We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling”
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Ranked #7 of 13 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great time snorkeling and saw a lot of cool fish. You could actually see the oil in the water from sunscreen though. They sell the biodegradable kind there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fish"
in 1,062 reviews
"like swimming in an aquarium"
in 33 reviews
"great place to snorkel"
in 41 reviews
"salt water"
in 73 reviews
"sea water"
in 45 reviews
"calm waters"
in 28 reviews
"snorkeling experience"
in 48 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 64 reviews
"half moon bay"
in 29 reviews
"open ocean"
in 21 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 70 reviews
"rock formations"
in 37 reviews
"biodegradable sunscreen"
in 26 reviews
"sea life"
in 39 reviews
"life vests"
in 30 reviews
"playa del carmen"
in 24 reviews
"palapa"
in 116 reviews
Filter

103 - 107 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were expecting more of a cenote experience with crystal clear water. The influx of salt water from the ocean creates poor visibility as the fresh and salt waters mix. There were a few fish but we weren't impressed by the numbers or variety. We enjoyed snorkeling in the cenotes and in Akumal Bay far more.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Go early, and if you can bring your own snorkel gear. The place with black letters have friendly English speaking people with lockers, bathrooms and showers and a neat short walk to the lagoon. 14 dollars to enter 3 dollars to rent a locker we brought our own snorkel gear. Lots of fish

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LawrenceK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Beautiful snorkelling here, we visited from Secrets Akumal on a bike tour! Worth a visit! Visit here earlier in the day to avoid the crowds!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BERJOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Loved it. Went with wife and 3 ‘kids’ from 9 to 20 and all enjoyed it. Don’t swim out towards the sea. Head across the lagoon to the far side from where the steps walk you in. Lots of life teeming in the rocks at water’s edge over there. We wasted time batting rough waters and with fewer fish by swimming towards the sea. Seems like fish like the fresh water coming from inland better.
The facility was very nice and good (a tad slow) friendly service. We hit the one to the right as you drive in. They says the statues add to the ambiance and this is the ‘original’ place of the 2. Once you hit the water, they’re probably really similar. This place was a welcome new adventure away from seaweed-littered beaches nearby. Reasonable cost, too.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing