We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful beach!!!!

The one week that we were at PEI we went to Basin Head Provincial Park twice and we loved it. It... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2018
fikk88
,
Mississauga, Canada
Nice quiet beach

Our first trip to PEI and stopped by this beach. Small but nice. Water was clear and warm for... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
Susan F
,
Indianapolis
Read all 360 reviews
  
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
251
79
16
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
79
16
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach change rooms jump off on duty on site fisheries museum your feet snack bar white sand nice sand lots of parking favorite beach popular beach lots of fun great facilities water was warm picnic tables
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Having read rave reviews, we were a tad disappointed in the beach, though the weather didn’t help. It was too cold to swim and the water had been churned into an unattractive grey soup, but we didn’t find the beach particularly scenic (best in Canada?! Ever been to British Columbia?! It resembled most other beaches we saw in PEI) and we came across two dog owners (dogs unleashed despite the signs) and a couple of fresh dog turds.

Granted the beach does go on, and on, but it isn’t particularly wide or picturesque and there’s very little vegetation (no shade). Neither was the sand singing as it was wet but, turds apart, it was clean, especially in view of the waves, though we did come across a dead gannet (with a fishing hook in its back) and collected a handful of rubbish. There’s also a couple of piers through which a strong current runs from the lagoon. Being a Marine Protected Area, Basin Head comes with various zones with varying levels of protection, so activities are restricted in certain places (best to check).

The amenities were however very clean as well as impressive, with a large parking, shops, restaurant, changing rooms and museum, though not everything was open when we visited on an overcast day in September. There’s also an elevated viewing platform with views down the beach and interesting information on the region’s geology, vegetation and wildlife and we did spot a number of birds. Plus access to the park is free.

I wouldn’t make a special detour, but it’s probably a good beach to visit with children on a warm day thanks to the amenities and shallow waters.

Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

The one week that we were at PEI we went to Basin Head Provincial Park twice and we loved it. It was worth the drive from where were located it took us about 2 1/2 hours but so worth it. The water was beautiful and it is always amazing seeing the tie going out and coming in just loved the salt water and the sand was amazing as you walked you would hear the sand sing!!! True story... just drag your heels as you walk in the sand and you will hear a sound... it was funny. Also the entrance to this beach/park was FREE as well as parking unlike some of their other Provincial Parks which you would have to pay to get in so this was a bonus and the best beach so far that we so enjoyed it!!! It's a must to visit!!!

Thank fikk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Our first trip to PEI and stopped by this beach. Small but nice. Water was clear and warm for Sept. Great beach for kids in season.

Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

This looks like almost every beach you see off of PEI and apparently only sings on dry days. Ours was damp so sands quiet. A nice beach but not worth a special trip.

Thank Ginny00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

On a trip to PEI just after Labour Day, we drove out to Basin Head Provincial Park on the recommendation of the owner of our cottage. It was a bit of a drive from the Brackley Beach area, but a pleasant one, and we are glad we went. Lovely beach, and yes, we did shuffle our feet through the sand and hear it "singing"! Lots of fun also watching the people jumping into the canal and being swept along by the current. We didn't stay long, but it would be a nice place to spend a few hours.

1  Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were recommended to visit this place and glad we did.....it is a provincial park so if you're here before Labour Day it will cost you. The area is not that big but certainly a very beautiful spot to swim, enjoy the beach and take in the beautiful scenery.

Thank someday0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Nice little museum, read all the info on lobstering, etc. Historic stuff on the big gales and lost ships. Beach very beautiful with some cliff backdrops. Can get very crowded in high season but we were there in September, perfect.

Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

All the shops were closed but it was a terrific experience . Drag your toes in the sand and it does sing. We all found some glass and enjoyed the beautiful view

Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Visited at end of August. Very nice facilities and beach walk. Unique wharf and current float as described in previous reviews. Warmer waters here than in Cavendish. Crowded on sunny afternoon - but ample parking and space to enjoy!

Thank solotouristDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

So happy we decided to begin our stay in PEI with 5 days in Souris, because now we know why Basin Head Beach is consistently rated the best beach in Canada. The sand is gorgeous, the dunes beautiful, and the beach goes on seemingly forever. And the water was warm!

The facilities are excellent too. With clean changing rooms and bathrooms, and also a restaurant on site. The only negative thing was some of the dog owners who seemed to think the signs about keeping your dog on a leash and picking up after it were for chumps. Easily half the dogs we saw were off leash, and several were not picked up after. In fact, while we watched one man bury his dog's droppings, he told us that he'd once been arrested for not picking up after his dog.

Regardless, it's the most beautiful beach I've ever been to.

Thank heartofaskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews