We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Green Gables Bungalow Court Cottages(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avonlea Cottages(Cavendish)
USD 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 244
USD 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marco Polo Inn(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bay Vista Motel(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages & Suites(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
31
38
29
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
38
29
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshining waterscavendish beachbreakfast couponscleaning supplieswalk in showercleaning staffnational parkgreen gablesbedroom cottagecoffee makertwo night stayswimming poolshort drivebeds were comfortableair conditioningnorth rusticoprince edward island
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Very friendly, clean rooms. Wide selection of rooms. 2 pools for families. Place was hopping.

Nice restaurant adjacent to facility.
Close to tourist sites in Cavendish.
Historic sites within walking distance,

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed at this location for 3 nights in August 2015. Shining Waters is very close the the National Park. It's the only perk of staying at this location. During our 3 night stay, our tank ran of of propane, our dishwasher stopped working, our toilet leaked and our shower was plugged. The deck appeared to be rotted and the the linens and towels were in desperate need of being replaced. The playground was in desperate need of repair. The pools were the hightlight of our trip. Lovely property but in desperate need of upgrading!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavendish2011, Owner at Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

My apologies for the issues you incurred during your recent stay. This has been our busiest summer in the last 15 years and clearly we have been somewhat overwhelmed by the volume. For over seven weeks we have been completely full and evidently we have not been able to fix all issues before the next guest has arrived. All of the issues you raised have been dealt with and I have also circulated your review to my maintenance staff. We are very proud of the condition of our 3 bedroom cottages and rather than "outdated" I think it is truer to say that minor maintenance has been lagging. I very much appreciate your feedback and we certainly do plan to be more prepared for what will hopefully be another exceptionally busy season next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Stayed in the three-bedroom deluxe cottage - the dishwasher didn't work (I think they knew that before we checked in) and we have a family of 5 staying for a week. They tried to fix it but after two tries, it didn't work. Oven didn't work, DVD didn't work, BBQ ran out of gas and the tank sat for two days (not sure how long it took to refill as we had left by then), no housekeeping other than dropping off towels, picking up dirty ones and I think they cleaned the bathrooms. A lot of little things missing in the kitchen like splatter screen, corkscrew, bottle opener, etc. All in all, paid top dollar for mediocre accommodation. Will be looking elsewhere in the future for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Barb470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The inn needs to be updated. The carpet is musty smelling in the main building. I used the common bathroom and the wallpaper was peeling off of the wall and the faucets were not clean. Our queen room was spacious and it had been cleaned adequately, however, everything in the Inn needs an update. No coffee maker, phone, or fridge or microwave in the room. We paid $185, (incl. tax) for a night and I guess I expected a 4 star facility. This was definitely three star. This facility has some guest homes in the back which, do, in fact, look modern. The pool needs to be updated also. The staff was friendly and tried to meet guests' needs, but were not always available at the desk. This is a family run business and, it is a friendly place, but has a feel of benevolent neglect. Be aware that this facility charges a $50 cancellation fee if you book online and then must cancel.

Room Tip: The new cottages look good, but the website does not list prices. Stay away from the dated inn.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We recently spent a week in the executive cottage and found the unit to be very comfortable and a nice size. The resort is simple, but is very clean, has good amenities and is an excellent location - very close to Green Gables and within an easy and scenic walking distance to Cavendish Beach. The staff are friendly and provided us clean towels each day, which was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Executive cottages were nicer than the Ingleside cottages (we stayed in both)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews