We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
287
34
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
34
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bryant family kids club water skiing all ages company retreat bird show the entire staff fantastic family family vacation extended family sandy bottom bunk beds see you next year indoor pool paddle boating vacation spot same week
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Visited recently for the August long weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They had activities to do all day long and entertainment every night. The food was excellent and the menu was different every day.

I strongly recommend. Great for a family vacation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

We had a lot of fun getting to know your great family. We're hoping to see all those same faces again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We left Canada in 2004 for Europe, and have now lived in China for 6+ years. Every summer we need a "Canadian fix", which involves many things, and on the top of that list Shamrock has been a pillar of each of the past 4 summers. This place is as close to perfect as you will ever find - of course the setting and location are splendid, no doubt... but what really makes it unique is the warm and personal interaction of the staff and management. My children (10 and 12 now) worship this place and all who work there, almost like a second home. A variety of activities are available everyday, which can often include support and participation (in organizing things) from the guests as well, which gives it that unique "inclusive" approach - you feel like you matter! And how great is that for kids? I can't imagine a family/management team who understands what makes them successful more than this group - July 7, 2018 cannot arrive quickly enough for us ! See you in 11 months !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Steven, thank you so much for that wonderful review. It really does warm our hearts to see the same faces return year after year and truly become like an extension of our family.

Your review means a great deal to us, especially the Bryant family and we will look forward to seeing you on July 7th!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed at Shamrock Lodge for a week in July. It was our fifth year in a row and we have already booked for 2018. Does that say it all? Tim, Gary, Susan and all of the staff make this a special place, one our entire family looks forward to visiting each year. Other reviewers have accurately praised the accommodations, food, service and kids' club. I will add that the Shamrock is not a home away from home; it is more like a neighbourhood away from home. The Bryant family and the Shamrock team set the tone, and the guests meet their enthusiasm. There is always someone - staff or guest - there to help a novice water skier, help you climb up the water trampoline, or share s'mores around the camp fire.

Room Tip: Pinewood, Kelly House and Beechwood all have lake views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We love that so many people feel that the Shammy is a home away from home. That is exactly how we want you to feel. We always look forward to seeing you and your family and we look forward to seeing you next year - all four of you for the whole week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed at the Shamrock lodge for four days in July 2017 and our tiem there was really great. The Bryant family and staff are all very very caring, hard working and provide excellent service. The hotel grounds are wonderful, great room, lake, pool and restaurant. The activites after dinner are really well chosen and very entertaining for adults and kids. The meals were all special, including great vegetarian options. Lunch by the lake is great and allows the guests to continue playing and enjoying the lake while eating. We went with our 4 year old daughter who only speaks french. We saw the staff go out of their way to help and make her feel welcome. We have traveled a lot and the only other hotel that we visited that offers the same quality and great kid-adult balance is a hotel called Alpenrose in Austria. We would like to say a great thanks to the Bryant family and staff of the Shamrock Lodge and encourage them to keep up the great work for may years to come!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myown m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We truly enjoyed meeting you and your family and we are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will be back to stay again next year and we promise to brush up on our French!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Shamrock Lodge for a week with our two young children in July. We were very impressed by the wonderful staff. Everyone from the owners, to the waitresses, workers in the kitchen, and Kids Club counsellors were friendly and accommodating and went to great lengths to make us feel welcome. The people who work here are what make the experience truly unique and special.

The resort is situated on a nice sandy beach, which is perfect for young children. Almost all activities are included, including daily waterskiing/tubing, small row boats for kids, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, a water trampoline and climber. We also enjoyed a nice pontoon cruise of Lake Rousseau. There was a different activity planned for each night after dinner.

The food was very good. The blueberry pancakes at breakfast were delicious. Lunch is an outdoor buffet, and dinner includes a choice of entrees. It was helpful to bring a few snacks to have between meals.

Our son had a great time at the kids club and the counsellors were great at helping him feel comfortable. When we went to pick him up early, he didn't want to leave the counsellors! We also appreciated being able to hire a babysitter for our infant one morning to have some time to ourselves.

The accommodations were basic but very clean and comfortable. All are within close proximity to the kitchen and waterfront. The resort is small and you get know the other guests, which was lovely.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and hope to make this an annual summer tradition for our family!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jillster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

We hope you make it an annual summer tradition as well. We really enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to seeing you again next year. Say hi to Sam from us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews