We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite, Welcoming and Very Comfortable!”
Review of Barachois Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barachois Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Rustico B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Staying in the Barachois Inn is like vacationing in an exquisite 19th Century jewel box. This inn was lovingly restored, with exceptional attention to detail - but all 21st Century comforts (like wifi, TV and air conditioning). Our room had beautiful stained glass lamps and a hand-carved bed....and the biggest bathroom and tub I have ever seen. (I couldn't possibly catalogue the various dolls and other decorative pieces - all chosen with taste and a sense of fun.) The setting could have been intimidating, but the owners are so warm and welcoming that we were immediately set at ease. The Inn is conveniently located for anyone wishing to visit Green Gables, or interested in beaches, biking or hiking in Prince Edward Island. Breakfasts were excellent - and a particularly good opportunity to learn a bit about PEI life/culture. Most hotels are just places to sleep/watch TV while on vacation. The Barachois was much more: it added to the pleasure of the vacation!

Room Tip: It's an old house, so naturally, floors squeak a little bit. You can probably avoid any squeaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barachois, Owner at Barachois Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments. It is much appreciated and it is very important for us to hear from our guests and how they found their stay at the Barachois Inn.

We strive to give our guests the best possible experience while staying with us and visiting Prince Edward Island.

We do hope that you will return some day soon.

All the best,

Judy MacDonald, Barachois Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed in the MacDonald House, room 5. It is gorgeous and has a huge jacuzzi tub. The Inn was spotless and the setting is so beautiful- right across from the oldest Catholic Church on PEI and two historic sites. There is a small path past the Acadian settlement site down to the water where we found pieces of old china in the sand. The owner, Judy, made so many helpful suggestions and her daughter made us a wonderful picnic lunch. The Inn is so lovely and the dining rooms were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was good- the French toast and fresh berries was wonderful and the coffee kept flowing. The location is great because it is centrally located to many tourist sites, but tucked away in a very quiet location! We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 5 would be great for honeymooners with its big iron bed and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barachois, Owner at Barachois Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Your feedback is very important to us.
We hope that you will return to Prince Edward Island and the Barachois Inn some day soon.

All the best, Judy MacDonald, Barachois Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Everything about Barachois Inn was delightful.. the room, the service and especially the owners. Thank you Judy for all you and Gary, Andrea and and Denise did to make our stay a dream come true. Great advice given on what to see around the island, but particularly "All Things Anne" for my granddaughter and I.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gbuttsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barachois, Owner at Barachois Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope that you will come back and visit again some day soon. We enjoyed meeting you and your granddaughter. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

All the Best, The MacDonalds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The Barachois Inn was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! My husband and I were celebrating our 35th Wedding Anniversary and decided to travel to Prince Edward Island. Honestly, we really didn't know exactly what to expect as we had never been before. Well, this has been one of our most favorite of all time vacations that we'll cherish for a very long time. We LOVED everything about our stay, whether it be our enjoyable breakfasts of delicious foods and friendly conversations with guests, to our immaculate suite that we were upgraded to, but mostly our down-to-earth host Judy and her lovely family that made us feel very welcome to their home and to the island. Wow, Judy's knowledge of the island was a real treat for us, as we would focus on every word she spoke about this most amazing place, not wanting to miss any bit of information she could give us. You could sense every bit of pride she had for Prince Edward Island. We definitely will be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else but at the Barachois Inn!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barachois, Owner at Barachois Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful and kind comments. We so much enjoyed having you stay with us on the occasion of your special anniversary.

We hope that you will come back to visit Prince Edward Island and the Barachois Inn.

it was a pleasure to host you and you would be welcome at any time.

All the best,

The MacDonalds, Barachois Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Pulling up to this grand old home on a chilly, windy evening, we weren't sure what to expect. But once owner Judy MacDonald showed us to an upgraded room in the new outbuilding, we knew this would be a special experience. Judy, her husband Gary and daughter Andrea are warm and engaging, thoroughly knowledgeable of PEI and its history. The real deal, in other words, in top drawer hospitality. Highly recommended. We look forward to another visit to the Barachois Inn!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barachois, Owner at Barachois Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were happy to have your stay with us.
We were pleased to offer you an upgraded Suite in the MacDonald House.
Our objective is for our guests to experience home away from home. This is our 34th season in business and we never grow tired of meeting new people from all over the world. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

All the best, Judy MacDonald, Barachois Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rustico hotels
4.3 km away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
2.9 km away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#2 of 9 in Rustico
72 reviews
3.1 km away
Blue Crest Cottages
Blue Crest Cottages
#8 of 9 in Rustico
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Dreamweavers Cottages and Vacation Home
Show Prices

Been to Barachois Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barachois Inn

Address: 2193 Church Rd | Route 243, Rustico, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Rustico
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rustico
Price Range: $186 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barachois Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barachois (Bar-a-shwa) Inn is nestled in an historic Acadian settlement c.1763 with the rolling landscape touching the sea, Farmers' Bank of Rustico, National Historic Site, PEI National Park,Cavendish White sand beaches, Anne of Green Gables nearby.Central location making day trips easy, this luxurious Canada Select 5 Star B & B offers accommodation decorated with art and antiques. Gallant House c.1880, recipient PEI Heritage Preservation Award and MacDonald House, built 2001, designed to complement the Heritage House offers luxurious suites - kitchenettes, fireplaces, balconies, exercise/sauna/meeting rooms - ideal for special events. Member Inns of Distinction PEI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Barachois Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing