We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Family Trip!!”
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Family Trip!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We visited the Blue Moon Retreat last summer (2010) and stayed at Maples with my sister's family (5 of us total).... the stay was beyond our expectations and was so good, before we had left, we booked the next summer.

Since then, my wife has been up and stayed at Maples during the winter with some friends and again had an awesome experience. This past summer we stayed at the Shangri La and let me tell you, it was luxury at it's best.

The cottages are very clean upon arrival. The staff work very hard to make sure that everything is spotless. Each cottage is equipped up to the nines and you really don't need to bring anything outside of your personal belongings and food. This cottage even had a wine fridge (although who keeps a bottle around long enough to chill it!). There is lots to and the cottage has it's own paddle boats, canoes, kayaks to play with in addition to the water toys that are shared by all cottages. The site is equipped with a gas BBQ (propane included) and fire pit (wood included) as well as bocce, badminton, horseshoes.... basically it's pretty hard to get bored!

There is even a bunkee near the water that has additional sleeping and shower facilities and provides a nice place out from the sun for a quick break before heading back into the water!

This past year it rained on two days, but never fear, the 52 in LCD TV along with Playstation 3 and some great family games (including a Karaoke game) allowed us to include the whole family, grandparents included!!!

This is truly a family oriented location and the service is second to none. Pat and Fran should be commended for their excellent resort, support and services. We love coming up every year and have again booked for next summer. It was so relaxing and peaceful.

My only complaint is one that is beyond the Blue Moon's control. The neighbour on the one side of the cottage (not the Blue Moon side) is a little rough around the edges, quite loud, brash and clearly jealous of all the amenities that we enjoy - kept making comments about the "rich cottage". Since their cottage is close to the Shangri La, don't be surprised if you hear this really loud screeching sound throughout the day.... it's the neighbours "talking" to each other at full volume. Our advice, don't try to engage her as there is no hope... she prides herself on "28 years of cottage party life... whooooo" (trust me that's 28 years of party life after a full life). Thankfully she was only around on the weekend, so we only had to deal with two days of "noisy neighbours".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeFam154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Spent a 4 day weekend at HIGH NOON at Blue Moon Retreat.
LOVE... LOVE... LOVE the NEW REMODEL! All the windows and doors for natural light and air. New open concept sitting area with private hot tub in the cottage. One gets to watch television or enjoy the view of the great outdoors from the hot tub! (Honey bring me a drink...) Beautiful fire place that we did not try out this weekend maybe next time. Ohhh there will be a next time ;) Beautifully decorated and comfortable furniture! The two recliners were being fought over between both the 30 year olds and the 5 year old. Great space for our young family. Cottage was accomidating to our 4 month old also - play pen was on hand ready for us to use! Open concept and spacious deck. My 5 year old really loved the water toys along with his father :) The challenge was "the log roll" How many times can one get across!? You'll have to check it out and see for yourself :)

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms with queen beds and 2 pull out couches. 1 full bathroom, kitchen with modern day applian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Tucked away on a beautiful small lake is a slice of
heaven. Fran and Pat have thought of everything
you could possibly need for a perfect vacation.
Shangri La is outfitted like a home. There is nothing to bring, it is all there right down to the wine cooler. Great comfortable beds...We so enjoyed sitting on the front patio watching the sunset every night. We are looking forward to our next vacation this September.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had another magical holiday at Blue Moon Resort. Our annual stay here allows each of us to relax, revitalize ourselves, and reconnect with what is important in life - each other and nature! During the year our children try to guess what surprises will be waiting for us and they are never disappointed. The log roll was a huge hit as were the other additions. While we are here at the cottages (we rent 2 of the 6 available) we love the peaceful atmosphere of Purdy Lake and BMR. The cottages have everything (and more) that you could ever need or want. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed the last week of June 2011 at High Noon Cottage and it was absolutely stunning. The view of the lake, and watching the sunset from our own personal hot tub was a lasting memory we'll never forget. The cottage was newly renovated and amazingly spotless. Staff was very accomodating in providing everything you could possibly need during your stay. Everything was provided (and I mean everything) firewood, boats, water toys, bbq, sauna. It was the perfect vacation to get away from city life. Best of all it was pet friendly : )

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twomojitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purdy
34.1 km away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
107 reviews
16.3 km away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
73 reviews
9.6 km away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
42 reviews
16.9 km away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
35.6 km away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Property: Blue Moon Retreat
Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Purdy
Price range (per night): $51 - $126
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing