We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip”
Review of Aktun Chen

Aktun Chen
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 107.10*
and up
Tulum with Underground Cenote and Caves from...
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underground cave with spectacular rock formations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great time spending the day at Aktun Chen, zip lining and snorkeling the cenote. Lunch provided was delicious and staff was friendly. The only downside to the day was the 2.5 hour bus ride to get there from Cancun and back. Our bus company, Go Mexico, made so many stops and picked people up for other tours. I recommend going to Aktun Chen but would look into direct travel arrangements and not booking via Go Mexico.

1  Thank blegen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo A, Director General at Aktun Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cave tour"
in 128 reviews
"dry cave"
in 43 reviews
"zip lining"
in 157 reviews
"cenote swim"
in 31 reviews
"spider monkeys"
in 37 reviews
"catfish"
in 22 reviews
"beautiful cave"
in 16 reviews
"underground cenote"
in 28 reviews
"dirt road"
in 18 reviews
"natural park"
in 9 reviews
"included lunch"
in 10 reviews
"cave system"
in 11 reviews
"cenote experience"
in 9 reviews
"stalactites and stalagmites"
in 11 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 18 reviews
"super fun"
in 11 reviews
"bug spray"
in 13 reviews
Filter

74 - 78 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The caverns are sow beautiful. You can see the magestousity of the nature. The senote " wow". If you don't know how to swim. There is no problem. Plan to get a lot of fun diving in the senote Cristal water.
Have a good one..

Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo A, Director General at Aktun Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

On Thursday the 22nd of March 2018 we visited Aktunchen for the first time it was a wonderful experience my partner has always been keen to zip wire and was very nervous but from start to finish the guides Henry and Javier were amazing and helped her all the way she felt safe and secure and would thoroughly recommend it.

We also wanted to visit a Cenote and here they have different types one a
dry cave and one with water where you walk over a bridge for non swimmers. Also another Cenote for swimming and snorkelling an exhilarating experience and here the guide Jaime was helpful and reassuring at all times.

All in all a perfect day and we feel that this Natural Park should be advertised more.

Thanks to all the wonderful friendly staff.

Deb and Terry

1  Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo A, Director General at Aktun Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We spent an afternoon here and had a great time. One of the least busy attractions we visited but also one of the best. Did the cave walk and cenote swim. Our guide Jose Luis, i think was his name, was incredible knowledgeable and told us fascinating stories about the geography and history of the area. We swam in several Cenotes in the Yukatan but this was our favorite. Easy to access down a short flight of stairs. The is a trail to walk near the cave where you can see amazing animals; monkeys, boars, peacocks and some very scary looking snakes including a giant boa constrictor. Very cool. It is about 20 to 30 min off the highway down a rough road.

Thank Kensue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo A, Director General at Aktun Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We visited this park as part of a day adventure we purchased from a kiosk on the beach of our resort next door, The Grand Bahia Principe. We booked the trip on a whim and we were so glad we did. A tour guide instructed us on how to drive the motor buggies and took us through a path leading from our resort through the jungle and into the park. The ride was a lot of fun with my husband driving and following the tour guide. It does get very dusty so I would recommend bringing a bandana and protective eye gear. The tour did provide a dust mask but if you are planning this ahead I would have packed goggles and a bandana. Once in the park the first stop is snorkeling in the cenote. Everyone has to shower before getting in the cenote and you are only allowed to bring life vest, snorkel gear, swimsuit and water proof camera. The cenote was absolutely beautiful with clear refreshing water, little fish and really amazing stalactite formations at the top of the cave. After touring and snorkeling in the cenote we traveled through a tiny zoo that featured spider monkeys, birds, wild deer and pigs. The last stop was the semi-dry cave which had some of the most stunning views of our trip (no swimming allowed in this one). After the tour we drove our jungle buggies back to the resort. It was an incredibly fun tour and afternoon adventure. I would book another one of these in a heart beat.

Tips: Wear water shoes for this trip and pack protective eye gear and bandana if doing the jungle buggy.

2  Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo A, Director General at Aktun Chen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aktun Chen also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aktun Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing