to get to after a airplane ride. However, being an all inclusive resort everything was basically taken care of for us. There were some quirks (like our entrance light did not work, our safe did not work, our refig did not keep things cold) in which we all called in when we first got there and we ended up carrying our passports, money and important documents for the first day. The complex was very nice. We also took advantage of the bike riding. The golf cart system took a little getting used to and the longest wait was to go to the Hacienda Dona Isabel, so we did feel that some time was wasted. We tired to go to a different buffet with each meal but sometimes this was time consuming with the golf carts. Some of the buffets are not air conditioned which made eating uncomfortable at times and the mosquitoes definitely made a meal of us as we were eating. But it is Mexico, what can you expect. It was really cool to see fish swimming in the ocean with us--something very unique to the resort. The workers are very hard working and always trying to clean and keep things neat. We did not do any excursions because we just wanted to relax. We were solicited a few times but we just had to keep saying no. We were able to get reservations to 2 restaurants which the food they served was really no different than the buffet. One departure, the bell boy did destroy our luggage, but we were pressed for time and could not pursue it because we were being picked up by a car service and had to make our flight.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJVactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission, b.c.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Service was excellent and the staff was the BEST! Hotel was 30% full and the food was excellent! Long distance to some tours. Jeep tour was well worth it, we were the only English speaking people but John Paul looked after us just fine. Not on the brochures....ask your tour rep about this one! 2 hrs. aprox from Airport, depending on drop offs at other Hotels

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Just returned from 2 week stay in GBP Akumal 14th-28th October. Travelled with Thomas Cook and took a private transfer from the airport with USA Transfers - took just over an hour to get to the hotel.
We loved everything about this hotel. The grounds and pools are amazing and the food and service was second to none. We ate mainly at the Akumal Buffet and a special mention to Reuben, Christebal and Martin for looking after us so well. There is a huge variety of food to choose from at the buffets and you cannot fail to find something you like. We ate at several a la cartes and the Mikado was our favourite.
We visited the other two resorts and were glad to be at Akumal - the pools are right by the beach and all the rooms are within a couple of minutes walk.
The trams that get you round the resort are great fun. They can be a bit hit and miss - ask the driver where he is going before you get on.
The beach is lovely and the sea was clean and warm with a shallow area that is always teeming with fish. You can snorkel along the edge of the reef and see some amazing fish.
We went to most of the shows in the evenings - some of them are a bit cheesy but on the whole we had a great laugh. The animation team work very hard - big thanks to Alex -he was responsible for all the balloon flowers and animals that filled our room. My daughter thought he was great.
A word of warning - my son had his i pod stolen from the Coba buffet at breakfast one morning. It was something that happened in a split second and although it was left on the table, there was always one of us sat there. Management were very helpful and followed it up and spoke to staff and wrote a letter for our insurance company.
We took a taxi to Akumal Beach - $12 and snorkelled. We saw turtles, rays and some amazing fish.
The best trip we did was to XPLOR - we got the collectivo from the entrance to the hotel for $3 per person. It was an amazing action packed day and well worth doing.
We also took the collectivo to Playa Del Carmen, again $3, great for some souvenir shopping.
All in all we had an amazing time at the Gran Bahia and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonnaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coops28
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

The hotel was lovely to look at and was kept very clean. Its staff were also very lovely and helpful. However, that is where the positives end. We arrived just after the Swine Flu ban had ended and they were only just opening the hotel back up. Consequently, nothing was aired out and the rooms stank. In addition, they have no air conditioning except in the rooms which means the heat is unbearable in any of the restaurants, making it difficult to eat comfortably. The food was very poor for a so called high star hotel. The meat was either fatty or dry and most of the meals were bland. I suspect they were using cheaper products to try and claw back the amount of money they must have lost during the hotel's closure. This was the same in all of the hotels in the chain as you could use the other 2 sister hotels. My husband and I both had stomach ache/diarrhoea for the full 2 weeks which just would not clear up. The travel agents (Thomas Cook/Direct Holidays) were absolutely hopeless in dealing with our complaints. I would never go back there again or use these holiday companies.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coops28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.1 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
9.8 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
8.4 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): $294 - $645
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing