We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in lovely setting”
Review of Los Xitomates

Los Xitomates
Ranked #28 of 67 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We have been coming to this area to vacation for over 10 years. We stay away from hectic Puerto Vallarta. We tend to stay in the area near La Cruz de Huanacaxtle. We had thought we had eaten at all of the better finer dining options in this area, until we came across Los Xitomates, and what a pleasant surprise! I heard that this restaurant/chief had been in Puerto Vallarta for several years, but decided to relocate out of PV....so this area’s gain, and PV’s loss. I think it is the second year in this location so still building up a following. The restaurant is in a hacienda on a hill surrounded by trees, flowers and birds...you can see the bay in the distance. You dine overlooking the pool (I think there are 8 apartments to rent). Hardest part was figuring out which drive way to take off the main highway....tip: driving from La Cruz, it is the first drIve way on the right immediately before the Xitomates sign...seems obvious as I typed this, but it was not at the time. Wonderful setting, very attentive service and excellent food. Xitomates is definitely on our “go to” list when we return to the area next year. I realize that most people want to dine near the bay, but Xitomates offers a unique alternative setting which we found very relaxing...which made the dinner all the more enjoyable.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Overly intrusive owner with strange affect. Food was slow and bland. You eat on the patio of a private home and can glimpse the master bedroom, if that does it for you.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank angiodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Los Xitomates is a hidden gem off the beaten path. If you want an intimate dinner with an amazing view you have to come here while in Punta Mita. Luis will open his restaurant and his heart to anyone who comes to share his cuisine and amazing stories of worldly travel. Adri and I will be back!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Mrcarloso_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We had the the place to ourselves. Food and wine was great , total attention of the staff and owner chef Luis. Needs better signage as to which driveway to go up but well worth the adventure. Great value and diverse menu options...

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank bernardmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We came here last night after cancelling our dinner twice in a row and Los Xitomates was still very welcoming. Luis was a great host and there was a very homely atmosphere in the restaurant. It was more like a dinner at a guest's house than a dinner at a garish restaurant.

The food was incredible and very unique bringing fine dining to common Mexican ideas. The utilisation of pre-Hispanic culinary techniques brought a cuisine that was incomparable to the other places that we had eaten at. Although the ingredients may have been the same the dishes were wildly different and so interesting to experience. My personal favourite was the huitlacoche, a mushroom that grows on corn.

I recommend los xitomates to anyone looking for a fine dining experience that's very genuine and unique. They have really given me something to remember.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank romaanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Xitomates also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Los Xitomates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing