We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La dolce vita à la Canadienne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This inn has it all: it is romantic, restful, and elegant without being stuffy, it has friendly staff, a wonderful restaurant, swimming pool and other facilities, and is delightfully located on a beautiful Canadian lake.

The rooms have all been renovated in recent years, to a very high standard, and they are impeccably maintained. The restaurant – with its wine cellar – deserves its excellent reputation. In addition to the delicious food and the professionalism of the servers, its location next to the lake is enchanting. We were fortunate during our stay in the height of summer to be able to eat out on their patio several times, with the waves of Lake Massawippi lapping two paces from the tables. It was an unforgettable experience.

The swimming pool on the spacious Inn grounds is another great feature. It is idyllically situated among towering pine trees, and we usually had the place virtually to ourselves.

A short walk down from the pool takes you to the beach where you can have a different but equally pleasant swimming experience. Fortunately for inn patrons, there is a fleet of new watercraft, mainly easy-to-use kayaks and rowboats. We had fun trying them out and heading around the point of land past some impressive cottages to the Inn, which is very picturesque in its understated way when seen from the water. Typical of the trusting and laid-back atmosphere of the establishment, the boats are left on the beach unattended all day – there is not even a sign-up sheet; you just help yourself and start paddling or rowing. (Next time, we want to try the sailboat that’s also available.) As a Canadian currently living abroad in a place where things are very different, I found this relaxed ambiance very gratifying and attractive.

An elderly member of our party – who did not participate in water activities – relished her time in the deck chair of the upper porch, looking through the trees to the beckoning lake. She also enjoyed strolling along the lawn to admire the lush and well-maintained flower beds of perennials near the entrance to the inn.

This was our third stay at Ripplecove, the first being 12 years ago. The charm and spirit of the place remain intact, and the facilities have been continuously improved, with the addition of a number of rooms and the spa, and the renovation to a high standard of all the other rooms. This establishment is a rare gem. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are obviously preferable, but Room 20 (overlooking the lawn and flowerbeds at the ho...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is my second trip to this lovely resort. It has so much to offer. The area is a small town, so quiet if you stay in Ayers Cliff. Just down the road from so much though, that you have trouble figuring out which way to go. I went to Magog several times this time around. The Inn is on a beautiful lake, and offers various boating options, which we enjoyed thoroughly. The bikes are available and paths are all around town and the area. Many people brought their own, as it really is a great bikers haven. Pool area was very pleasant. Stayed in the rooms next to it. Those are beautiful suites. Highly recommend them. They have a new spa which looks great, and especially inviting for those winter months. But you cannot review this Inn without highlighting the amazing cuisine at their restaurant. I would get the plan with the meals as you don't always get a chance to have a chef of this caliber to enjoy. His specialties are so inventive. A true master. Food in the area is good everywhere. So it is a tough call.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for their advice. They are very good and will tell you what is best for your nee...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We arrived early at the Ripplecove Inn. When we approached the check in. We mentioned we were early. In reply He said as guest you are never too early. It just got better and better. Wonderful room overlooking the lake, large balcony to seat on and watch the storm blow across the lake. The tasting dinner we had was one of the best we have ever enjoyed. The staffs are first rate on every level. What a joy to stay at an Inn that lives up to and surpasses its reputation. If there is a 6 star rating they qualify.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Auberge Ripplecove has everything you want in a first class inn! The rooms, the food, the service and the staff are superb. A beautiful spot on lake Massawippi with the use of row boats, kayaks, canoes, and bikes (and there is a lot of great biking in the area.) If you just want to relax, Adirondack chairs overlooking the lake, it's perfect. An exquisite place for any occasion!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Nested in a little cove at the tip of one of the nicest lake in the Eastern Township in Quebec, Lake Massawippi, the Ripple Cove is a very well recognized Inn for its restaurants, wine cellar and hospitalities. Very charming setting and amenities but one would expect nicer rooms. The rooms layout are very standard hotel like with no particular attention to details or the type of layout and amenities you would expect from such an high end, boutique like Inn. Balconies are ridiculously small and room layout do not allow for relaxing in your room setting. The food and service were extraordinary. Ripplecove is a good place to stay for a couple of nights for a comfortabble stay with a very good food but I would have expected nicer rooms for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer's Cliff
10.6 km away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,177 reviews
16.8 km away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
19.2 km away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
482 reviews
31.9 km away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
504 reviews
27.2 km away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#4 of 16 in Sherbrooke
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa

Address: 700 Ripplecove, Ayer's Cliff, Quebec J0B 1C0, Canada (Formerly Auberge Ripplecove & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Ayer's Cliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ayer's Cliff
Price Range: $198 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 75 minutes from Montreal and 15 minutes from Vermont, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa enjoys the regions premier location on a private 12 acre peninsula on Lake Massawippi, Quebec. Established in 1945, the family run luxury resort has consistently been awarded top honours as one of Canada’s finest hotels. Currently rated as a 5 Star hotel by the Quebec Ministry of Tourism and recipient of a double 4 Diamond Award for both its refined cuisine and luxurious accommodations, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa is simply one of Canada’s finest lakeside resort hotels. This exceptional hotel offers 32 luxury rooms, suites and cottages, most with lake view, fireplace and private lakeside balcony. All accommodations are individually designer decorated and offer luxurious country estate comfort in a pristine rural lakeside setting. Choose from an array of outdoor activities no matter what the season. Tennis, boating, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, bicycles; snow shoeing, skating and ice fishing are all offered on site. Nearby activities include 12 golf courses, summer theatre, shopping and farmers markets, vineyards and the internationally acclaimed “Foresta Lumina” a night-illuminated pathway and pedestrian suspension bridge located nearby at the Coaticook Gorge. If total relaxation is the order of the day, escape to Ripplecove’s Arboressence Spa, for a full range of Spa services using the internationally renowned organic Eminence Spa products. Nestled under 200 year old pine trees on the shores of Lake Massawippi, the Arboressence Spa offers the perfect setting to de-stress, detox and relax surrounded by nature. We hope to have the pleasure of giving you a warm welcome soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Ripplecove And Spa
Auberge Ripplecove Hotel Ayer`s Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing