We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meson de San Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meson de San Antonio
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Belgique
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed there for three nights, but a fourth or even a fifth would have been nice. The place is lovely, with a central courtyard filled with all sorts of plants.
Rooms are big and clean ; they have a nice little sofa, a table and a hearth where you can light a fire on cold nights, and a few steps higher is the bedroom proper, as well as the bathroom. Even the lighting in the rooms is nice.
I really liked the fact that for breakfast, there was a huge thermos of coffee for the guests, plus some pastries. We had full use of the (lovely and big) kitchen area and its fridge, and it is easy to stock up on yoghurts and fruit in the nearyby shops.
Lovely staff, lovely place ... a pity we didn't see more guests, probably because of safety concerns in Michoacan. We didn't see many tourists in the area.
It's centrally located, a block or so away from the cathedral and a couple of blocks from the Zocalo. The hotel is very quiet, and so is Patzcuaro.
I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawaddeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oaxaca
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

No surprises here. Everything was as represented and more. Staff, management and owners were excellent hosts, and accessible. Owners live on site making access to them easy. The hotel is a couple to a few blocks from major downtown tourists sights, thus an easy walk. Similarly restaurants and the two main plazas for sitting and dining and drinking are close by. Steps away are a variety store and a night time taco stand, always nice to have around for late night snacks. Rooms are clean with a separate small area for sitting. Drapes and bedspreads could use a change, to brighten up the rooms, but we discussed with owners and there's a reason. But so what .... you can't always have eveything. Rooms open to a courtyard. Parking for a nominal nightly sum is 1.5 blocks away. We booked for three nights and stayed for five. That should sum it up. Next visit to Patzcuaro we will definitively return to Hotel San Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezcal_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The first thing that strikes you is the large, airy central courtyard with lemon and pomegranate trees, buganvilla and more cactus types than I have ever seen. The wide and shady vehrandas are the perfect place to look at it all.

The rooms have working fireplaces and every day they are made up with enough firewood for an evening. It can be cool here at night!

The beds are really comfy, lots of nice wool blankets and soft pillows.

Breakfast is included, but it is only coffee and sweet buns, The coffee is americano, so no culture shock first thing in the morning! What we really enjoyed was the use of their beautiful kitchen, if you like to self-cater, like we do, this is a big plus.

The rooms are obviously renovated (good wiring and plumbing) but have lost none of their colonial charm.

The family that owns the place live on-site. They are friendly but discreet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namretaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My friend and I loved the room and the grounds of this beautiful old hotel. The service was friendly and efficient. Located close to the Basilica, we had access to shops restaurants and the church square, where local vendors had set up booths to sell their shawls and handmade clothing etc.
The only downside is that we were there in February and not prepared for the cold. It may be in Mexico, but it is in the mountains, the only heat in the hotel came from the chimnea in the room, and the hot water was spotty. I would happily stay in this hotel again...but in a warmer season.

Room Tip: All of the rooms open on to a center court, which must be beautiful in the spring/summer and autumn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just got back from a sunny, warm and wonderful trip to Morelia/Patzcuaro and Uruapan. This was the second time we have stayed at the Meson. The staff/owners are very hospitable and accommodating. The rooms are very quiet, with good beds and a fireplace to keep you cozy at night. The courtyard has beautiful plants and lovely sitting areas where you can relax and read a book. The reception area has a beautiful tiled, fully equipped kitchen and you are welcome to cook any food and store items in the refrigerator. Every design element, in the rooms and around the hacienda, is thoughtfully planned and beautifully executed. Great location and good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 km away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#10 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco
0.6 km away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
92.7 km away
Posada de la Salud
Posada de la Salud
#13 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de San Antonio

Property: Hotel Meson de San Antonio
Address: Calle Benigno Serrato # 33 | Centro, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price range (per night): $36 - $56
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Meson de San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De San Antonio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing