We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Seafood at Reasonable Prices at Beautiful and Convenient Location”

Margarita's Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 December 2016

My party of six were recommended to try Margarita's Mexican Seafood restaurant, located about 10 minutes from Real del Mar (Exclusive Resorts). It was a very slow (Monday) night, when often, restaurants in the area are closed. Wow, we really got lucky!! We basically had the restaurant to ourselves--a rarity, because I believe this is a popular spot in season, and on other nights of the week. We were greeted by the owner, who was gracious and walked us through his recommended cocktails and menu specials. The restaurant is on a hillside, just off the main highway, so you do hear traffic, but the beautiful sunset and panoramic vista quickly takes your mind away from the fact that you're just off the highway. We ordered an assortment of their home-made margaritas, both frozen and on the rocks. Nice and strong, but not overpowering tequila flavor. Fresh lime and not too sweet. We ordered shrimp empanadas and "crab volcanos" for the table, which were both fantastic. For entrees, we had the coconut fried shrimp, whole red snapper, grilled lobster and shrimp, and a few other items I cannot recall. They brought out two desserts "on the house", a home made flan and a tres leches cake, both delicious. We also ordered fried bananas which were good, but not what we'd expected and not as great as the other two desserts. For our party of six, the bill, including a generous tip came to $150 ($25 pp including tip). Great value for great service, atmosphere, and cuisine. Will repeat!!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank abf_elpaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermargaritas, Propietario at Margarita's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017
Google Translation

Hola!!! Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia, nos motiva. Pd. Hemos estado trabajando en los plátanos fritos y a su vuelta esperemos complacerles al 100%!! Su casa. Héctor López y familia, face: margaritas on the hills, g r a c i a s!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Great restaurant a little bit away from our hotel, St. Regis. Only about 10 tables. Feels like a beautiful tree top authentic local restaurant, but geared towards Americans as far as great, friendly service and very clean. Amazing food, good prices. Definitely a place to go when in Punta Mita!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Lorihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermargaritas, Propietario at Margarita's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por su visita, y el poderles saludar y atenderles nos emociona! Su casa, los esperamos cuando anden por Punta de Mita... Héctor Lòpez y familia, face:: margaritas on the hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing local restaurant outside of the St Regis and Four Seasons hotel. It is an absolutely charming local restaurant with personal service from the owner.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermargaritas, Propietario at Margarita's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por compartir su experiencia!! Saludos! Héctor Lòpez, face: margaritas on the Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We caught dorado and took it to Hector at his new location on the hill before getting into Punta de Mita. Beautiful view of the Marietas where we caught our fish only hours before. He made it 3 ways with a potato, rice and grilled vegetables. It was delicious as usual. Margaritas were large and made perfectly. So glad he us back and welcomed us home.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank scurt10987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermargaritas, Propietario at Margarita's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Qué bonito es lo bonito!! Nos hace agradable la existencia con su apreciado comentario, y a seguir pescando amigos!!! Su casa!!! Saludos.
Héctor Lòpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We ate here our first night because it was recommended by our host and it was the closest restaurant to our villa. We are now discussing dinner plans for our seventh and final night, and half of our group of 6 would like to return here.

This is a magical little open air restaurant on the side of a hill, with very friendly people who aim to please. There was only one piece of tuna left when we got there, and my friend who got it reports that it was his best meal of our trip. (And we have eaten at the Four Seasons and Cafe des Artists.) The Mexican platter was great as was the ceviche. On the other hand the chicken fajitas and the whole fish were ok but not memorable, and this is why I gave it 4 stars for food rather than 5. (I also did not think the margueritas were anything special, but perhaps I was predisposed to disappointment after having just had the best margueritas of my life prepared by our villa host.)

The real attraction of Marguerita's is the charming and quintessential Mexican-ness of the setting, the hospitality of the staff, and the excellent value for your money. If I am ever in this area again it will be on my must-do list.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank from-SC-2-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermargaritas, Propietario at Margarita's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017
Google Translation

Hola! Gracias por compartir su experiencia, hemos estado trabajando duro para que cada platillo sea una experiencia memorable, lo esperamos de regreso!! Héctor López y familia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margarita's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Margarita's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing