We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
48
13
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
13
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini fridge coffee maker the river wine glasses one night small town up to date would definitely stay here again watch the boats nice surprise couple of days room was clean trent deck water motel weekend
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Was there for a weekend in August. You can only book for 2 nights on weekends, no one night stays. Campbellford itself is charming but quite old with not too many amenities. There are not many places to stay to say the least, This motel was a nice surprise. We had a very nice, clean room with good amenities. MIni Fridge was a plus as was the microwave, ample closet space and a nicely appointed and clean bathroom. Bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked (a little hard) but was okay. Sheets were clean. Staff was also very friendly and our view along the river was nice. Within 5 minutes walk there are a few Restaurants. Ate once at a nice pub with outdoor patio and spent an hour in a local bar with live music. Walked 10 mins to breakfast at the Riverside Inn. It had great food. Tried to order a pizza at night (we had been at a wedding) but no one picked up at the pizza place.

All and all, it was a comfortable and nice place to spend the weekend. One thing of note, the front desk is closed between 1 and 3 PM.

Room Tip: All look onto the river
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgain328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Booked for 4 nights. Bath, sink and toilet never cleaned while we were there. One small bar of soap the whole time. Had to ask for an additional one. The coffee maker did not work properly, but I managed. No drawers to put your clothes. Ours stayed in our suitcase the whole time. We were told a diner just down the street. It is a long walk and not worth it. We had a crap lunch. The room itself is very nice, but the few things mentioned just spoiled it. Really, for four days you don't clean the sink. Oh, warm water comes out of the shower, but no warm/hot water from the bathroom sink. Disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms I saw have decks overlooking Trent River. Nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEIManager99, Manager at The Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Jacqueline,
We are very sorry you did not seem to enjoy your stay at the Inn with us.

I personally remember helping you with the Keurig issue, giving you another Keurig machine in your room. Unfortunately, we were not aware of any other issues with your coffee maker.

It is true we have no dressers in our room. We do however have plenty of shelf space and hangers in the closets for your belongings. It is unfortunate your preference is dressers and felt you had to live out of your suitcase for your 4-day stay.

In addition, I did address your cleaning issues with our staff whom assured me the bathroom was cleaned everyday, garbage was removed, beds were made, coffee, milk, and water was replenished daily. Our staff take great pride in our 5-star rating.

The water issue is due to the "on-demand" hot water units we have installed on the premises. To ensure none of our guests run out of hot water, the units draw cold water and instantly heat the water when a guest runs a tap in their room. This obviously causes a bit of delay in obtaining hot water in your room, especially with only the sink taps. We feel a short delay in obtaining in hot water is much better than no hot water at all, especially for a shower or bath.

Our sincere apologies for your obvious disappointment in your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We came into Campbellford with no where to stay and I remembered that I during my research of the area I had read about this Inn. I called them and they directed us to the Inn. The lovely lady at the front desk arranged for us to see the room and welcomed us so graciously. This is a renovated motel that offers a large room with a king size bed, freshly painted. The room has a coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The washroom although small has everything you need. The best part of the room is the balcony right on the edge of the Trent River. Sit on the balcony and feel all the bad thoughts melt away. If you are in the area, consider staying at this lovely inn.

Room Tip: Room 101 is great.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sprocak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had no idea when we booked a room at the Water's Edge Inn, that would be so nice! It looks like a regular little motel, with the doors facing the waterway, but inside, it's like a posh, modern hotel room! The decor is up to date and colourful with nice sheets and plush towels. The bathroom was bright and clean with a deep tub which was perfect for soaking in with a book and glass of wine. The bathroom amenities have some little extras, and the main room included a table and chairs overlooking the water, fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. There were glass wineglasses and rocks glasses, ceramic mugs and real cream and milk in the fridge for our coffee. And a corkscrew! We loved it and would love to come back!

Room Tip: We had the furthest end room which gave us a nice view up the river!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEIManager99, Manager at The Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

LanaKay,

Thank you so much for this review. Much appreciated, we hope you are able to return some day!

Kind Regards,

Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I had reserved 2 single rooms for 2 nights. Circumstances forced us to have to cancel the 2nd night, and we gave them 30 hours notice. They would not refund the deposit for that night unless they were able to rent the room out again. They were able to do that for one room, and not the other. However, when I phoned on that day to see if they'd rented it, they actually had rented that room and still had a room left that was not the style which we had reserved. So, even with our room rented they would not refund our deposit. This entire situation is a flagrant abuse of the client. They charged money twice on one room. People in Campbellford also told me that you cannot book one night in the weekend in the summer, they demand that you book for 2 nights. They should be reported to the Innkeepers Association and the Better Business Bureau.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gracie5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews