We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Winter Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Young Vineyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Young Vineyard
View from Masterbedroom
Tulips in May
Winter = Big sky
Kitchen for chefs
Hall
Living Room
Main level room
Dining in the porch
Fire pit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montague, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heather11...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Getaway”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Percy Hill was a perfect choice for a PEI Christmas getaway. This lovely home has character, charm and warmth. Sebastian, the owner, provided wood for the fireplace, made sure the drive was cleaned when required and even provided a Christmas tree and decorations! The house is large and can accommodate 8 people but still maintains a cozy feel. Every amenity one could possibly need was available for entertaining and cooking. A plethora of reading materials, movies and TV options were available for downtime. The external grounds are lovely and the house sits in a beautiful location with breathtaking views. Quiet walks each day were a highlight. The property is within a close driving distance to Charlottetown, Montague and Murray River but far enough away for a peaceful and quiet country stay. Sebastian was a pleasure to deal with and was available when needed. Percy Hill would be a wonderful stay for families, groups of friends or even those of us who sometimes travel solo! I would highly recommend a stay at this property. Thanks Sebastian for sharing this lovely spot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the linens, all of the amenities and the charm of the house.
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Heather, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest. I am glad you had the weather to enjoy the trails and the view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthBal
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a terrific location and fabulous view, less than average maintenance.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The rating is really 2 1/2 stars out of 5, but we didn't have that choice. We rented the property for a week. The grounds are well-kept, the wooded area is small but fun for the kids to explore. The view from atop the hill is breathtaking and truly scenic. However, the building has not been maintained, housekeeping is less than par, there is a wind turbine adjacent to the grounds and our stay was not private.

At 8:30pm on the third day we were there our host knocked at the door to welcome us and ask a few questions. Our two small kids had just taken a shower and were settling for the night. Our host asked us if we had made payment and we produced a receipt. The day before our departure he was at the property again with two other vehicles and unannounced. Our kids were startled and we left for the day.

Prior to the visits we noticed black beetles in the kitchen and the living room, the bathrooms and the kids' rooms as a daily occurrence. We also commented that the bathroom and the bedrooms had accumulations of dust and debris under the bed and in the corners. Our son found candy wrappers in his room, we found no property information book indicating how everything worked and noticed that the roof exterior window frames and some door frames were in need of repair. We also noticed that weed was growing between a window screen and window in the shed, a disrepaired window screen on the deck, broken patio door handle, chipped glasses in the cupboard and a missing exterior faucet handle connected to a hose laid across the deck when we arrived. The garbage situation was a challenge. There were no available containers for the garbage outside, two full containers left by the curb for 6 days of our stay and empty beer cans in the shed. There are other details but these are just the major ones. The property may be 400 acres or more but when arrived most of it was either in use or inaccessible. But we love PEI!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Cleanliness and lack of privacy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
First off, I feel I need to apologize for your less than perfect stay, but I also feel that some of your comments warrant a response:
- I always greet my guests in the evenings as I work during the day and often they do not check in or are not at the house (as was your case) until it is evening. Prior guest know that access is always given per key code. That way, guests can enter the house and make themselves comfortable without having to wait for me, but all that is needed is one bad experience, so from now on I make it a policy to call ahead. The question about payment is a routine question to make sure everything has been settled between us. In your case the transfer from Flipkey had not yet happened, but I sensed that my question led to some uneasiness on your part.
- There is a small wind turbine on the property, but there are turbines and turbines. The model is an Airstream (diameter 2 meters), designed for sigle family homes. It is 100 meters away from the house. It is also not visible form the house. This is in an effort to reduce my dependence of fossil fuels. It can also be turned off. Then, it is just a steel tower, not visible from the house.
- The plant front of the shed and growing into the window is not a weed, but a clematis plant.
- For the dust and the candy wrapper, I apologize. As always, I try and make sure the house is 100% spotless when guests arrive. It appears, this time I was not successful and things were missed.
- The garbage system is indeed a challenge. Prince Edward Island only picks up garbage every two weeks and we have guests from parts of the world that have different garbage separation systems. That's why the garbage can at the bottom of the road is sometimes full. I will remedy this next year by doing two things: I will get a second garbage container and I will lock the shed to tourists as it is a shed for the grounds people (their beer cans) and for storage of the recyclables and guests should not have access to it.
- At the end of your stay, I indeed was on the property. I was showing prospective grape buyers the potential harvest. We were parked on the bottom of the property, only a few feet away from the public road an more than 200 feet from the house.. In general I alert guest to the fact that every now and then, groundskeepers.. etc will be present on the property. it is part of being guests at Percy Hill. Having said this, we make an effort to mowe the lawn when guests are away and to stay out of the private zone 200 feet around the house.
- There is access to the property through an extensive trail system, but you never asked about it.
-The "Book how things work" is a good suggestion. I will put one together.
Again, I am sorry your stay was not what you expected, I hope you will find a place that suits your needs next time you visit PEI.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I visited PEI for one week -- to celebrate my wife's birthday -- and we all had a fabulous time. We rented a car at airport and 4 bikes (and car rack) in Charlottetown, and toured all over this beautiful island. Our home for the week was the Percy Hill Vacation Home and it was truly wonderful -- a comfortable/friendly house with all of the amenities, lots of rooms/beds, spectacular views from the living room, and located on a beautiful property (long driveway, large grassy field, vineyards, small forest area behind house). In short, we loved staying at this house and hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spectacular views from living room
Liked least: outdoor bugs at dawn/dusk -- but house has many well-screened windows so easy to avoid
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capegalaj...
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
“Stunning location and home, what a wonderful property this is.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We chose Percy Hill after an extensive search and it was the best choice we could have made, and perfect for our family reunion. The property itself is in a great location and the vineyard setting is truly beautiful and unique. The house had everything you could want and is tastefully decorated, comfortable, spacious, well-equipped, and clean. Having 2 separate dining areas and separate places to sit/chat suited every activity, all the time. Additionally, having central air conditioning/heating was such a help, as was having 2 bathrooms (one upstairs, one down), although access to the downstairs bathroom and to one of the downstairs bedrooms requires negotiating a few steps over a stairway landing. Thank you, Sebastian, you are a gracious host and offer a wonderful experience at Percy Hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose ... everything was so great!
Liked least: For a couple of family members w/physical needs, accessing the bathroom and one of the downstairs bedrooms was more difficult than expected b/c it was necessary for them to use stairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1inspired...
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Percy Hill Home exceeded our expectations!! The view over the vineyard and gently rolling PEI landscape was breathtaking! It is a spacious, well planned home and is decorated beautifully with antiques and artwork. The kitchen was well outfitted for all meal preparation a traveller could require. It was wonderful to have use of the washer and dryer as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and wished we never had to leave! The only tip I have for visitors this summer is to load up on bug spray, the blackflies and mosquitoes were quite bad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside view and spaciousness of the house.
Liked least: The blackflies and mosquitoes!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing