We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guacamole ever. ”
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We love this place. Best guacamole ever made at the table side. The fish is fresh and the staff our friendly with great service. Beautiful setting for lunch or dinner. Great drinks.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demita-RG-Punta-Mita, General Manager at The Blue Shrimp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for visiting The Blue Shrimp Punta Mita ! We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Do not mistake this restaurant for the one in Nuevo Vallarta. Apparently, different owners. This place has a nice setting on the water. And the service is excellent, as we have come to expect in this part of Mexico. But I felt totally disappointed, not just for the quality of the food, but also the prices. I ordered the coconut shrimp entre (390 pesos) expecting it to be a generous plate of very large shrimp. What I got were six hardly large shrimp that were overcooked, set on four small chunks of grilled pineapple. A similar plate at many other places we have eaten would have served this as an appetizer for 1/3 the cost. In addition, this restaurant gave no complimentary basket of anything. A plate containing two small leaves of romaine and half a cherry tomato with Caesar dressing was provided gratis and an after dinner taste of chocolate pudding with a blueberry and a blackberry was also gratis. Too many other great restaurants with generous portions and great prices to ever come back here. That would include the Blue Shrimp in Nuevo, which is fabulous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 49skeeter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demita-RG-Punta-Mita, Director General at The Blue Shrimp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Oh, We are sorry to hear this. We will make sure this doesn't happen again and we hope you will give us another opportunity. If would you like to leave an email for us to get in contact with you or please contact us at 329 291 66 52 and again we are very sorry for this situation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We drove out from Guayabitos to check out Punta de Mita. Great highway to get to the point. We parked and went exploring to find a place to eat lunch. We choose The Blue Shrimp because of the Oceanside ambiance. The 4 of us were seated at the end table with a fabulous view of the surfers on the beach.
. This was to be our last meal out in Nayarit before heading up to Mazatlan this week, and we really wanted to have a memorable meal. Our waiter, Leonardo was exceptional! Fun and attentive. Spoke excellent English, and joked and chatted with us through out our tasty meal. We had the mango and strawberry Margaritas, with excellent "Mexican water" generously poured over the slush. We ordered both the coconut shrimp and the Blue Shrimp, and Lobster. All delicious.
We had not ordered guacamole, but it was "on the house", as well as the finishing touch of the no cost chocolate fudge dessert. Our bill was almost $200 US. But was worth it. Probably the most expensive meal we had in the PV area. Thanks to the staff and especially Leonardo. Highlight of our stay.

Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demita-RG-Punta-Mita, General Manager at The Blue Shrimp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for visiting The Blue Shrimp Punta Mita ! We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This place is awesome! You have to go. Get the tableside guacamole for sure. This place is great for large groups and kids. Every time we have been with kids they've taken extra time to make sure the kids get food quickly and even put them at their own table. I've never had a bad experience! The chef will normally start you with an amuse bouche too! My favorites are the tuna, blue shrimp, quezon fundido and always the catch of the day

Thank kandelltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demita-RG-Punta-Mita, General Manager at The Blue Shrimp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for visiting The Blue Shrimp Punta Mita ! We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had dinner at the Blue Shrimp while in Punta Mita. The dining room is lovely and we had a very nice meal in front of the ocean. Our meals were fresh and delicious and the service was excellent.

Thank Norumbega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demita-RG-Punta-Mita, Director General at The Blue Shrimp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for visiting The Blue Shrimp Punta Mita ! We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing