We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old World Beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meson de San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Meson de San Antonio
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Bellingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old World Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My friend and I loved the room and the grounds of this beautiful old hotel. The service was friendly and efficient. Located close to the Basilica, we had access to shops restaurants and the church square, where local vendors had set up booths to sell their shawls and handmade clothing etc.
The only downside is that we were there in February and not prepared for the cold. It may be in Mexico, but it is in the mountains, the only heat in the hotel came from the chimnea in the room, and the hot water was spotty. I would happily stay in this hotel again...but in a warmer season.

Room Tip: All of the rooms open on to a center court, which must be beautiful in the spring/summer and autumn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just got back from a sunny, warm and wonderful trip to Morelia/Patzcuaro and Uruapan. This was the second time we have stayed at the Meson. The staff/owners are very hospitable and accommodating. The rooms are very quiet, with good beds and a fireplace to keep you cozy at night. The courtyard has beautiful plants and lovely sitting areas where you can relax and read a book. The reception area has a beautiful tiled, fully equipped kitchen and you are welcome to cook any food and store items in the refrigerator. Every design element, in the rooms and around the hacienda, is thoughtfully planned and beautifully executed. Great location and good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have stayed here at least 10 times over a 6 year period and we are always welcomed back like long lost friends. The staff is helpful and the grounds are splendid. Cozy fireplaces in the rooms make this a great hotel. Parking is available in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

we've stayed here a few times now and it's truly one of the nicest places I've stayed anywhere in the world.. First, we love Patzcuaro, really a gem of a city... the San Antonio is just a beautiful and very quiet oasis, we love the rooms, the atmosphere, the care in which the owners clearly take in every detail... my only tiny complaint is that I wish we could have purchased some wood for the fireplace as the soft wood from the region burns so quickly... we would have loved a fire all night long :)
thanks again to all the staff at Meson de San Antonio for another lovely stay

Room Tip: rooms at the back directly opposite the street are the quietest ( I think we were in 7 and 8 this ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We are back for our 4th visit to Patzcuaro and Meson de San Antonio. We walked through the huge wooden door from the street and were met by Edain who greeted us warmly. Her family and the staff here make guests feel totally at home. The rooms are wonderful - spacious and beautifully decorated. Each room has a big wood burning fireplace which is a welcome treat in the cool evenings. The kitchen here is incredibly beautiful. We enjoy exploring the local market and cooking dinner here with our purchases. Coffee and pastries are provided for breakfast. The hotel is in a great location close to the Basilica and a very short walk to the two main squares. We are finding Patzcuaro very comfortable with friendly people and a warm culture. It is great to be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
1.5 km away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#33 of 33 in Patzcuaro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de San Antonio

Property: Hotel Meson de San Antonio
Address: Calle Benigno Serrato # 33 | Centro, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price range (per night): $44 - $56
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Expedia APAC so you can book your Hotel Meson de San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De San Antonio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing