We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,346)
Filter reviews
5,346 results
Traveller rating
2,019
1,906
792
364
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,019
1,906
792
364
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand palladium sports bar adult pool ribs a la carte restaurants main pool the mexican restaurant mini zoo salt water pool hemingway bar mobility issues boogie boarding kids club main buffet city tour bbq on the beach ocean pool
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 5,346 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

I spent a week at the Grand Palladium with my two children (8years, 6years), my husband, and my parents. We all had a wonderful time. It was the first time out of the country for my parents and my children. The traveling from San Francisco to the resort was easy, however, I am not sure why they get away with calling it a Puerto Vallarta resort since it is a full 45 minutes north in a completely different town. The all inclusive food, drinks, and entertainment made it fun for everyone and made it a true vacation for me. The food was plentiful, is was good not a foodie's dream but there was something for everyone. The children loved the self serve buffet. I grew a little tired of the buffet by the end of the week but it was still fine. The restaurant options were fun once we figured out how the reservation system worked, but the food quality was the same as the buffet. The facilities were great. The room was nice, nothing fancy, but comfortable and well kept. The staff was very friendly but not always well informed. Overall our stay was great. I have one complaint. Our arrival to the resort on the first day was terrible. We arrived at the beautiful reception area and then were left waiting for over an hour before we were helped at the front desk. Once at the desk it took another hour before we were finally given a key to our rooms. At that point, they told us to "wait for a bell hop" to get our bags to our room and handed us a map. THEN, they proceeded to launch into a sales pitch for membership to their resort, under the guise of an orientation! We were a family of 6, with young children and two older family members who just travelled for the entire day. Arrived on site and were not offered even a bottle of water. Waited over two hours to get into our rooms and then were told we only had 20 minutes to get to the buffet for dinner. Like I said, the rest of the week went much better. We really enjoyed our stay. We liked the paddle boarding, kayaking and surfing. Loved the pools and beaches. Loved the swim up bars and nightly entertainment.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Brandais R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Brandais R
We would like to thank you for your comment and kind words towards our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. All of our comments are really important to us since they help us see where we need to improve our services and installations.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. We will gladly tell our supervisors about all the points that you mentioned in your comment.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We are here right now and it is NOT what we expectecd! We were expecting a 4.5 star room/experience and have gotten 3.5 stars all round, at best! We booked our trip to the Grand Palladium through Air Transat and are really dissappointed!

1. Deluxe rooms: don't be fooled by the name! The deluxe rooms at the Palladium are very small, very basic rooms. *Note, if you are traveling with children, the rooms here do NOT have dressers so there is nowhere to unpack/store clothes...in other words, you will be living out of your suitcase.

2. Check-in: We got to the hotel late (around 7:30pm). There was no welcome drink or gift as advertised, and the check-in took forever! Our travel agent had requested two adjoining rooms or two rooms side-by-side. They seemed confused when we asked about this, but eventually found something. We were initially put into two extremely small rooms next to eachother - and by small I mean with two adults and three small kids it felt like a shoebox. Our room had a king size bed, which was more like a small queen. The other room had two small doubles.

*Mini bar - there was NO water in our mini bar when we checked in. We were tired and thirsty and there was nothing there to give our kids to drink. Again, lots of the little things here aren't up to par with other 4-star resorts we've stayed at.

3. Conition of rooms: Our initial rooms were in the 2300 block (third floor with NO view), and badly in need of some TLC. The marble on the side table was broken off leaving a sharp edge (dangerous if you have kids). The knobs on the mini bar cabinet were falling off. The lamp shades were filthy and hanging off the wall crooked, and the drapes/curtains were visibly filthy (big brown spots and paint spots). Not the worst hotel room we've ever seen, but certainly not up to par with other 4 star and 5 star resorts in Mexico!

After chatting with the front desk several times, we were moved to two rooms on the main floor of the 2100 block. One of the rooms we are in now is an "accessible" room and has a little more space. The ground floor rooms are a little bit bigger/brighter and in slightly better condition than the third floor rooms, though some TLC would not hurt. Again, lamp shades are visibly dirty and hanging crooked on the walls, bath tub is a bit dingy looking, drapes and chairs have visible stains etc.

4. Playpen/crib: We had a crib brought up to our original room and when they moved us to the ground floor, they said they would bring a new crib. After if was dropped off, my husband realized the new crib was broken and the pad that goes in the bottom was visibly filthy (visible/crusty spit up stains all over it). We called front desk again and they sent someone to try and fix it, which didn't work. 45-minutes later they came back with a new crib, but tried to get us to use the visibly dirty pad. After some back and forth the hotel staff agrees to get a new pad. Shortly after midnight (4.5 hours) after check-in we finally had a place to put our baby down to sleep.

4. The buffet: The Mexican grill in the main buffet is very good. The rest of the food at dinner last night and breakfast this morning was just okay. The pizza and pasta were cold at dinner last night. The fresh fruit is very good though.

5. Kids - be aware, if you are travelling with kids there is NO elevator in the 2100 or 2300 block, so you will have to carry your stroller up lots up stairs after hiking back to you room from the buffet and/or pool area.

6. Lots of walking - the rooms we were put in are a ways away from the main buffet, pool area and beach and a lot of the pathways have an uphill incline. Be sure to bring a stroller and good walking shoes!

Overall, this property would fall between 3.5 and 4 stars, it is certainly not a 4.5-star or 5-star resort.

We are dissappointed as we spent a lot of money on this trip and it simply has not been what we expected - at all!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the 2100-2300 block as they are small and are in need of some TLC!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBlockAlbertaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear TBlockAlbertaCanada
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. All of our comments are really important to us since they help us see where we need to improve our services and installations.

We are so sorry that we couldn't give you the vacations that you were looking for. We want to make sure that our guests feel comfortable and satisfied. We will talk with our supervisors about all the points that you mentioned in your comment.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

This place is incredible. The food, the drink selection, the shows and the staff that make it all happen..all top notch!!!

If you go, head straight to Hemingway bar to see Eric, he is the best bar tender I have ever seen.

And all the girls especially Gabby are amazing and so much fun.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank ChrisC9521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Chris C
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that we were able to give you the vacations that you were looking for.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. It is a pleasure for us to know that our staff members were able to make this possible. We will gladly tell them about your comment to inform them about the amazing job they did during your stay.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We booked this resort through Sunwing Vacations back in November and were not disappointed when we arrived. First off it is in the middle of no where with no other resorts on either side of you and no vendors walking the beach and bothering you none stop. If you have never stayed at a 4.5 star resort this one is great with the rooms very large (we up graded to a suite) and very clean. The grounds are very large with great walking paths through the trees with unbelievable views of the ocean from the top of the embankment. There are great restaurants and bars with fantastic staff there to help everywhere. There are activities for younger children and a great beach activities for adults. All and all it was a fantastic week for a family vacation of 4. I would like to thank our great staff of Arturo - Marcelino - Hueberto and Christian. The staff in the Punta Mita Restaurant made our breakfast and lunch enjoyable everyday. There are a lot of stairs at this resort so it may not be ideal for some people but it helps to walk from the great buffet food they have.

Room Tip: pick a room away from the amphitheater as it was loud.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear gizbot
We would like to thank you for your comment and kind words towards our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that we made of your stay a wonderful experience.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. It is a pleasure for us to know that our staff members were able to give you the vacations that you were looking for. We will gladly tell them about the amazing job they did during your stay.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Great place if you like to be away from the busy resorts area. Love the hills and stairs, the main pool is where the parents and kids are, but they have a great adult pool up on the hill that has a perfect view of the sunset. Lots of nightly entertainment for everyone, beach is great if you like waves. good value for what you get would stay again

Room Tip: Ocean View
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LarrytheMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear LarrytheMechanic
We would like to thank you for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our hotel Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that we were able to give you the vacations that you were looking for.

Our main goal is to make our guests comfortable and satisfied with our services and installations. It is a pleasure for us to know that we did this possible during your stay.

We hope that you can consider coming back to enjoy once more of an amazing service and attention.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews